Palos Community Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

Palos Community Hospital Reviews

Updated May 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Palos Community Hospital CEO Terrence Moisan,
Terrence Moisan,
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "The benefits are good and the staff supports each other(in 6 reviews)

  • "(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management doesn't know what they are doing and need to get with the modern times(in 5 reviews)

  • "We have had no raises for four years(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Lemont, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palos Community Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People are amazing-Passion of the organization-Promote Education- Team Approach-

    Cons

    Electronic Medical Record needs to be user friendly

    Advice to Management

    Purchase a user friendly Electronic Medical Record

    Palos Community Hospital2019-03-23
  2. "Great coworkers terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Pharmacy Technician in Palos, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Palos Community Hospital full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Retirement match is the only good benefit

    Cons

    Management unprofessional, lack of raises, working short staffed is the norm for Palos Hospital, part time hire want you to work full time no benefits

    Advice to Management

    Needs new management

    Palos Community Hospital2019-05-28
  3. "CNA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA 

    I have been working at Palos Community Hospital part-time

    Pros

    They were very flexible with my school schedule while completing my BSN.

    Cons

    I think it is a great place to work. I hope to continue as an RN.

    Palos Community Hospital2019-01-18
  4. "I had a great 12 year experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Palos Community Hospital

      Pros

      I had a great experience with my coworkers and the head of our department. The 12 years I was there, I didn’t have too many issues.

      Cons

      HR needs some work Upper management needs to start listening to the employees doing the work and see where things can be improved.

      Advice to Management

      Start listening to the people that are doing their jobs. Ask them what they need.

      Palos Community Hospital2018-12-10
    • "Customer service"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Palos Heights, IL

      I worked at Palos Community Hospital

      Pros

      Pay Flexibility Own desk space

      Cons

      Do not care about employees Will write an account off for a mad patient just to avoid one bad patient review regardless of how employee was treated

      Palos Community Hospital2018-12-19
    • "Great place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Palos Community Hospital part-time

        Pros

        Loved working with the staff

        Cons

        Shifting priorities of hospital in general

        Palos Community Hospital2018-11-02
      • "No issues"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Clerk Typist in Lemont, IL
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Palos Community Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        I have been with Palos since 2006 and have nothing bad to say.

        Cons

        None that I can think of.

        Palos Community Hospital2018-07-19
      • Helpful (1)

        "Toxic environment to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Palos Community Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Many Good nurses, the best thing in the hospital . Excellent doctors.

        Cons

        A lot of negative Lack of vision, lack of good common sense in all top leaders, lack of ethics in all executive leaders level. They are all poppets with lack of wisdom. Very insecure Managment, paranoid thinkers . One is either with them or he is fired. No interest in any out of the box thinking. Waiting for a disaster to happen to them to have them hit the wall and wake up. Management makes you feel like you are...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Go to real business school not low tier ones. Get course In Managment. It is not worth it working for you

        Palos Community Hospital2018-08-20
      • Helpful (1)

        "Lawsuits waiting to happen"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Palos Community Hospital full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Close to home, clean hospital

          Cons

          Complete favoritism, staff that have been there a long time are allowed to ignore rules and act inappropriate. Racist and sexism comments are rampant and complaints are ignored. I have witness managers display completely inappropriate behavior and told to be silent

          Palos Community Hospital2018-07-28
        • Helpful (1)

          "Supervisors need training"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          Former Employee - Clerk Typist in Palos Heights, IL
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Palos Community Hospital part-time for less than a year

          Pros

          General staff was great. Palos Hospital has potential.

          Cons

          The office I worked in was disorganized, there was no rhyme or reason to where documents were kept. I got berated in front of staff, and I ended up terrified of the supervisor. There is a inordinate amount of deference given to doctors and it's no wonder minorities are scarce here, as they are terribly mistreated.

          Advice to Management

          Supervisors need sensitivity training. You might actually attract and retain minorities.

          Palos Community Hospital2018-05-17
        Found 64 reviews