Panera Bread Employee Reviews about "minimum wage"

Updated Jan 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
50%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Panera Bread President and CEO Niren Chaudhary
Niren Chaudhary
721 Ratings
Pros
  • "Discount on food and first-time experience with a job(in 529 reviews)

  • "Great colleagues, delicious food, flexible hours(in 398 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "And I feel bad for my associates who work hard to make the store look and feel good for our customers when they make only a little above minimum wage(in 205 reviews)

  • "Can only advance if you have an in with someone within the upper management(in 198 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Panera Bread and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "minimum wage"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Okay place to work

      Jan 18, 2021 - Associate in Troy, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You'll make above minimum wage

      Cons

      Managers can make or break the location

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Overworked for little pay

      Jan 9, 2021 - Team Manager in Jacksonville, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My coworkers are awesome and and the job is fun when doing production, service, or BOH shifts. The discount is more than half of the price for food. Collective tips are added to non-management employee's paychecks and it can add up when customers are feeling generous after receiving good service.

      Cons

      I advise prospective employees to ask for a decent starting rate and get to know your managers under pressure before deciding to stay after 60 days. The pay is too low for the amount of work expected. As a manager, even I feel underpaid. And I feel bad for my associates who work hard to make the store look and feel good for our customers when they make only a little above minimum wage. It's crazy how a company that is so prideful about customer warmth and a positive work environment seems to take advantage of all of its employees.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good environment

      Jan 16, 2021 - Customer Seecixe 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule, not minimum wage, good work environment

      Cons

      I do not have any

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Panera Bread was a nice place to work at. The work wasn't too tasking and they are flexible with your hours.

      Dec 14, 2020 - Restaurant Team Member in Brea, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy job tasks, Employee discount

      Cons

      Minimum wage pay, Minimal promotions

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good first job

      Jan 20, 2021 - Cashier in Windermere, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You meet really nice people. You’re taught to work hard, but it comes in handy for future career jobs. Teaches you a lot about customer service.

      Cons

      They pay you minimum wage. You’re underpaid for the amount of work you do.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Fine Company

      Dec 14, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Tallahassee, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flexible schedule interesting people discounts on food

      Cons

      long hours routine activities minimum wage little opportunity for wage increases

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      more cons than pros

      Sep 26, 2020 - Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -25 cents above minimum wage -good paycheck if you get atleast 20-25 hours/week -they hire anyone -free pastries if working closing shift -nice coworkers

      Cons

      -LOTS of physical labor for working dining room shifts -customers are rude - management is so unorganized - barely get breaks (which are unpaid) - need managements approval code entered for clocking in, clocking out, or going on break, which can be frustrating -never get to clock out when scheduled to, usually about 1-2 hours later -large menu to memorize as a cashier or line cook -was trained by people who had just started working there a couple weeks prior to me -way more demanding than other low paying jobs

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Cashier for about a year

      Jan 13, 2021 - Cashier 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly, a little bit above minimum wage, flexible schedule

      Cons

      Some days are really busy and the pay just isn't enough to endure what the customers do to you sometimes.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Loving company

      Aug 11, 2020 - Associate Trainer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      •Coworkers are typically very welcoming to one another. Panera (at least when I started) compares my interests and desires to what they were looking for. •Great first job. Training is very detailed and is taught with online learning and practice.

      Cons

      •Closeness can cause "cliques" but some bosses I've had were good at keeping up moral. •Pay is low but typically above minimum wage

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great first job

      Oct 28, 2020 - Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of hours, Friendly staff, Good first job

      Cons

      very fast paced at times, Minimum wage

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 290 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Panera Bread Job Seekers

    Night Baker
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Restaurant Associate - Cashier
    Learn About the Job
    Restaurant Associate Line Cook
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Panera Bread? Share Your Experiences

    or