Panama Canal Authority Reviews | Glassdoor

Panama Canal Authority Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
93%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Panama Canal Authority Chairman Roberto Roy (no image)
Roberto Roy
9 Ratings
  1. "Panama canal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I have been working at Panama Canal Authority

    Pros

    I learned many great things

    Cons

    the job offered no pay

    Advice to Management

    pay interns

    Panama Canal Authority2019-10-15
  2. "From the engineer perspective..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Civil Engineer in Panamá
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Panama Canal Authority full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Permanent positions are stable Salary for engineers is OK

    Cons

    Lack of opportunities to grow

    Advice to Management

    Pick managers from the chain of command. Do not bring outsiders

    Panama Canal Authority2019-10-07
  3. "Best company to work for in Panama"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Secretary in Panamá
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Panama Canal Authority full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    7 weeks vacation, constant training, wellness program, retirement benefits,

    Cons

    Is difficult to have professional promotions because stability is so good that almost nobody quits. Professionals usually retire with 30+ years of service at this institution.

    Panama Canal Authority2019-07-14
  4. "dredge marine seaman, Mindi cutter and suction."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Dredge Seaman in Gamboa

    I worked at Panama Canal Authority for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent job and great crew

    Cons

    No permanent in this job

    Panama Canal Authority2019-07-26
  5. "Great company, horrible leaders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Assistant 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Panama Canal Authority full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good salaries, great working environment, all positions are clearly identified so nothing is improvised or made up. Manuals are readily available and those who are permanent workers have growth opportunities constantly.

    Cons

    no generational succession, no growth opportunities for temporary workers who are most of the time exploited by permanent workers. Poor recruitment system (outdated).

    Panama Canal Authority2019-01-25
  6. "Working conditions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Panama Canal Authority full-time

    Pros

    It is a pretty stable employer which provides job security. Turnover is extremely low and you can certainly make a long term career. Training opportunities are available in almost every area. The company really invests in their employees.

    Cons

    Professional growth might be a little slow. Chances of getting a managerial position right of the bet are slim.

    Advice to Management

    Although there is a low turnover, the job market is changing at an alarming pace. Therefore, company should focus in understanding the needs of a new generation of employees who value not so much a stable job, but a job that challenges them every day and allows them to exploit its full potential.

    Panama Canal Authority2018-11-30
  7. "Marine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Multi-purpose Marine in Panamá
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Panama Canal Authority full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It is an excellent company, good work organization, excellent work environment as colleagues

    Cons

    They do not give as many jobs as before, even the company is earning more millions

    Panama Canal Authority2018-07-11
  8. "Top positions in Panama"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Specialist in Panamá
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Panama Canal Authority full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stable Company Strong Financials Top Standards Multidisciplinary careers

    Cons

    Panamanian nationality required Bureaucracy is very strong Wage disparity among different positions

    Advice to Management

    More aggressive commercial approach is required including lobbying central government to succeed in developing a projects

    Panama Canal Authority2018-06-24
  9. "Executive Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Virtual Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Panama Canal Authority full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A company that provides job stability, good salaries, opportunity for growth and provide constant training for the personal advancement of employees

    Cons

    Non that I can think of, I worked for this company for several years.

    Advice to Management

    I think that job stability good competitive salaries with enough opportunities to grow, and constant training for personal advancement are the key for success of all companies

    Panama Canal Authority2018-06-21
  10. "Heavy equipment mechanic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Industrial Equipment Mechanic in Panamá

    I have been working at Panama Canal Authority full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Is a solid company in panamá

    Cons

    Growth within the company is limited

    Panama Canal Authority2017-06-13
Found 17 reviews