Paradies Lagardère Reviews | Glassdoor

Paradies Lagardère Reviews

Updated Feb 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
36%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Paradies Lagardère President and CEO Gregg Paradies
Gregg Paradies
44 Ratings
Pros
  • "Position inside the airport to possibly find other/ better jobs(in 15 reviews)

  • "Fast paced & meeting new people(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "My location was a small airport so the supervisors were always busy to give breaks(in 10 reviews)

  • "Low pay, poor management communication, barely benefits, the gm was so cheap he would never replace things that were falling apart(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great Company - Awesome Culture - Wonderful Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paradies Lagardère full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture is fantastic, family oriented and very diverse. Opportunities to learn and work with a growing company in a great industry (travel retail and dining). Management cares genuinely cares for its staff and wants everyone to succeed. Great about keeping everyone informed as to what is happening in the IT department as well as the entire organization. Bonuses and Merit Increases if you excel at your job. Love it here.

    Cons

    None that I can think of as I like to work and don't mind the occasional late nights.

    Continue reading
    Paradies Lagardère2019-03-29
  2. "Great Company for Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant General Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paradies Lagardère full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Growth potential is available as long as you're willing to work for it. Family atmosphere, positive minded people to work with and work for.

    Cons

    This company is great, the only "con" I have is that the medical benefits are a little high.

    Continue reading
    Paradies Lagardère2019-07-12
  3. "Family culture in name only"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Paradies Lagardère full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Growing company. Decent pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Tools and systems are outdated. Senior executives do not live the values they preach.

    Continue reading
    Paradies Lagardère2020-02-08
  4. "Has its Highs and Lows"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Associate in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paradies Lagardère full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    allows flexibility in the schedule, the tasks are straight forward, you have the tools you need to do the job

    Cons

    Lack of communication and correspondence, Some Managers improperly training associates, the dilligent workers are over worked, no recognition system,

    Continue reading
    Paradies Lagardère2020-02-17
  5. "Don’t plan on making a lifelong career of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Paradies Lagardère full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - good money opportunity if you bust your butt -possibility of flexible schedule - that’s about it

    Cons

    - the HR we had didn’t really care about anyone or anything until the end of my time there with newer faces. Maybe it has had the chance to change - the way you have to pay your health insurance is by sending a check and hoping it makes it to the person it’s addressed to and it’s cashed. So inefficient - the actual job itself is garbage. They keep hiring literally anyone just to have warm bodies on staff for the job quality is inconsistent, unreliable, and too many call outs causing the work to bleed over on anyone else *ahem* or straight up just not have a chef therefore no food for that day. - if you ask to transfer locations HR will tell you transfers will go through a manager and months later they’ll transfer you back to your original location you tried to leave, then tell you that you never transferred, you were just “helping out”. Never mind the emails, meetings and offer acceptance deadlines made by upper management. That was probably the worst part I experienced. - new management took me from working two locations, giving 50 hours a week to the company to “transferring” me back without my consent, demoting me, changing my schedule and putting me down to only two days a week.. all because of the hire of one new manager. Any promotion or promises made from any of the work I did for a year and a half were null and void from previous management. - they don’t want to see you succeed - they use a terrible point of sales system. It will break down on you all the time. Sometimes for 6 months so it forces the entire staff to use 1 computer. - I could go on, a couple good people/managers but they’re they backbone of the morale for the rest of the subordinates - their break system is almost impossible. Working at the airport you can’t really bring and store your own food vs the options available at the stores, vs hoping your 30 min break can give you time to walk to the place, order, wait for it to be cooked and hope it’s ready in time for you to eat by the time your break is over...is a difficult daily obstacle....if you even get a break.

    Continue reading
    Paradies Lagardère2020-02-01
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant 

    I have been working at Paradies Lagardère full-time

    Pros

    Great environment to work in.

    Cons

    Ups and downs just like any other company

    Paradies Lagardère2020-01-13
  7. "Do not work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Paradies Lagardère part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Met some cool people in the short time we would work together. The location was in Gaylord Palms which was really beautiful and a nice environment.

    Cons

    Low pay, poor management communication, barely benefits, the gm was so cheap he would never replace things that were falling apart. There was a very high turnover new people weekly which says a lot. There was inconsistency, favoritism, unprofessional behavior. Low pay for the job which consists of standing around an empty store which is really boring. There were days of not doing much and very slow and some days there was tons of merchandise you have to put away which took so much time and was often unfinished.

    Paradies Lagardère2020-02-02
  8. "Average company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Paradies Lagardère full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Health Insurance and vacation paid

    Cons

    Minimum pay Schedule change every week

    Paradies Lagardère2020-01-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Family Culture is Gone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Construction Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Paradies Lagardère full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    PL is a small but large company in the airport world. They allow to balance your work and home life plus discounts. Originally, the company was a family company who looked out for their employees.

    Cons

    The family origin is gone. The HR targets people based on the need to eliminate head count based on poor sales. Leadership stopped supporting and standing up for employees. It is all based off sales numbers since the buyout and merger with Lagardere. Additionally, they are not competitive with industry salaries and raises are little.

    Continue reading
    Paradies Lagardère2019-12-10
  10. "Lol."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Paradies Lagardère full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meeting celebrities flying through airport

    Cons

    Working with Management who don't know how to manage.

    Continue reading
    Paradies Lagardère2019-12-15

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 148 reviews