Panda Express "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Panda Express Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Panda Express Co-CEOs Andrew and Peggy Cherng
Andrew and Peggy Cherng
845 Ratings
Pros
  • "Payed 10 an hour with many ways to earn raises, free food(in 284 reviews)

  • "Pretty good pay and benefit pakcages(in 210 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "looks good for part-time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Chef 

    I worked at Panda Express part-time

    Pros

    part-time option that do not need to work long hours

    Cons

    for full time, work life balance

    Panda Express2019-12-30
  2. "Good Place to work as Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Gm Training Leader in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Panda Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lot of involvement for the position. Leaders and other managers are AWSOME peole. Pretty good pay and benefit pakcages. Great opportunity to grow and move to a better position. Focused on personal growth

    Cons

    Too much involvement for the job, no work life balance bureaucratism

    Panda Express2020-01-08
  3. "Panda"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Panda Express full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    People Development, life coaches, valuing the well being of others, community involvement

    Cons

    No work life balance and tough expectations, this job is not for the light hearted.

    Panda Express2019-10-05
  4. "Stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier/Server in Riverside, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Panda Express part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Free food Ability to move up

    Cons

    I quit after 7-8months. They treat you like a dog. Work/life balance nonexistent and terrible management. So much drama between workers too. Save yourself the headache.

    Continue reading
    Panda Express2019-10-02
  5. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Panda Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None there is too much nonsense with this company

    Cons

    Long hours, no work life balance, pay is on lower end compared to work and other restaurants. Too many policies and they take away your bonus too easy

    Continue reading
    Panda Express2019-09-09

    Panda Express Response

    November 6, 2019Communications Analyst

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. As an organization rooted in our people, we are always seeking insight on how we can improve the culture and work experience for all our associates. We apologize for missing the mark on your experience and will be sharing your feedback with our HR team to further improve our scheduling initiatives.

    Continue reading
  6. "Love and hate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District - Multi Unit Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Panda Express full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to improve communication and leadership skills Some of coworkers are fun to work with

    Cons

    No work life balance. On call pretty much 24/7 if you are MUM and above Chaotic culture: founder idealistic and employees suffer Upper management are demanding and hypocritical Less career choice if you'd like not to stay in restaurant industry

    Panda Express2019-08-13
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Counter in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Panda Express full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My coworkers were great and hardworker. Management promote within free meals

    Cons

    Inconsistent hours short staffed no work life balance

    Panda Express2019-07-23
  8. "High standard and people company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ACO 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Panda Express full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, scholarships for college students, really promote growth!

    Cons

    Work load and work life balance

    Panda Express2019-07-15
  9. "Nice Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Panda Express full-time

    Pros

    Nice People to talk to

    Cons

    No work life balance, high intensity work

    Panda Express2019-05-29
  10. "Terrible, don't even bother"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Panda Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Healthcare -Pay Rate -Relocation -Size of the company

    Cons

    -Hard to move up -No work life balance -Expectations of higher management versus lower management

    Panda Express2019-06-16

    Panda Express Response

    July 8, 2019Communications Analyst

    At Panda, we are deeply rooted in our people and strive to set them up with the tools they need to grow in their careers. We are sorry for missing the mark on your experience and will be forwarding your feedback to our HR team to see how we can improve our benefits and growth initiatives.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 132 reviews