Palo Alto Networks Reviews | Glassdoor

Palo Alto Networks Reviews

Updated Apr 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
57%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Palo Alto Networks Chief Executive Officer Nikesh Arora
Nikesh Arora
132 Ratings
  1. Helpful (15)

    "A previously healthy culture has become toxic with high uncertainty and disrespect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Multiple Positions 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Palo Alto Networks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -comp is ok -products are solid, innovation outlook promising -sales and SE leadership is good, doing the best they can with what they have -in middle levels of management (directors, RVPs, etc) there are many great people carrying significant amounts of the work

    Cons

    -demands are too high with minimal resource and support -very uncertain leadership direction from the top in every area, lacking clear directives and plans, declining productivity and high internal conflict -sales is not well supported by marketing, systems, training or any real sales enablement or resources needed to do the job -exec leadership exudes elitism and disrespect, created a very unhealthy feeling of "inner circle" - us and them -what was a very collaborative, open, thoughtful culture has become a toxic, hyper-competitive, paranoid culture in the past year and a half -no longer feels safe to speak up, many are looking externally while keeping heads down, trying to stay under the radar

    Continue reading
    Palo Alto Networks2020-01-30
  2. Helpful (19)

    "People Team are Dishonest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Enablement in Santa Clara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Palo Alto Networks full-time

    Pros

    It once was a great company. Now they operate on an "ends justifying the means" mentality

    Cons

    The People Team (HR) eliminated all of our Sales Enablement jobs saying they were no longer needed in December 2019. Today, January 29, 2020, they post a role with the same responsibilities and skill set. The difference???? Change the title from Sales Enablement to Sales Effectiveness.

    Continue reading
    Palo Alto Networks2020-01-29
  3. Helpful (12)

    "Keeps getting worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Santa Clara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Palo Alto Networks full-time

    Pros

    Competent co-workers who are mostly collaborative

    Cons

    Employees are being ask to do more and more to the point that I've seen serious impacts on the health and well being of my co-workers. They are squeezing employees by being tight on head count and expecting you to do the job of multiple people. At the same time, they've changed the performance evaluation process and bonus philosophy so that you work more and more and you get less recognition and lower compensation. This seems to be a way for the company to save money. HR and upper management are aware of this but nothing seems to be changing. This is the "new" Palo Alto networks, join at your own risk.

    Continue reading
    Palo Alto Networks2020-01-29
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Lack of Diversity, Bad Work Life Balance, Great tech stack"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Palo Alto Networks full-time

    Pros

    There're lot s of Cons here, but I want to be honest so here're all the Pros too: - Really good compensation - Great perks like insurance, etc - Great kitchen and snacks - Great tech stack, you can really learn the latest popular tools - Challenging problems to solve, large amount of data to deal with - Good future growth in the security business and the company is indeed profitable

    Cons

    - Lack of transparency in performance expectation. It largely depends on whether manager feels good about you or not, rather than looking at your actual work. If manager feels bad about you, he/she criticizes in extreme wording like why are you "always" late, or why are you "always" so slow, which makes you feel unfair. Always? Not surprisingly, if you try to propose your achievements, you get backlashed. In order to maintain some sort of harmony, you stop speaking up for yourself. Eventually those review meetings become one-way talks. - Whether or not you leaving the office late matters a lot. If you stay at the office late, your manager tends to think you are more hard working, or at least fulfilled the "basic requirements". I see people while coming to office early in the morning end up staying late till 8pm or later, and I sometimes see them get bored and start using their personal phone or watch videos while staying that late. This just makes no sense to me. If you feel you're done for today, why not just go home? - Lack of diversity. Some team has a really monocultural composition, due to the lack of diverse ethnicity/background. This is a direct result of internal referral, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. But if you don't handle carefully about how it is implemented, you'll get the result that the team is hiring more and more people of just the same background / same ethnicity. - The team's culture is largely determined by the manager. As the lack of diversity, this trait is even polarized. Eventually everyone is group-thinking. People are hesitant to give critical feedback to the leadership, i.e. the manager or supervisor. - Company-wise, the leadership in engineering is some kind of toxic and can't really address critical concerns from the staff. For example, people challenged that why the company Hackathon only awards those related to profitable company product, shouldn't it be a place to explore, to innovate, to do crazy things, to mingle and have fun? The director answered that our company was founded many years ago and we've come a long way since then, and said Hackathon is a place for fun, no need to worry about awards, go mingle with others. What the hell? The fact that you award people only for profitable product conveys a clear message that that's the thing you consider "valuable" for Hackathon. And then you tell people that well, you don't necessarily have to work on that! Don't you see almost every team is looking at the award criteria? Eventually Hackathon is just a place to work overtime for your next project or part of your existing project. It's like a brainstorming for more profitable stuff, not much innovation or "go crazy" in there. For me what the director said is a dishonest answer. You might disagree with me in some aspects, but what the director says gives you some idea of what the company culture looks like in many ways.

    Palo Alto Networks2020-01-29
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Worst employer I ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Tel Aviv-Yafo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Palo Alto Networks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nada, join at your own risk

    Cons

    I've never written a Glassdoor review, but feel very compleeled to warn candidates about the worst experience of my professional career. If it was something personal, or something that was isolated, I wouldn't write this review, but my warning is about a systemic problems within all the company and it's the reason why many people left or will soon stop working here. (Retention rate is VERY low) You're likely here because you either read about Palo Alto Alto Networks, or someone from either the company HR department reached you about the "Opportunity" to join this "a-m-a-z-i-n-g", and "exciting" company with the "shining" office and with all the buzz around it. They excited you the prospect of compensation, cyber company, "#1 vendor". it sounds to goo to be true, right? you'll get to realize very soon the real truth that happens after you become an employee of this horrible work place. -The cultre in this company is horrible, and Toxic. -Communication between department, specially between HQ to other site is non-existent. -bad culture of bringing people down. -Horrible team dynamics, too much politics. -High levels of stress, NO work-life balance, you will also need to join several Zoom's session each week on stuff that really doesn't either matter or needed. -This place is hiring aggressively for a reason and most hiring managers will try and sell you on promises of an "one-time opportunity", don't believe them. -dishonest, backstabbing, gas lighting environment. -micro managing culture

    Continue reading
    Palo Alto Networks2020-01-28
  6. Helpful (11)

    "Company seems to have peaked under prior management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Business Manager in Santa Clara, CA
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Palo Alto Networks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company provides large equity incentives and the stock has performed extremely well. The company is also staffed with a lot of talent.

    Cons

    Company culture is frenetic and demanding. There are pockets where people seem to have work/life balance and the rest do not. The company feels like a giant start-up that never built sustainable processes or infrastructure, and the amount of churn has left few people in place who know how things were duct-taped together. This has only been exacerbated by new product lines and GTM motions.

    Continue reading
    Palo Alto Networks2020-01-28
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palo Alto Networks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent and enjoyable place to work. Very fast paced with lots of new things to learn. Management keeps you very motivated

    Cons

    As sales teams out grow the backend operations it can take a long time to get things done.

    Palo Alto Networks2020-01-28
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Palo Alto Networks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some good products with potential but if they diversify too much they will lose focus and market share in their specialization

    Cons

    Met the chief people officer and I will be leaving. Had heard terrible things about her at Palo and at Uber...and now I’ve witnessed for myself that they are true.

    Continue reading
    Palo Alto Networks2020-01-28
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Palo Alto Networks

    Pros

    Nothing I can think off.

    Cons

    Toxic place, depressing and horrible team dynamics.

    Continue reading
    Palo Alto Networks2020-01-28
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Head senior developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Palo Alto Networks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I like the work environment there

    Cons

    The salary is not that high

    Continue reading
    Palo Alto Networks2020-01-25
Found 535 reviews