Pape-Dawson Engineers Reviews | Glassdoor

Pape-Dawson Engineers Reviews

Updated April 26, 2018
42 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Pape-Dawson Engineers Chief Executive Officer Sam Dawson
Sam Dawson
30 Ratings

42 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. Helpful (1)

    "P-D Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pape-Dawson Engineers full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    A great company that genuinely cares about their employees and their clients. Hard work is rewarded and overtime is paid. Very involved in the community with volunteer work. They don't just talk the talk, they walk the walk! Good benefits and in a Domain adjacent property with amenities like a workout room and cafeteria/lounge.

    Cons

    As far as I am concerned, there is no down side.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Pape-Dawson Engineers Response

    Jul 2, 2018 – Business Development Associate

    Thank you for taking time to post a review. We appreciate your input and are glad that you are fulfilled.


  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer III in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Engineer III in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pape-Dawson Engineers full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great company. Treats employees well and pays overtime which is a huge plus. Does a lot of charity work and holds employee appreciation events a few times a year. Lots of opportunity to rise up in the ranks if you work hard

    Cons

    Not much. They keep sick time and vacation separate which can be good or bad depending on how you look at it

    Pape-Dawson Engineers Response

    Jul 2, 2018 – Business Development Associate

    We appreciate your feedback. We want to challenge our team at Pape-Dawson to grow by providing the right opportunities at every level. Thank you for being part of our team.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Quality Engineering Firm with Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Austin, TX
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pape-Dawson Engineers full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Employee and integrity focused engineering firm that performs a wide range or services. Had a significant focus on working with employees to serve their community through charity and volunteering.

    Cons

    Starting to get pretty big if you prefer smaller firms. They had 450 employees give or take while I worked there.

    Pape-Dawson Engineers Response

    Jul 3, 2018 – Business Development Associate

    Thank you for taking time to review Pape-Dawson. We strive to provide an enriching work environment and are happy that you had a positive experience.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CAD Technician in San Antonio, TX
    Current Employee - CAD Technician in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pape-Dawson Engineers full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    It's a great place to learn

    Cons

    The company lacks people diversity

    Pape-Dawson Engineers Response

    Jul 3, 2018 – Business Development Associate

    Thank you for your input.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Very friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pape-Dawson Engineers full-time

    Pros

    Great company for hardworking individuals.

    Cons

    Nothing in particular that stands out.

    Pape-Dawson Engineers Response

    Jun 26, 2017

    Thank you for sharing your comments.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Sr PM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pape-Dawson Engineers full-time

    Pros

    PD is a great environment for learning - and hard work is actually rewarded here!

    Cons

    I really can't think of anything...

    Pape-Dawson Engineers Response

    Jun 26, 2017

    Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback! We appreciate your desire to continue learning and growing in your career, and we are happy that you've found a home at Pape-Dawson.


  7. Helpful (5)

    "Total Waste"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in San Antonio, TX
    Former Employee - Engineer in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pape-Dawson Engineers full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fast paced environment and ability to learn engineering software typically used in the industry. In house training and periodic lunch and nearby.

    Cons

    Poor management, no opportunity for advancement. During interview you're promised the opportunity to grow and advance and unless your from the right school it won't happen. Overall it was a waste and your better off working for a smaller firm.

    Advice to Management

    Quit using religion as your platform and learn how to lead and mentor.

    Pape-Dawson Engineers Response

    Jun 26, 2017

    Thank you for your feedback.

  8. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pape-Dawson Engineers full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Pape-Dawson truly respects and cares for their people. They make just about every effort to see that their employees are not only just turning work over, but thriving as well. Whether this includes setting up trainings and workshops so employees can learn more specific skills or simply encouraging a healthy work-life balance, Pape-Dawson encourages people to be their best self. This company also cares largely for the community around them, making them not only a highly respected engineering firm but also a source of positive impact for several charities.

    Cons

    Slight growing pains in standardizing satellite offices.

    Pape-Dawson Engineers Response

    Nov 29, 2016

    Thank you for taking the time to share feedback! As you know, our mission statement includes, "provide an environment that encourages employee development and satisfaction." We will continue to work... More


  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pape-Dawson Engineers full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Diverse staff, maintains a variety of projects and workload is stable, Austin office is a fun environment. Company pushes to give back to the community through charity and volunteer time. Benefits are good and so is pay.

    Cons

    Can be too conservative. Using new technology is discouraged. Not leading edge. Vacation time isn't great.

    Pape-Dawson Engineers Response

    Dec 8, 2016

    Thank you for taking the time to share feedback!


  10. "great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pape-Dawson Engineers full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    great company, health plan great for singles!

    Cons

    traditional, some people don't like that. I didn't mind

    Advice to Management

    none

    Pape-Dawson Engineers Response

    Nov 21, 2016

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts!


Showing 42 of 44 reviews
Reset Filters