Palo Alto Networks Employee Reviews about "great products"

Updated Dec 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 39 of over 990 reviews

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Palo Alto Networks Chief Executive Officer Nikesh Arora
Nikesh Arora
365 Ratings
Pros
  • "Oh, I forgot to mention they have great products(in 39 reviews)

  • "Great company to work for with great people and benefits(in 31 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "High workload influences work-life balance(in 49 reviews)

  • "Too much pressure, crazy deadlines No work life balance(in 20 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Palo Alto Networks and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "great products"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company constant change

      Dec 1, 2020 - Systems Engineer in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great product, great work environment

      Cons

      Things are constantly changing, mostly for the good but sometimes frustrating

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Under New (bad) Management

      Jul 9, 2020 - Senior Manager, Marketing in Santa Clara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Great products, documentation and customer focus compared to the competition * Competitive salaries and RSU's. Many reviewers complain about the 401k, but I take stock-based compensation over 401k's at any time * Pure-play cybersecurity company which actually values security internally and focuses on delivering the best security solution to customers. This is unfortunately not always the case in our industry * Excellent on-boarding and training resources * Never had trouble getting the budget for my projects/ideas * High growth company with many opportunities to grow with the company

      Cons

      * New Senior Management drives an authoritative leadership style which starts to trickle down to Middle Management and Line Managers. * Projects are coming down from top management at a high pace, with no prior notice and impossible deadlines. This is not "run fast", but "run fast here, stop, run fast there, stop, repeat". Everything is important and urgent. There is no visible or coherent long-term strategy. * HR is not effective, even for Managers. Many unwritten rules, little presence of HR Business Partners and the bell curve is enforced for the distribution of performance ratings * Many tool migrations with little business benefit create a background noise of busy work. There is a fine line between "moving fast/agile" and "no direction/chaos" * Management supports the "tribalization" of employees into employee networks, while failing to create a diversified and inclusive leadership team themselves. C-level is 90% male.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing culture, Amazing Products

      Jun 5, 2020 - Senior Vice President of Ecosystems in Santa Clara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I recently joined PANW and have been simply amazed at the company culture. Here are a few examples of what I have witnessed in the last 100 days: One of the first companies to send people home when Covid-19 started, provided a stipend if needed for equipment, held a virtual take your kids to work day and hired Bill Nye to teach science to the kids. CEO and board forego compensation and create a Covid-19 relief fun to help employees, contractors etc.. Committed to no Covid-19 related lay offs, frequent communication from the CEO to all on the status of the company etc.. during the pandemic. Company/CEO provided clear communications regarding our stand on inclusion and denounced racism and hate of all forms. This is a company where each employee helps those around them and pushes them to be better for each other, our customers and partners. Oh, I forgot to mention they have great products!

      Cons

      None that I can see at this point

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Growth and pain

      Sep 4, 2020 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great products. Fantastic teams who care about doing the right thing. Pay is good.

      Cons

      Highly political environment being pushed from executives down. Lots of work at a very fast pace. Lacking basic processes and fundamentals. Lots of change for the sake of change.

      Continue reading
      18 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent company, really cares about employees

      Jul 25, 2020 - Systems Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employee first culture - focused on diversity, great products, good work/life balance

      Cons

      The interview process can be difficult, but mainly because there are often a lot of qualified candidates

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great culture, goals are high

      Aug 24, 2020 - Sales in New Haven, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great products, people and culture

      Cons

      Very hard to over achieve and make big $

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company

      Jul 28, 2020 - Senior Sales Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good culture, great product, lots of fun

      Cons

      It's a pretty big company, and every once in a while it shows.

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      It was good while it lasted

      Jan 17, 2020 - Director in Santa Clara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -good pay but 401k is a joke -great products

      Cons

      Nobody could have predicted that the new CEO change would completely dismantle our entire culture and everything that made Palo Alto Networks a great place to work. It is now a depressing place where most of the top talent is running for the hills. The leadership team does not embody our core values, people are no longer at the heart of our culture, nepotism is so blatant it's disgusting. There are too many new leaders who have no idea what they are doing but being paid well due to cronyism. The people who built the company are treated as less than because we aren't in the Google inner circle. We have a Chief PEOPLE Officer who doesn't even pretend to like people and communication in the org is abysmal. Attrition will continue to spike.

      Continue reading
      21 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company

      Jun 15, 2020 - Staff Data Scientist in Santa Clara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      low key company, but great product and company culture

      Cons

      inner collaboration can be encouraged more

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      A ruined culture

      Jan 10, 2020 - Senior Product Manager in Santa Clara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I work in product management and leadership in this group is solid. We have Great products and challenging work. Pay is good and RSUs are nice but diminishing the past couple of years.

      Cons

      A series of horrible exec hirings the past few years topped off with the new CEO and all the execs he has brought in have ruined the culture. They ruined the sales team by pushing Mark A. out Amit has been a train wreck. The product marketing team was ruined by Janet M. who was thankfully ousted last year. 6 years ago when I joined this company had a special culture and we had a great working cadence. Our PM team has unfortunately lost a lot of great managers and talent with all the chaos. Now nobody works well together and backstabbing and finger pointing are the norm.

      Continue reading
      17 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 39 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Palo Alto Networks Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Palo Alto Networks? Share Your Experiences

    or