Palomar Health Reviews | Glassdoor

Palomar Health Reviews

Updated Jun 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 113 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Palomar Health CEO Diane Hansen
Diane Hansen
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits, you may get a lot of hours since a lot of people call out every day(in 6 reviews)

  • "This health system has made a lot of positive changes since the new hospital opened in 2012(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "All this activity based leadership just confuses and in some cases can interfere with patient care(in 7 reviews)

  • "Upper management is not trusted and it seems as if they are running the organization in the ground(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Health Aide 

    I have been working at Palomar Health part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love it very flexible and get to work woth awsome people!

    Cons

    You do work weekends of needed.

    Palomar Health2019-04-13
  2. "Happy with my employment, but not a lot of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Escondido, CA

    I have been working at Palomar Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers are pleasant, no egotistical supervisors to make your day a bad hair day!

    Cons

    Not a lot of opportunities for advancement.

    Palomar Health2019-06-09
  3. "current employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Clinical Supervisor 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Palomar Health full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      New hospital, great team, and a lot of resourced.

      Cons

      Leadership is not stable and a difficult culture

      Palomar Health2019-05-31
    • "great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Palomar Health full-time

        Pros

        nice workers, team work, kind, personable

        Cons

        workload, very busy ed, understaffed

        Advice to Management

        great

        Palomar Health2019-04-08
      • "Okay"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Staff RN in San Diego, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Palomar Health full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Great nursing staff who work well together.

        Cons

        Poor leadership and management. Can't seem to get it together.

        Advice to Management

        Listen to employees.

        Palomar Health2019-03-23
      • Helpful (1)

        "Solid place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Emergency Medical Technician 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Palomar Health full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Great place to work Family type environment

        Cons

        Staffing issues Need more incentive pay options

        Palomar Health2019-02-21
      • Helpful (2)

        "Registered nurse"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Poway, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Palomar Health full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Small community hospital, mostly friendly staff

        Cons

        No management, favoritism, stressful encounters with management

        Palomar Health2018-12-17
      • Helpful (3)

        "Leadership View"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Leader in Escondido, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Palomar Health full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        My work at Palomar Health started many years ago. Being part of the leadership of an organization that has gone through change after change after change can be difficult on our colleagues and staff. We stay and support the new and changing direction which is difficult with new leadership and now a new board. Progress has been made but at what cost? Layoffs of leadership, and now staff, to course correct the financial...

        Show More

        Cons

        Palomar is a wonderful place to be when thinking about the care we provide and challenging when thinking about the business outlook especially with the lack of strong executive and financial leadership.

        Advice to Management

        Focus on stopping the short sighted expense reductions and develop a long term plan that brings revenue growth and high quality patient care.

        Palomar Health2018-12-06
      • Helpful (2)

        "Pretty on the outside, Ugly on the inside."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Registered Nurse III in Escondido, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Palomar Health part-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Facility is beautiful and still looks new. Not much else to say that’s positive.

        Cons

        No support from management for staff. The environment and culture towards staff is very punitive, and you are treated as if you’re lucky to work there, not as a valued professional. I didn’t realize how toxic the place is until I was employed at a facility that values its people again.

        Advice to Management

        Management should try listening to advice for a change. But they won’t, because they’re elitists that think that they’re so much smarter than the lowly staff employees.

        Palomar Health2018-12-01
      • "ER Tech at Palomar Health"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Palomar Health full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Great team work emphasized. Large hospital with many different specialties in house.

        Cons

        Sometimes it is difficult getting the correct supplies you need to do your job (at least in the ER).

        Palomar Health2018-09-21
      Found 113 reviews