Panera Bread "discount on food" Reviews | Glassdoor

Panera Bread Employee Reviews about "discount on food"

Updated Feb 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
49%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Panera Bread President and CEO Niren Chaudhary
Niren Chaudhary
145 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "discount on food"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Get out what you out in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delivery Driver in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Panera Bread full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -60% discount on food -Great tips

    Cons

    -Delivery to apartment complexes are a pain

    Panera Bread2020-01-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Panera Bread helped me with my backbone in customer service."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Panera Bread Associate Trainer in Kingston, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Panera Bread full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Somewhat decent pay, overtime, food, discount 65%, shifts fly in time; super busy. Room for growth, mother bread surrounds us all. My cafe was big and filled with awesome coworkers. Expect lots of gossip. I was the type to listen and laugh while I work. I felt appreciated, I was top dog on the line. The food is great. The catering department was super successful at my location. I ran that department for a little over a year. I decided to demote myself to stay sane. I ended up hating the delivery aspect. The office work is easy. Calls need to be made to confirm orders before and after pickup/deliveries. Panera did evolve into a delivery system for the cafe. Those drivers now assist in catering deliveries. I appreciate my experience at Panera Bread.

    Cons

    Only two days paid for holiday (thanksgiving, Christmas) Expensive health insurance, Panera should hire assistants for catering coordinator, Panera should fire management way before 30 employee complaints.

    Continue reading
    Panera Bread2020-02-21
  3. "Great way to make a little extra cash"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Delivery Driver in Knoxville, TN

    I worked at Panera Bread part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My main gig was coaching soccer at night so being able to have steady delivery work during the day was great. Management left the drivers to it and we managed ourselves well. We weren't really expected to chip in with too many things but it was greatly appreciated when we did (prep, bussing, sweeping, restocking bathrooms) . Free coffee and a pretty good food discount. Some fun people working there.

    Cons

    It's obviously not great on the car but I knew what I was getting into as a delivery driver. Pay isn't fantastic, but, again, it's a delivery driver job.

    Continue reading
    Panera Bread2020-02-21
  4. "Good place for part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Driver 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Panera Bread part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and discounted food, flexible

    Cons

    Can be very busy, rude customers

    Panera Bread2020-02-04
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Trainer in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Panera Bread full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discounted food, decent pay to start off with, and a fun company culture with a great support system for growth if you pursue it.

    Cons

    Depending on which location you work at, managers make or break the environment, sometimes they micro-manage instead of helping out the team.

    Continue reading
    Panera Bread2020-01-22
  6. "Great company to work for, always changing and the people are generally nice and pleasant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Panera Bread

    Pros

    Good pay for a fast food job, starting rate is negotiable. Good perks such as free and discounted food. Good opportunities for promotions. Job itself is easy unless you go into management.

    Cons

    Gets boring pretty quick, job is pretty simple. Customers always complain about pricing.

    Continue reading
    Panera Bread2020-01-20
  7. "Managers sucked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delivery Driver in Lewisville, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Panera Bread part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    High Discount on food during shift

    Cons

    Poor management from top to bottom

    Continue reading
    Panera Bread2020-01-16
  8. "Not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BOH 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Panera Bread part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    food discount and flexible scheduling

    Cons

    If you like favoritism, doing everything in the cafe for low pay, and bad mouthing - this is the place for you.

    Panera Bread2020-01-10
  9. "It was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Wait Staff 

    I worked at Panera Bread part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Discount on food for lunch

    Cons

    Lots of time on your feet. You don't get to go home on time.

    Panera Bread2019-12-16
  10. "Not so honest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Delivery Driver in Libertyville, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Panera Bread part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discounted food. Ha - Glassdoor says I must enter 5 words for Pros.

    Cons

    I met one manager and she said that the rate of pay is $10/hour. A second manager said it is $10 when you are in the cafe and $6 when you are driving. Then, a manager asked me to run to another cafe to pick up baguettes and I did. At the end of my shift, he told me the mileage would not be reimbursed, even when I used my own car. I don't recall him saying that, because if he did, I would not have ran the errand for him. It turns out that when people order from Uber Eats, drivers don't get tips, because Uber pockets the tips. BOGUS - tips are how drivers get their income. I only got 10-12 hours/week. Don't waste your time applying.

    Continue reading
    Panera Bread2020-01-03

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 461 reviews