Panera Bread "minimum wage" Reviews | Glassdoor

Panera Bread Employee Reviews about "minimum wage"

Updated Feb 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Panera Bread President and CEO Niren Chaudhary
Niren Chaudhary
141 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "minimum wage"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hourly Associate in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Panera Bread part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    management was willing to give flexible hours above minimum wage pay for a cashier position raises within the company discounts (and sometimes free pastries at night) Worked towards things I can get behind

    Cons

    I was a trainer with no formal training experience and was not compensated for the extra work

    Panera Bread2019-11-01
  2. "Depends on Managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Trainer 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Panera Bread part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible Schedule - Earn a little more than minimum wage

    Cons

    -Schedule a couple of days in advance sometimes -If you make it to the next level of position, you can actually make less than what you were making before -No raises given during my 2 years working

    Panera Bread2020-01-10
  3. "Not a bad place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Cook 

    I worked at Panera Bread part-time

    Pros

    Discount when working was decent

    Cons

    Pay was minimum wage. On feet all day

    Panera Bread2020-01-08
  4. "Great First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prep/Line Cook 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Panera Bread full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I mainly work as prep which is a long and tedious shift, but I do my own thing which I love. I get good hours as well. I enjoy working with the ingredients and food Panera provides and it makes me proud to work there. My managers are all really nice and all the workers are super sweet and polite.

    Cons

    The pay could be better but it’s minimum wage. However, there is room for advancement and you get tips so I actually make around 13,50 an hour.

    Panera Bread2019-12-11
  5. "Good for High School Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Tampa, FL
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Panera Bread part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible environment, work with a dynamic team, changes in store every season, meet really wonderful people, good for high school students that need a part-time job, donates their unused bakery items to charity

    Cons

    This is my experience at the store I worked at: High turnover rate. Management does not listen most of the time. Customers can be very rude and hard to work with. Coworkers can be catty. Minimum wage. They do not recognize loyal employees and reward kiss-ups. Heavy lifting and picking up slack from coworkers that go unnoticed or appreciated. They do not designate deep cleaning until auditors come so they make the employees stay to deep clean after closing when they should have people do the tasks every week instead of all at once. Cleaning large areas on your own with little to no help after closing. I was barely trained when I started, only given a general tour and descriptions of items, then I was handed a mop and the trainer made me do what they did not want to do.

    Continue reading
    Panera Bread2019-11-18
  6. "Do the impossible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Baker in Ontario, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Panera Bread full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Manager's meal per shift, great co-workers, fun place to work

    Cons

    Management only think of themselves, full time job with part time hours, minimum wage

    Panera Bread2019-11-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Associate - General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Tallahassee, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Panera Bread full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    -Decent pay for managers without a college education (however, minimum wage for associates) -Enjoyable and easy part time job for students -Relatively easy to move up within the company

    Cons

    -Poor work/life balance -Always expected to be on call (the pay isn't good enough to be working 24/7) -Unrealistic expectations (ticket times and customer satisfaction goals are hard/impossible to meet with their new labor requirements) -Long hours, no break -Menu has become overwhelming (too many items, employees struggle to learn it all) -Managers and staff always changing (impossible to get smart, hardworking, lasting employees when you pay minimum wage) -Upper Management (District /Regional Managers, etc) are often clueless on day to day operations of a restaurant -The job is easy but call-outs, customers, etc. make the job extremely stressful -Unnecessary and unhelpful admin work required Takeaway: Decent part time job for students, but don't make this your career. Being a General Manager is NOT worth the extra money, stick to Assistant Manager.

    Continue reading
    Panera Bread2019-11-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "good place to start working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate 

    I worked at Panera Bread part-time

    Pros

    Great working environment; great training. good first job

    Cons

    High stress for minimum wage

    Panera Bread2019-10-03
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Run as far away as you possibly can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Holly Springs, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Panera Bread full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some decent customers Over minimum wage pay

    Cons

    Workplace drama Crazy Mangers Unattainable goals Either too many or not enough hours Lack of Transparency No approval of time off

    Continue reading
    Panera Bread2019-10-17
  10. "Decent but could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Trainer in Plainsboro, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Panera Bread full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    65% off food PTO and good benefits

    Cons

    High schoolers make 30 cents for than me while I'm a associate trainer with servsafe. and they are an associate because the company won't raise our pay when minimum wage is going to 15 an hour. I feel my 9 years of experience with 7 of the 9 years in a hospital as a trayline associate and my education isnt as good as a high school student with their first job.

    Continue reading
    Panera Bread2019-08-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 260 reviews