Cover image for Palo Alto Networks
Logo
Best Places to Work 2023

Palo Alto Networks

Palo Alto Networks

Add a Review

Palo Alto Networks Employee Reviews about "company is growing"

Updated Nov 19, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,652 of over 2K reviews
4.2
79% Recommend to a Friend
Best Places to Work 2023
Palo Alto Networks Chief Executive Officer Nikesh Arora
94% Approve of CEO

Found 191 of over 2K reviews

4.2
79%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Palo Alto Networks Chief Executive Officer Nikesh Arora
Nikesh Arora
763 Ratings

What people are saying about Palo Alto Networks

Join the conversation on

Tech

560.3K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Palo Alto Networks~115142
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about Palo Alto Networks? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Palo Alto Networks employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great people and constantly innovating(in 112 reviews)
  • "Great culture and values.(in 98 reviews)
  • "Good benefits (minus any 401k)(in 90 reviews)
  • "the pay is good but not enough.(in 72 reviews)
  • "Good brand and salary with shares options(in 56 reviews)
Cons
  • "No work life balance and s management really doesn’t have a clue it’s overall just an incredibly terrible place to work.(in 70 reviews)
  • "bad management, no understanding of EMEA market complexities(in 56 reviews)
  • "manager just before the end of my probation period 10 working days later that he doesn't want to proceed further without clear explanations.(in 27 reviews)
  • "limited 401K match, difficult to receive RSUs each year, improve TAC support(in 18 reviews)
  • "We work very hard and long hours(in 9 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Palo Alto Networks and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "company is growing"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Growing Pains - Don't forget the employees

    May 17, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Company mission is bullet proof and the products are doing well in the market - Stock price is continuing to perform well - CEO is committed to the cause and genuinely seems to care about the people in the company

    Cons

    - Management/executive leadership has been promoted within and is not necessarily skilled in how to move a company of this size forward - Management/Executive management is out of touch with the people and what the culture IS versus what they say it is - There are very few promotions from within for key roles and they continue to bring in people from the outside - career paths are limited - HR is not playing their position well - HR Business Partners are more concerned with managing up than representing the employees/people - When employees are brave and courageous enough to do the right thing and speak up and share their opinions (open door policy?) they are the labeled as negative and more often than not that ends their growth within the company - Managers (Directors, Sr Directors, etc) have inappropriate behavior and that is not handled with rigor

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    The smartest people I know

    Jan 30, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very smart people who all genuinely believe in the product and want to make the company successful. Though large (roughly 2.5k employees), still feels like a startup, and creativity is very much encouraged.

    Cons

    Work/life balance isn't great, you will find that you have to work hard to balance the two. The company is growing so fast that aligning with different departments on projects is becoming more difficult to do.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Palo Alto Networks team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Company with solid strategy and great marketshare

    Mar 12, 2020 - Senior Site Reliability Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The working population at this company come from a large section of strong silicon valley companies. The diversity in skills that this provides to Palo Alto makes this one of my favorite places to work. There is a lot going on, but I've found leadership to really trust and empower the team to get it done. What I love - Strong position in the marketplace. A great foundation for growth and acquisitions that will provide inroads for new products and more revenue. - Leadership is more diffuse than other places I've worked. What I mean is that many of these leaders have been running their own companies and therefore they know ideas that will provide value and, in the SRE space, are driven to eliminate redundant tedious work. - People I see are very respectful for each others work - Pager duty is not bad - Great perks at the company - People I work with are driven and want to gain visibility for the company so we can attract the best

    Cons

    - There have been regrettable departures across many teams and that has hit morale - Collaboration needs to improve with development and product

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Greatest company ever...

    Jun 2, 2017 -  in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fast pace means there is never a dull moment. Being part of such a successful company is challenging but fun. High Growth bring huge opportunities internally to work on exciting projects and progress your career. People are fantastic, intelligent and willing to help out. You get the feeling everyone is pulling in the same direction to become the number one Cyber Security company in the world. Great mission to protect our way of life in the digital age give you a sense of purpose. Company has a high integrity and I see negative behaviour dealt with rather that ignored. Down to earth approachable people throughout the company right up to the very top. No blame culture, instead when mistakes are made they are learned from and improvements are made. Huge opportunity still ahead. I have been here 5 years and despite the massive changes I have seen almost all of them are positive.

    Cons

    The pace of the company and quantity and quality of work expected means expectations are high and this isn't the right company for everyone.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great to be in Presales at Palo Alto Networks.

    May 9, 2016 - Manager in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team vibe and amazing to be part of a company that is changing an industry.

    Cons

    I really can't think of any - it's not a place for the faint hearted!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Abysmal, incompetent, and disrespectful leadership. Bro Culture to the core.

    Oct 11, 2021 - Territory Sales Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The name is what carries the weight here because it is Palo Alto Networks. You can put it on your resume and in the world of cybersecurity, it will help you get places. Definitely a blue blood in the space. Company is doing well and the stock is going up but that is true for cybersecurity in general. For Palo Alto, it is more due to the engineering team itself than the sales team. Product practically sells itself. Even for the cons I am about to right, it might not be the case in other regions as this is specifically for the Northeast territory.

    Cons

    This is just for the Northeast territory but it is bro culture personified with a lot of incompetence added in. Leadership does not know what they are doing, the people who do hit numbers do it through luck or getting easier leads that even marketing can close, and there is some serious prejudice going on. I spoke to some of the leadership at social events and in a more informal basis, racism and prejudice definitely run strong in the bro culture. Poor treatment given to people of color that apply to roles and some of the things said off the record resemble a YouTube comments section rather than how a modern-day business world should be. The tragedy is that leadership is selected based on favoritism and nepotism, not how well they can do the job. Get off on yelling at people, offer no solid coaching, play favorites, constantly gossip, waste everyone's time, and have made it a poor atmosphere to even develop a career.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing Company

    Jul 8, 2016 - Support Manager in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interview process was a major selling point - I spoke with 8-10 people throughout the process, and clearly each and every one of them /wanted/ to be working there (as opposed to the certain percentage of 'just here for the paycheck' folks I've seen at other companies. Management is truly listening and responsive. Personal integrity and initiative are highly valued - if you see a problem (even outside your particular area of responsibility), you'll have full support in driving to fix/improve it. Executive staff is committed to the company goals (and very much to maintaining the culture). This isn't just lip service - their actions show how important this is as the company grows.

    Cons

    A maximum of three weeks of PTO was a little difficult to manage - though this policy has recently changed to eliminate this issue.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Best company ever. Best job ever.

    Feb 29, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked at some amazing companies with amazing people. And Palo Alto Networks is by far the best job I have ever had and THE best company. I get to work with super talented and vry respectful people. I have found at previous companies it's hard to find people and management who are super talented but yet still respectful to all employees, coworkers, management. Here each and every person is treated with respect. Your opinions matter here. Your hard work is recognized here. Your value is consistently recognized here. And it's a great group of smart a**es that make me laugh every day. Best. Company. I feel valued, respected and rewarded for the hard work, passion and pride I put into my job.

    Cons

    We still have a hard time realizing that there is a large population of remote employees. So meetings based out of Headquarters can get frustrating and we need to do better at connecting employees that are remote but based in the same area.

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good place to work

    May 29, 2019 - Marketing 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Most people really like the company and believe in the mission (Go Palo Alto Networks!) - Super nice and brand new HQ campus in Santa Clara with cafeteria, gym, juice bar, coffee house, etc - Definitely going places in the stock market - Industry leading/cutting edge product

    Cons

    - Too much cronyism - Most upper management in Marketing go wayyyy back, and it shows - The "disappearing act" - you'll just never see coworkers again and it won't be acknowledged - If they don't like you, you won't get fired, you will just be given 0 recognition, 0 bonuses, and talked bad about until you leave (even if you work 80 hour weeks)

    Continue reading
    24 people found this review helpful
  11. 1.0
    Current Employee

    3 straight years of unmitigated chaos

    Apr 22, 2021 - GTM Team 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Thank God for the people working on the ground. Most people are great to work with but the company is struggling to keep them.

    Cons

    Leadership is giving the phrase "change is a constant" a whole new meaning. It's not strategic change but unproductive wholesale change to big and little things constantly like basic product branding or your management chain. Most of your work is going to require time and family sacrifices to finish up because of urgent executive asks which then get reversed in a few months anyway and yes that's right you need to make more time and family sacrifices to urgently undo what you just did. How do you get recognized for good work when most of your hard work is thrown under the bus by the new leader who has the opposite idea for what should be done than their predecessor? Rinse repeat. Another huge con.. the company is set up for maximum infighting and power plays. Leaders here have no patience for hearing anything but "yes this is the best idea i've ever heard" and pass the same mentality down to their workers. Sucks for you if you work in a cross-functional team with competing demands.. you'll be treated like an obstacle to one team or another and get used to being steamrolled. I've never in my life witnessed adults crying at work until I got here. Employees are hostages in this ugly cycle but management want to believe root cause of employee unhappiness is we can't find lateral roles in the company. Unreal.

    Continue reading
    27 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 191 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Palo Alto Networks Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Palo Alto Networks? Share Your Experiences

Palo Alto Networks logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Palo Alto Networks Photos

+ Add Photo
Palo Alto Networks photo of: FLEXSpace
Palo Alto Networks photo of: FLEXSpace
Palo Alto Networks photo of: Santa Clara
Palo Alto Networks photo of: Plano
Palo Alto Networks photo of: Plano
Palo Alto Networks photo of: Team meeting in FLEXSpace
Palo Alto Networks photo of: Pumpkin painting
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Palo Alto Networks Job Seekers Also Viewed

FireEye Logo
FireEye

4.1

962 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,656 Palo Alto Networks reviews submitted anonymously by Palo Alto Networks employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Palo Alto Networks is right for you.