Paperchase Products Reviews | Glassdoor

Paperchase Products Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 195 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Paperchase Products CEO Timothy Melgund
Timothy Melgund
70 Ratings
  1. "Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Paperchase Products part-time

    Pros

    Very friendly environment and relatively easy task

    Cons

    The work hours were short for me

    Paperchase Products2019-04-01
  2. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Freelance Designer in London, England

    I worked at Paperchase Products for less than a year

    Pros

    Central London is a great area to work in. It was an easy commute.

    Cons

    I worked within the graphic design team, and I can say that I have never been treated with so much condescension. I was literally treated like a factory worker, told to work 'faster'. I even overheard senior team members talking negatively about me, and passively aggressively attacking me directly. It was such a joke, I felt like a cog in the wheel producing some meaningless stationery. The way that management threatened...

    Show More
    Paperchase Products2019-05-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great for shopping, horrible for a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Paperchase Products part-time

    Pros

    Staff discount Other sales assistants are lovely Good colleague culture at sales level Opportunity for managerial progression (although I wouldn't want it here)

    Cons

    Toxic management - your day would be determined by the mood of those in management, and if they were in a bad mood, everyone was in a bad mood. It's like treading on eggshells. Favouritism. Rubbish wages - you'd think such a huge franchise would care more about paying the people who work for them.

    Advice to Management

    Treat everyone equally, don't take your bad moods out on your staff who are doing all of the hard work for below minimum wage.

    Paperchase Products2019-04-11
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Woking, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Paperchase Products part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really nice people, great discount, not very difficult work.

    Cons

    Low pay, upper management don’t care about staff & are pretty rude sometimes, always understaffed, massive focus on getting people to sign up to loyalty cards even though it has no importance.

    Advice to Management

    Be more considerate to staff, consider putting wages up (it’s one of the lowest-paying places on the high street).

    Paperchase Products2019-04-02
  5. "The reality of paperchase"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Paperchase Products

    Pros

    • Good staff discount: 50% off most things • Uniform is very relaxed

    Cons

    • Unreasonably low wage! Nearly minimum wage for sales assistants. No extra pay for London employees either... • Often long hours with unpaid breaks • Management often fault your flaws and fail to refinish good effort • Head Office seem to only care about you issuing loyalty cards and not the service you provide • Everything seems very sloppy and slow: handing out rota shifts to reviving holiday approval.

    Advice to Management

    Simply put, pay your workers more. Even just a small amount. I’ve worked for paperchase for just over a year and see 1 management, 4 supervisor and 7 sales assistant positions leave because they felt undervalued. It meant I had to train new staff and problems arose because of having a team of newly trained staff. My colleagues often feel their job has no value or impact on the business and that despite outstanding efforts,...

    Show More
    Paperchase Products2019-04-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Paperchase Products part-time

    Pros

    Great team, amazing products and staff discount of course!

    Cons

    Unorganised head office, always last minute changes and moves.

    Paperchase Products2019-02-24
  7. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paperchase Products full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great products Great team Great discount

    Cons

    None at present to report on

    Paperchase Products2019-02-17
  8. "Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Paperchase Products part-time

    Pros

    Good pay and friendly team I worked with

    Cons

    Strict on calling in sick when actually sick

    Advice to Management

    Could Be more supportive to staff , when calling in sick i was shouted at and asked to go in anyway

    Paperchase Products2019-02-14
  9. "Sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Paperchase Products part-time

    Pros

    Quirky products, friendly colleagues, 50% discount on products

    Cons

    Sometimes 6.30am starts and 9pm finishes, management would favour some staff members over others

    Paperchase Products2019-02-27
  10. "Retail Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Paperchase Products part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Worked with some amazing people. The products are unique and fun to sell.

    Cons

    Did not receive many hours.

    Paperchase Products2019-02-01
Found 195 reviews