Palo Alto Networks Systems Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Palo Alto Networks Systems Engineer Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Palo Alto Networks Chief Executive Officer Nikesh Arora
Nikesh Arora
3 Ratings
  1. "The happiest I've Ever Been"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palo Alto Networks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tech, tech and tech. Acquisitions. Pay/benefits. Freedom/Flexibility. Open door policy at every level. Fun and easy to work here.

    Cons

    Growing quickly, so changes freak some people out. No longer a firewall company, which freaks some people out.

    Palo Alto Networks2019-12-10
  2. Helpful (23)

    "Think twice before joining this former cyber security champion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pre-Sales Systems Engineer in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Palo Alto Networks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I was paid well. Commission paid monthly. Great benefits. Had a great leader for two years. Great hardware firewall. Great endpoint protection. Good Analytics. Account manager I was paired with was great. Lots of company events. Customers loved the hardware based firewall. Good training.

    Cons

    You might never get a raise. 401K match of $1000 per year is pathetic. Unless your the number one rock star no additional RSU's will ever be granted. Stock purchase is capped each year. Last boss was a disaster and micromanaged everything. Caught him in lies several times. I was asked to do several unethical things with clients by last manager. When I informed the VP I was told I should leave. Management has no integrity and there word changes all the time. Ask for promises in writing or you'll get screwed. Untrustworthy managers with little to no experience. Little to no revenue on renewals. Sink the speedboats, they are useless. Salespeople know there customers best, listen to them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The board should immediately remove Nikesh and Amit. Focus on customers. Start listening, not telling customers how they should be doing business. Good people are leaving. Customers don't care how many transgendered people work at Palo Alto or how many LBGTQ feel good events we host.

    Palo Alto Networks2019-12-11
  3. "Good products, very good vision."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Palo Alto Networks full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great product management and good/solid executive management. Products do well in production.

    Cons

    Support is overworked, innovation may be slowing. Lots of small aquired products that are not working together.

    Palo Alto Networks2019-08-08
  4. Helpful (10)

    "How much time would you say you spend each week dealing with these TPS reports?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Palo Alto Networks full-time

    Pros

    The pay is high but you've been warned.

    Cons

    Awful work-life balance, benefits suck, no 401k match, too many first-time managers at the field level, unprofessional fake it till you make it attitudes, daily deal reviews via email, text, and on nights and weekends

    Advice to Management

    The awesome culture from HQ doesn't necessarily make it out to the field. My management team was very inexperienced (first-time) and had a fake it till you make it kind of attitude. I felt like I was constantly mentoring them on being more professional and how to offer development opportunities to my peers.

    Palo Alto Networks2018-09-10
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Palo Alto Networks Rocks!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineering Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palo Alto Networks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Palo Alto Networks provides an opportunity to compete in security sales like no other. You almost always have an opportunity to win an engagement with your customers.

    Cons

    the Channel Partners are quite deficient in Palo Alto Networks skill sets and do not provided the lift that the channel is supposed to. Palo Alto Networks isn't for everyone. When you work for a company like Palo Alto Networks, there are no slow days. Every day is jam packed with work to do.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to innovate, continue to lead the security industry

    Palo Alto Networks2018-02-16
  6. "Global Systems Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Global Systems Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Palo Alto Networks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great executive management which is always engaged with clients.

    Cons

    Culture is not "work hard play hard". Even playing is serious...

    Palo Alto Networks2018-02-05
  7. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palo Alto Networks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -The amount of superstars in our field sales team is incredible -A lot of innovation year over year to disrupt the InfoSec industry -Great work / life balance -Excelent compensation

    Cons

    The growth of the company makes you have to work hard to stay updated with all of the new features and products. A bit more specialized training and summits might make a great difference

    Advice to Management

    -You could cover your management positions with existing employees, because you have a lot of talent. -You could standarize a lot of processes and strategies for remote office workers. That could increasea lot the productivity

    Palo Alto Networks2017-10-22
  8. "Best company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palo Alto Networks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Open management, excellent training, cooperative teammates, absolute focus on the customer value and security, excellent products, a mission that you can believe in.

    Cons

    Heavy knowledge requirements for the field.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work. I love the access that every employee has to leadership and the

    Palo Alto Networks2017-07-21
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Systems Enginer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palo Alto Networks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best technology and people in the industry. The leadership is approachable and strategic. I love the culture and working here.

    Cons

    Not sure what to say here. The company is growing very fast and things change often, so it is fast paced, which might not be for everyone. for everyone.

    Advice to Management

    Keep what you’re doing.

    Palo Alto Networks2017-06-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Systems Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palo Alto Networks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, smart people, great product.

    Cons

    Some growing pains due to speed of growth.

    Palo Alto Networks2017-01-25
Found 17 reviews