Pape-Dawson Engineers Reviews | Glassdoor

Pape-Dawson Engineers Reviews

Updated September 23, 2017
39 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Pape-Dawson Engineers Chief Executive Officer Sam Dawson
Sam Dawson
27 Ratings

39 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Sr PM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pape-Dawson Engineers full-time

    Pros

    PD is a great environment for learning - and hard work is actually rewarded here!

    Cons

    I really can't think of anything...

    Pape-Dawson Engineers Response

    Jun 26, 2017

    Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback! We appreciate your desire to continue learning and growing in your career, and we are happy that you've found a home at Pape-Dawson.


  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CAD Technician in San Antonio, TX
    Current Employee - CAD Technician in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pape-Dawson Engineers full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    It's a great place to learn

    Cons

    The company lacks people diversity

  3. "Very friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pape-Dawson Engineers full-time

    Pros

    Great company for hardworking individuals.

    Cons

    Nothing in particular that stands out.

    Pape-Dawson Engineers Response

    Jun 26, 2017

    Thank you for sharing your comments.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Total Waste"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in San Antonio, TX
    Former Employee - Engineer in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pape-Dawson Engineers full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fast paced environment and ability to learn engineering software typically used in the industry. In house training and periodic lunch and nearby.

    Cons

    Poor management, no opportunity for advancement. During interview you're promised the opportunity to grow and advance and unless your from the right school it won't happen. Overall it was a waste and your better off working for a smaller firm.

    Advice to Management

    Quit using religion as your platform and learn how to lead and mentor.

    Pape-Dawson Engineers Response

    Jun 26, 2017

    Thank you for your feedback.


  5. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pape-Dawson Engineers full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Pape-Dawson truly respects and cares for their people. They make just about every effort to see that their employees are not only just turning work over, but thriving as well. Whether this includes setting up trainings and workshops so employees can learn more specific skills or simply encouraging a healthy work-life balance, Pape-Dawson encourages people to be their best self. This company also cares largely for the community around them, making them not only a highly respected engineering firm but also a source of positive impact for several charities.

    Cons

    Slight growing pains in standardizing satellite offices.

    Pape-Dawson Engineers Response

    Nov 29, 2016

    Thank you for taking the time to share feedback! As you know, our mission statement includes, "provide an environment that encourages employee development and satisfaction." We will continue to work... More


  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pape-Dawson Engineers full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Diverse staff, maintains a variety of projects and workload is stable, Austin office is a fun environment. Company pushes to give back to the community through charity and volunteer time. Benefits are good and so is pay.

    Cons

    Can be too conservative. Using new technology is discouraged. Not leading edge. Vacation time isn't great.

    Pape-Dawson Engineers Response

    Dec 8, 2016

    Thank you for taking the time to share feedback!


  7. "great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pape-Dawson Engineers full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    great company, health plan great for singles!

    Cons

    traditional, some people don't like that. I didn't mind

    Advice to Management

    none

    Pape-Dawson Engineers Response

    Nov 21, 2016

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts!

  8. "Reputable and community-oriented company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in San Antonio, TX
    Former Employee - Intern in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pape-Dawson Engineers (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Decent pay and good benefits if you are a full time employee. They were willing to work around my schedule as a student. It is a community-based, collaborative work space; nearly all employees work in cubicles that are only chest high, so it's easy to talk to others around the office. Almost everyone has a cubicle buddy within the same work space. The people at the San Antonio office were very nice and inviting. Both Sam and Gene Dawson came to introduce themselves and talk with me at my cubicle, they are both kind and seemed genuinely interested. The company is very involved in the community and hosts employee volunteer opportunities on a regular basis.

    Cons

    Limited privacy because of the cubicle layout. Although this is listed as a pro, it could also be a con on some days.

    Pape-Dawson Engineers Response

    Nov 21, 2016

    We are very pleased that you had a positive internship experience with Pape-Dawson, and we appreciate you sharing your feedback with us!


  9. "A Hard Working Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Designer in San Antonio, TX
    Current Employee - Senior Designer in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pape-Dawson Engineers full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    A great company to work for.
    If you come here to work hard, the owners and management with take care of you.
    They are very understanding to family needs. If you prove yourself and have patience you'll see your career grow. With my years of working on numerous projects. My VP and Senior VP has gain the confidence in me to have great freedom to express my skills and abilities.
    I am very happy in the group I work for.

    Cons

    No real cons here. Just a some words of advice. It matters in which VP & Senior VP group you work for. Most are great but others are rude and narrow minded.
    **This company is not for you if you can't work hard.

    Advice to Management

    nothing for now.

    Pape-Dawson Engineers Response

    Nov 21, 2016

    Thank you for working for Pape-Dawson for over ten years! We are happy to have you as part of the team and appreciate your feedback.


  10. "Pape-Dawson Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Current Employee - Project Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pape-Dawson Engineers full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great company, starting at the top. Humble, selfless and experienced leadership help build strong engineers and employees. Professional work environment and up-to-date technology throughout the building allows me to maximize my capabilities and efficiency. Pape-Dawson continuously provides training to its employees to build their growth.

    My experience from working for two other engineering firms other than Pape-Dawson is that PD provides excellent benefits, including overtime pay and generous end-of-year bonuses. Other perks include annual picnic and Christmas party, Spurs tickets (along with other local sporting events), rodeo and broadway tickets.

    Pape-Dawson values itself in being involved in the community through volunteering just as much as it does in the work we put out, which speaks volumes to the character of the firm.

    Cons

    Cannot use PE stamp on projects as this is designated for upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Keep your team involved in the big picture of projects, not just individual tasks to get the job done. This helps keep them engaged and motivated.

    Maintain a selfless attitude with your team and put them above yourself. This helps them feel valued and builds trust.

    Pape-Dawson Engineers Response

    Nov 21, 2016

    Thank you for your feedback!


Showing 39 of 40 reviews
Reset Filters