Panduit Reviews in Tinley Park, IL | Glassdoor

Panduit Tinley Park Reviews

Updated May 15, 2017
150 reviews

Filter

Filter

Tinley Park, IL

4.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Panduit President Thomas C. (Tom) Donovan
Thomas C. (Tom) Donovan
40 Ratings

150 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Close to home and Short commute (in 26 reviews)

  • Good benefits, Good Location, Good Workers (in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • Upper Management is the old boy's clubs (in 34 reviews)

  • No common benefits like work from home or summer hours (in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Customer Support Coordinator"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tinley Park, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tinley Park, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Panduit full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    World wide company with great benefits, professional atmosphere, job advancement, good location in South Suburbs.

    Cons

    Jobs have been eliminated.

    Advice to Management

    I participated and was certified in the Culture of accountability training. My advise would to be to offer it to all new employees. I think it is great.

    Panduit Response

    Dec 12, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Program Manager

    Thanks for your feedback! We are proud to announce that all of Panduit's global employees have received the culture training. A class was recently held for newly hired employees and we will offer ... More


  2. "Great place to work if you are in IT"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Employee in Tinley Park, IL
    Current Employee - IT Employee in Tinley Park, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Panduit full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    - IT is truly living the "culture of accountability" journey Panduit is on
    - Great communication and collaboration
    - Lots of focus on driving innovation, agile methodology and dev ops
    - IT management team is approachable and open to new ideas

    Cons

    - Could use more progressive employee policies (e.g. work from home, summer hours) to attract and retain talent

    Panduit Response

    Apr 11, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Program Manager

    We appreciate your insight! We’re hearing from more and more people throughout Panduit that our Culture Shift is having a positive impact both internally on our teams, and externally in the market ... More


  3. Helpful (6)

    "Business Development"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tinley Park, IL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tinley Park, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Panduit full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits, private company, many internal opportunities, new office in Tinley Park, nice people, good R&D facility

    Cons

    Extremely risk averse, conservative "old school" thinking, business units are non collaborative, no work from home flexibility, inability to attract new talent due to location, wasted time due to internal pushback on budget approvals, meetings for the sake of having meetings, frequent upper management shifts that cause daily position responsibilities to change

    Advice to Management

    Be more open to new people and ideas. Try not to put the C-level and VPs on a pedestal. Be more collaborative with the people on the streets. Have more fun with your team! If you are going to spend time on an initiative to change things, take it seriously.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Product Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tinley Park, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tinley Park, IL

    I have been working at Panduit full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    As a Product Manager, you are the product owner. You are responsible for the growth of the product. You are surrounded with knowledgeable resources that can guide you along the way.

    Cons

    There are a lot of procedures in place, but on a positive note the company is working on improving this.

    Panduit Response

    Mar 30, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Program Manager

    We appreciate your feedback! Panduit is proud of the many products that we provide to our customers. Our product managers - along with all of our employees - have a major impact on Panduit's future ... More


  6. "Great Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Tinley Park, IL
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Tinley Park, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Panduit full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Positive company culture with a strong emphasis on teamwork. This company is clearly vested in their employees and readily provides them the training and tools to be successful.

    Cons

    Being relatively new, I have yet to encounter the downsides.

    Panduit Response

    Mar 30, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Program Manager

    Thanks so much for your review! Avoiding silos is definitely a key focus in Panduit's culture journey and we want to ensure that our employees are equipped for success. Welcome to the Panduit team ... More


  7. "Family Office Director"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Famly Office Director in Tinley Park, IL
    Current Employee - Famly Office Director in Tinley Park, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Panduit full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I am very new to the organization so my experience here is limited. However, the people and culture here is exceptional.

    Cons

    I am new to the organization. No Cons noted to date.

    Panduit Response

    Mar 1, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Program Manager

    Welcome to Panduit! We're very happy to have you on our team and appreciate your positive review.


  8. Helpful (14)

    "Interviewing?? Ask about the turnover."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tinley Park, IL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tinley Park, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Panduit full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Collectively some of the nicest people. Competetive Pay for Southside company

    Cons

    Poor accountability.

    The personification of Groupthink.

    Track record of creating an environment where most of the best talent has come and gone due to frustation, disorganization, consistantly changing targets, or failed commitments of promisses that are often not delivered.

    Very much steeped in the buddy system and nepotism where employees that are liked or buddies of executives are given passes on poor performance in terms of the results that they deliver.

    Matrix leadership is so convoluted that change management is extremely slow and often ineffective.

    Turnover is VERY high for, at least at headquarters.

    There is a lot of “leadership” from people without the educational or professional experience to justify their standing in the roles they hold.

    Unwilling to make necessary investments in resources and people to achieved stated goals… not walking the walk. Expectations to drive $100M of results with fraction of necessary inputs to achieved stated goals thus resulting in many who are over worked and/or anxious about their job security.

    Resistance to align various organizations to assure proper strategic alignment of stated objectives…. Too many people self-interested in their own power centers.

    Lastly, this is a company that has collectively failed to acknowledge the commodization of its products and there is not enough differentiation of its products and offerings that justify its historic price premiums. This does not bode well for long term growth and sustainability of the company in its current structure which means that a major change in the business formation is inevitable with the current offerings.

    Advice to Management

    See above

    Panduit Response

    Feb 17, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Program Manager

    Thanks so much for your constructive feedback. We are definitely proud to have some of the nicest employees and want to ensure that they are paid fairly and equitably for the work that they do. Like ... More


  9. Helpful (9)

    "Used to be a great company, now... not so much"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Tinley Park, IL
    Former Employee - Manager in Tinley Park, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Panduit full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    - great benefits, 401K etc.
    - lower rank coworkers are very nice, very Midwestern
    - headquarter building is beautiful

    Cons

    - if you aren't in the "in-crowd" cliques you get overlooked for promotion or civility, just like back in high school
    - management fills open positions with anyone internally just to fill the position because they don't have time to look for qualified people. People are getting positions and working on projects that know nothing about the subject or position they have just been re-assigned/promoted
    - Many employees despite recognition program are terribly negative.

    Advice to Management

    Take a good look at your director and VP level managers and review their people skills. Cliques are absolutely horrible and are killing morale. Culture of accountability is not working as employees are doing it just because they have to, to managements faces, behind your back they think its a joke. Employee attitudes are absolutely horrible!

    Panduit Response

    Feb 9, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Program Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We started this culture change journey two years ago because we recognized an opportunity to be a better company for our employees and customers. Our concerted efforts ... More


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Product Development Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tinley Park, IL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tinley Park, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Good benefits, Good Location, Good Workers

    Cons

    Work employees too hard. Very Demanding

    Panduit Response

    Feb 17, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Program Manager

    Thanks so much for your review. We appreciate the time and service you provided to Panduit and wish you the best!


  11. "Great Company To Work For"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Tinley Park, IL
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Tinley Park, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Panduit full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Opportunities To Grow
    Learning and Development Opportunities
    Feedback Driven Culture
    Open Door Culture and Environment

    Cons

    Old School Style Of Thinking At Times

    Advice to Management

    Continue to work towards a positive, growing and learning culture.

    Panduit Response

    Jan 13, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Program Manager

    Your insight is greatly appreciated! Panduit is continuing to move in a strong direction with regards to our shifting culture, geared towards focused feedback and positive accountability. We ... More


Showing 150 of 469 reviews
Reset Filters