Pan-American Life Reviews | Glassdoor

Pan-American Life Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
34%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Pan-American Life President, CEO, and Director José S. Suquet (no image)
José S. Suquet
22 Ratings
  1. "CRMC Business Associate I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CRMC Business Associate I in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pan-American Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, call center management were very pleasant and understanding.

    Cons

    I have none, it was a great experience.

    Pan-American Life2018-05-03
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Worse place I have ever worked."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - IT Professional 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pan-American Life full-time

    Pros

    None I think are worth mentioning.

    Cons

    Male chauvinistic, like going back to the 50s and 60s. Poor management, miss management, incompetent people. Like a bunch of zombies not willing to stand up for themselves. No one wants to make, or will make a decision for fear of loosing their jobs. A very backwards company. Not forward thinking...but they will tell you they are.

    Advice to Management

    Avoidance does not mean something doesn't exist, or is correct. Fear of backlash is not an answer. Try standing up for your employees instead of burying your head in the sand.

    Pan-American Life2019-07-18
  3. Helpful (1)

    "How does this company stay in business?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Professional in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pan-American Life full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You don't need to have a working brain to be employed there.

    Cons

    nepotism, lazy, stupid (you can't fix stupid!), incompetent, mismanaged, buffoons!

    Advice to Management

    How do you stay in business? Does the Latin American business some how, in some way subsidize the US business because the way the US business is run, the only way it seems that it can be profitable is by NOT PAYING CLAIMS!

    Pan-American Life2019-06-26
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Never work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pan-American Life full-time

    Pros

    You get to work with plants. Early hours = having the afternoon off

    Cons

    Zero room for career growth, annoying and high-school like atmosphere, low pay with zero chance for improvement - despite this - consistently asked to do work not in my job description, and not called a team player when not taking on the tasks of other, higher paid, employees. It's increasingly clear that you are a statistic, a number to this company. They do not care about you as an individual, do nothing to maintain and keep you happy despite wanting to work in your desired field and are shameful in the way they handle any chance for growth. I would rate the culture, opportunities and compensation with less than one star if Glassdoor would allow me. Facilities are bleak, cold and the clearly the minimum needed: a trend they seem to carry in other areas. And the pay. below the average, even below local competitors - this coming from someone having a specialized degree for this field.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more intentional about creating a culture your employees actually want, not one that is cheapest for you. Pay better - I don't need a huge salary, but enough to not also need government assistance AS A COLLEGE GRADUATE.

    Pan-American Life2019-05-02
  5. "Team Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pan-American Life for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible, Secure Job, Great HR and Managers. Amazing VP's

    Cons

    A lot of work, low pay rate. A good place to learn and go to another company

    Pan-American Life2018-10-25
  6. "ISO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ISO in New Orleans, LA

    I have been working at Pan-American Life full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for.

    Cons

    Very busy work pace, never ending workload.

    Pan-American Life2018-04-20
  7. "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pan-American Life full-time

    Pros

    People treat each other with respect

    Cons

    Poor compensation when a promotion is given

    Pan-American Life2018-03-13
  8. "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pan-American Life full-time

    Pros

    Good Pay, Solid Company Background

    Cons

    Career Growth is extremely low.

    Pan-American Life2018-03-06
  9. "Claims Processor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Pan-American Life full-time

    Pros

    I love the friendly people.

    Cons

    Parking is really a hassle.

    Pan-American Life2018-01-12
  10. "Palig review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Billing/Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Pan-American Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Understanding about health issues.

    Cons

    Very poor customer care. Also, quite impersonal as we were encouraged not to talk via phone with customers. Customer service was basically nonexistant unless you were in solely customer service. CS needs to be the focus of every department.

    Advice to Management

    Cultivate/permit more CRM related interactions among employees.

    Pan-American Life2018-01-11
Found 41 reviews