Paperchase Products Reviews | Glassdoor

Paperchase Products Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 195 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Paperchase Products CEO Timothy Melgund
Timothy Melgund
70 Ratings
  1. "Great people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Paperchase Products full-time

    Pros

    The people are what make working at Paperchase. It's easy to form close relationships with peers and the overall atmosphere is good. The Senior staff and Directors are all lovely and make time to speak to everyone.

    Cons

    Lack of rewards, bonuses & slow with progression

    Paperchase Products2019-05-12
  2. "Sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outbound Telesales in Guildford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Paperchase Products part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    50% employee discount on paperchase products 5.6 weeks holiday per year Company pension scheme Generous bonus scheme

    Cons

    No cons. Everything about this company is positive.

    Advice to Management

    No advice needed. Management were extremely professional, helpful, friendly and created a positive atmosphere. Very well structured environment to work in, which management had created for all employees. Thorough training provided. Management treated their staff with respect and were always around if help was needed. I can’t praise them enough for their hard work and effort for making my time at paperchase more than enjoyable.

    Paperchase Products2019-05-08
  3. "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Paperchase Products full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    50% discount but no on everything

    Cons

    Bullying, that is ignored when reported

    Paperchase Products2019-06-07
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Paperchase Products

    Pros

    get 50% discount on all paperchase products. the workers are very kind

    Cons

    gets boring on off peak days

    Advice to Management

    need to be more clear regarding timetable and shift times

    Paperchase Products2019-05-11
  5. "Great company to work for in retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Paperchase Products part-time

    Pros

    Great staff and team that I worked with, generous 50% discount, supportive management, typically lovely customers

    Cons

    Pay was only average for a sales assistant

    Paperchase Products2019-04-24
  6. "sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Bath, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Paperchase Products part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun products, good colleagues, relatively flexible hours

    Cons

    some days were incredibly quiet, targets were hard to meet

    Advice to Management

    make the sales/treat me targets more attainable

    Paperchase Products2019-04-24
  7. "Assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Paperchase Products part-time

    Pros

    Good work environment Helpful management Good discount Scope for advancement

    Cons

    Currently company not doing as well as before Limited staff Alot of pressure on management Now paid well enough

    Paperchase Products2019-05-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Paperchase Products part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount was good at 50% off

    Cons

    Erratic Scheduling (sometimes 8 hrs sometimes 32+ ) Condescending Management Low Pay Cliquey staff No coherency in day to day planning Loyalty card program pressure

    Advice to Management

    I worked for Paperchase for 8 months, I have never worked anywhere and been treated so condescendingly and was consistently discriminated against. HR department also of no use. Management takes little to no responsibility for store , massive blame culture, elitist, there is a high staff turnover for good reason. Disappointing, as Paperchase used to be one of my favourite shops.

    Paperchase Products2019-05-03
  9. "Christmas Temp. Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Paperchase Products part-time

    Pros

    Fast-paced, energetic work environment. Friendly colleagues (at least in my case).

    Cons

    Work can be monotonous; duties in this role are mostly restricted to working the tills, cleaning/organising shelves, and occasionally pricing items in the sale. When the shop gets busy however, work can become very demanding very quickly and with minimal training it's easy to make mistakes. Luckily my supervisor was very forgiving and happy to help. Christmas Temps can be treated as somewhat expendable, which is to...

    Show More
    Paperchase Products2019-04-28
  10. "Good general experience but initially ruined by an unprofessional manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Paperchase Products full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team morale Lovely products Opportunity for development when under the right manager

    Cons

    Certain long-standing managers are protected, even when they treat employees appallingly and contribute nothing to store operation or success. Unfortunately this company is beginning to suffer the strain that a lot of highstreet retailers are encountering Pay isn't great for an ASM

    Advice to Management

    Realise that protecting that one bad egg will eventually be detrimental to the company reputation

    Paperchase Products2019-04-23
Found 195 reviews