Papaya Clothing Reviews | Glassdoor

Papaya Clothing Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
36%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Papaya Clothing CEO Kenney Choi (no image)
Kenney Choi
28 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There are no raises for either position(in 4 reviews)

  • "Management as a whole, Low pay, no benefits or perks, the dress code was trash(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Associates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Glendale, CA

    I worked at Papaya Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    We meet new people and help them get the best quality out of what they are purchasing and making sure to provide an excellent service to guarantee that the customer will come back again. Also opening to new experiences.

    Cons

    No matter how the customer's attitude and behavior is we must always make sure to treat them nicely and try to solve their problem carefully to make sure at the end they are satisfied.

    Papaya Clothing2018-09-04
  2. "physically demanding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Papaya Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    extremely flexible kind and considerate employer overall a great environment

    Cons

    hourly pay is to be low as expected by the retail job

    Papaya Clothing2019-10-22
  3. "assist the customer in the fitting room, directing customers to merchandise within the store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Papaya Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers were wonderful. The manager was amazing and super friendly.

    Cons

    Being on your feet 8hr+. Short break.

    Papaya Clothing2019-08-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Papaya Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing co-workers and discounted clothing.

    Cons

    No raises, favoritism, and no enthusiasm.

    Papaya Clothing2019-07-08
  5. "Average Retail Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Livermore, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Papaya Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers were nice and we got a discount on the clothes.

    Cons

    Even when it was slow and the store was completely clean, we always had to be doing something and managers talk about you behind your back. Monotonous work

    Papaya Clothing2019-06-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Positive experience at Papaya Clothing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Milpitas, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Papaya Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great manager - Flexibility with schedule

    Cons

    - Corporate - Low pay - Lots of work -Lazy coworkers

    Advice to Management

    Focus on training new hires a bit more instead of throwing them in to do it themselves. Set good examples early on because bad habits form right away.

    Papaya Clothing2019-05-27
  7. "Okay job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 

    I worked at Papaya Clothing part-time

    Pros

    More so relaxed working environment

    Cons

    Cheap clothes and employees did whatever they want

    Papaya Clothing2019-05-28
  8. "Fun job if you love clothes but each store differs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Shreveport, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Papaya Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I liked the employee discount. It was a simple entry-level job.

    Cons

    The store was a mess and the store owner was a mess. I worked over the summer and went to school. When I got back, it was a whole new team including the manager. They also couldn't find my last paycheck.

    Papaya Clothing2019-04-17
  9. "whatever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Supervisor 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Papaya Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule Easy job Always something to do

    Cons

    Poor Management Bad communication throughout staff Hostile environment

    Papaya Clothing2019-04-07
  10. "retail store supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Papaya Clothing part-time

    Pros

    flexible time schedule, energetic, and friendly

    Cons

    overload on holidays and weekend

    Advice to Management

    nice, friendly, and helpful.

    Papaya Clothing2019-02-15
Found 111 reviews