Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen Hostess Reviews | Glassdoor

Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen Hostess Reviews

Updated Jul 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Christopher and Harris Pappas
11 Ratings
  1. "Hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hostess in Pharr, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great environment and great people

    Cons

    they do not give enough hours

    Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen2016-07-07
  2. "DRAMA!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host/Hostess in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good money when there's a banquet

    Cons

    Managers who take their anger out on your schedule, gossipy and rude staff, hostesses made to do busser's job when they won't.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more bussers, let the general manager make the schedules because the individual managers WILL take advantage. Also, give double shifts a proper meal, not off the children's menu. If you're working a double, you need enough food to feed an adult, that isn't fried.

    Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen2019-07-09
  3. "Good job for high school or college student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Hostess 

      I have been working at Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Fun upbeat work environment

      Cons

      Could not have colored hair

      Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen2019-01-15
    • "Hostess"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Hostess in Atlanta, GA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      *Discounts (25% when not working that day and 50% if dining the day you're working) *The experience and clientale connection *Builds patience *you get the learn2serve certificate

      Cons

      *Pay isnt the best *It takes a long time to move up in the company (around 7 months but it can happen) and they require more from you in order to move up versus people who get hired for the same position just coming in. *They dont give breaks (and when they do it's never for what time they say you are owed) *No outside food allowed during breaks and some days the food isnt provided so breaks aren't given period....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      A job that seems simple at other places is clearly much more here. Making that known upfront would be better . And since host are learning just as much as servers maybe allowing us to move up to better positions faster would be a plus.

      Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen2018-12-09
    • "Easy Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Hostess in Houston, TX
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Employee discounts and free food

        Cons

        No breaks as a host

        Advice to Management

        NA

        Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen2018-10-17
      • "50/50"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Server/Hostess in Birmingham, AL

          I worked at Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen part-time for less than a year

          Pros

          The money is great, and they train you well

          Cons

          Poor management Late hours Mandatory weekends Strict uniform requirements

          Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen2018-07-04
        • "Decent place to work"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Server/Hostess in Norcross, GA
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          They have good food. Great hours. Able to pick up and drop shifts. Nice environment, some times the feed you free food. Or bribe you with it.

          Cons

          Favoritism, incapable managers. Sort of like high school, everyone like to be in everybody business. Not to mention other things.

          Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen2018-01-11
        • "Front -End hostess at Pappadeaux"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Hostess in Alpharetta, GA

          I worked at Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Interaction with the guest and coworkers.

          Cons

          Management is very unorganized and immature.

          Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen2017-12-08
        • Helpful (1)

          "I love the environment and customer service I am able to provide."

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Server/Hostess in San Antonio, TX
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          I have learned so much about customer service and management during my time here so far. I thoroughly enjoy the work environment.

          Cons

          Management isn’t the best. They tend to be very unfair with employees and often play favorites. Gossip between managers and employee is very common and very unprofessional.

          Advice to Management

          Gossip in the workplace is very unprofessional no matter who you think you may be friends with.

          Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen2017-11-01
        • "Good Company with many kinks in the road"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Host/Hostess in Austin, TX
          Doesn't Recommend
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Amazing people work there, we were all like one big happy family and I really bonded with some of my coworkers. There was a set schedule so it made planning things on your day(s) off easier. Half of the managers were amazing. I got paid time in a half during the christmas season. They can be understanding to school schedules when they want to be. The pay wasn't too bad and they normally pay a little more to those who...

          Show More

          Cons

          With any job in the Food Industry, you will get really angry guests but you do grow to have thicker skin. The angry guests were the least of my troubles however and Management was the biggest problem I encountered. Half of the managers were amazing but the other half had no idea how to do their job let alone how to talk to the staff. Instead of helping us with angry guests, they seemed to make the situation worse. Even...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          It's true when they say bad management is the reason people decide to leave. Show a little compassion and talk to us like we're human and we will stay.

          Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen2017-08-18
        Found 30 reviews