Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen Manager Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Christopher and Harris Pappas
10 Ratings
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Schedule, progression and growth, ability to transfer

    Cons

    bonus structure, Area managers need to be more involved

    Advice to Management

    Make bonus structure more tied to sales and tangible goals not QA

    Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen2019-04-12
  2. "Hard Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Manager in Austin, TX

    I worked at Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great learning opportunity and place to get your feet wet as a manager

    Cons

    Always work on the weekends and holidays

    Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen2019-07-16
  3. "Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay and lots of room to grow

    Cons

    can have long hours, gets really busy

    Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen2019-02-12
  4. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Manager 
    Recommends

    I worked at Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing company solid standards across the board. Quality product was always non negotiating . I have never worked for a company who went to such great lengths to ensure consistency and greatness were continually reflected in the food they served, but in the staff, and even the building itself. This is a company that not only speaks about giving the guest the best experience... They fully back it up. They invest so much...

    Show More

    Cons

    Very few. The hours can be long, and working most weekends ase it hrs to see my family. As the company grows, I hope that Pappas I was raised in doesn’t get lost

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the Pappas Standards that made you love the company when you first got hired. Never allow yourself lose sight of the corerstone focuses that differentiate Pappas from other restaurants. The guest experience and a product that is never less than the best. Continue treating your staff with the same level of respect you ask them to give the guests.

    Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen2018-07-17
  5. "Restaurant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Phoenix, AZ

    I worked at Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Reviews with potential raises every 6 months, small, but it's something. Decent training. Highest quality food and a restaurant to be proud to work for. Decent 401-k with company match.

    Cons

    I had no room to advance. No appreciation around the holiday seasons from the owners or upper mgmt. Very unattainable bonus structure. Benefits are expensive. Never had weekends off unless I asked for it, long hours made work-life balance difficult.

    Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen2018-06-04
  6. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy process to move to higher positions. Everyone is like family!

    Cons

    Higher-up managers use favoritism for moving employees to higher positions. Managers have personal relationships with staff members.

    Advice to Management

    Be more staff oriented and reframe from having employee relationships outside of work.

    Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen2018-03-28
  7. "Floor manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company, you have the opportunity to learn a lot through their classes. You transfer to other stores and meet new people

    Cons

    You always have to work weekends, holidays, and late nights. It’s hard to keep a regular sleep schedule or social life

    Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen2018-01-13
  8. "Floor Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Floor Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful opportunities. Advancement is easy as long as you're willing to go the extra mile. If you're single and don't care about your free tie this is a great place to work with decent benefits.

    Cons

    Not a great place to start if you care about spending time with your family or having nights/weekends off. 401k doesn't match, and pay while okay doesn't go very high. If you're not in it for the long haul, eg to become a GM, you'll be over looked for any opportunities.

    Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen2017-12-27
  9. "Fair, but big business."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Floor Manager in Birmingham, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen full-time

    Pros

    The higher management know what they are doing, and are constantly busting their butts.

    Cons

    Sadly, the company is just TOO big and the individual restaurants are TOO BIG. Meaning, there are so many employees running around at any one time, the managers do not care about the employees on a personal level like you would like to see. If you are sick, tough stuff, you better find a replacement yourself or you might just be fired.

    Advice to Management

    I really don't know what to recommend to do, because with so many employees, you can't expect management to fix it themselves.

    Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen2017-07-12
  10. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Challenging and fast paced environment

    Cons

    long hours with little down time

    Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen2017-07-11
Found 27 reviews