KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Panda Express

Is this your company?

Panda Express

Add a Review

Panda Express Employee Reviews about "free food"

Updated Jan 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 344 of over 3,397 reviews

3.7
65%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Panda Express Co-CEOs Andrew and Peggy Cherng
Andrew and Peggy Cherng
1,359 Ratings
Pros
  • "Got free food and drink every shift(in 345 reviews)

  • "Good pay compared to other fast food places(in 273 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours, no work life balance(in 160 reviews)

  • "long hours and they make you work at other stores(in 151 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Panda Express and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "free food"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Cashier

      Jan 22, 2021 - Cashier in Jacksonville, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free food, flexible hours, great crew

      Cons

      My experience was really good

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Starting Job, Horrible Management, Team, and Customers

      Aug 9, 2020 - Counter Help/Cashier in Queen Creek, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As a first job, it is alright. It is a basic, fast food, starter job. It teaches you the reality of the food industry and how customers are, or some of the worse ones. The pay is a little above average, 50 cents. Free food while you work and 20% discount off of work.

      Cons

      There are so many downsides of working here. To start, I have met some of the worst customers ever here. I understand every place has their Karens, but it gets insane. One person in the drive-thru literally got charges pressed against her for what she did to the staff. It is also a very stressful job. Very fast-paced and physical. The team is not the best. No one cares about the next, people often start rumours and there is way too much unnecessary drama. As far as management, it is the most unprofessional you can get. They are biased, the hire, promote, and favor their family over the rest. There is sexual harassment, racial remarks, and transphobia/homophobia, very obvious here. I was qualified to be promoted for over 6 months, and I was not promoted because the manager wanted the people that she hired (family members, close friends, people from her store) to get the position instead, despite not being qualified. The assistant manager was a joke, could not do her job, and messed around with an employee. I reported them to HR, and they knew it was me and a few other coworkers based on their tight circle. They then proceeded to harass and purposely target us to the point we had to quit. It might not be all branches, but this one is definitely corrupt. The higher-up managers also do not care.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Panda Express Response

      Communications Analyst

      We appreciate the time you took in providing extensive feedback. At Panda, we are an organization focused on continuous learning and improvement. Your feedback gives us valuable insight into how we can elevate our associate work experiences. We are a workplace committed to collaborative and supportive work environments and am sorry to hear that your experience missed the mark. If you would like, you may share your experience in further detail via our “My Voice Matters” confidential hotline: 626-799-9898 x6053. We do not condone any sexual harassment or racism in the workplace in any manner and look forward to hearing from you.

    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Very fast pace and expect a lot from you even if you are new and its your first week

      Nov 30, 2020 - Team Member in Buckeye, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Female coworkers very helpful and nice, paid break free food, most customers are nice and understanding when you're new, has money go towards college.

      Cons

      Fast paced for a first job, loud and hot environment, some mangers are rude and very controlling and overwhelming while training you, male coworkers don't leave you alone, always trying to flirt when they see you and splash mop water on your shoes and get them soaked, also when I called out food needed to be cooked one of the male line cooks started laughing and making fun of me because I'm new and they never made the food that the customer needed. It is still my first week(on my fourth day) and the team already wants me on drive thru and register when I haven't even got the serving down as much as I wanted. No benefits for part time workers.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Panda Express Response

      Communications Analyst

      At Panda, one of our core values is respect and strive for the highest form of professionalism. We are always seeking to continuously listen, learn, and understand. We thank you for your feedback and will be sharing your feedback with our Ops Management team to improve the experiences for our associates. If you would like, you may share your experience in further detail via our “My Voice Matters” confidential hotline: 626-799-9898 x6053. We do not tolerate any form of harassment in the workplace in any manner and look forward to hearing from you.

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Dont bother applying

      Jan 13, 2021 - Front of House in Alafaya, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free food on shift, training was on the clock so you got paid

      Cons

      Terrible management, weird hours, treat you terribly, informal interviews (my interview was with a manager calling me from his car and another while she was working in a kitchen). Since the first interview the manager was already doubting I could not do the job. I was hit on by the whole crew and all the okder people were really rude. In a rush, instead of keeping crew calm manager proceeded to yell at everyone in front of customers. On second shift manager tells me “didnt think you could do it or survive” whatever that means.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Panda Express Response

      Communications Analyst

      We apologize on behalf of your experience. The people are the core of our Panda family and we strive to maintaining a good work environment and consistency among all our managerial staff. We take your feedback to heart and will share it with our Ops Management team. If you would like, you may share your experience in further detail via our “My Voice Matters” confidential hotline: 626-799-9898 x6053. We look forward to learning more about your experience.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Fun experience

      Jan 11, 2021 - Service Team and Kitchen Staff 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Got free food and drink every shift Great management and good pay.

      Cons

      Always had busy work, when the store was empty I had to clean things that I had cleaned a couple of minutes ago.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Pretty good workplace

      Jan 8, 2021 - Kitchen Service Team in Hayward, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Everything is made clear and fair -Free food -Simple and easy job

      Cons

      It can take time to join the team, I guess it depends on the team and the location

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Good place

      Jan 19, 2021 - Shift Leader 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free food, nice people, pay is ok

      Cons

      long hours, hand work, stress

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good food, mediocre pay

      Jan 10, 2021 - Front of House in Dedham, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The free food is a huge bonus

      Cons

      Pay is mediocre like all fast food restaurants

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Decent

      Dec 13, 2020 - Counter Help 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Organized, free food, busy, good experience. Worked with school schedule but not flexible during the holidays

      Cons

      Depending on your location the people may be inappropriate, some managers were good while others were belittling (I got slapped)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Meh

      Jan 3, 2021 - Team Member in Eugene, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free food and sometimes cool coworkers

      Cons

      Too stressful and management cares too much about corporate culture

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 344 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Panda Express Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Panda Express? Share Your Experiences

    or