Parkland Health & Hospital System Reviews

Updated May 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
72%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Parkland Health & Hospital System President and Chief Executive Officer Frederick P. Cerise, MD, MPH
Frederick P. Cerise, MD, MPH
163 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good patient ratios, good benefits, great team work(in 18 reviews)

  • "Great place to work, loved to people(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "No one in upper management is in the same page(in 11 reviews)

  • "Schedules, rigid management styles, "points" system for call-ins with no lee-way given for doctors notes or emergencies, poor work-life balance(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "It was a great job till my feet started hurting fro all that walking"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Transporter in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Parkland Health & Hospital System part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The every two week pay was awesome that made all the working worth it

    Cons

    This is a job for someone who loves to walk, It is a lot of walking

    Continue reading
    Parkland Health & Hospital System2020-04-10
  2. "RN"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Parkland Health & Hospital System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, loved to people

    Cons

    Very busy place to work

    Parkland Health & Hospital System2020-04-24
  3. "Work life"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PCT/CNA in Dallas, TX
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Parkland Health & Hospital System full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    every patient is treated equall reagrdless

    Cons

    pay not enough at all

    Parkland Health & Hospital System2020-05-07
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great experience, poor management"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Charge Nurse in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Parkland Health & Hospital System part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You cannot beat the experience you get at Parkland, however with more and more level I trauma facilities emerging in the Dallas area Parkland is no longer getting all the cases they once were. Even with this being the case, Parkland is a phenomenal place to begin your career. I had worked at another facility before joining Parkland and you can't beat the work environment and teamwork here at Parkland. Being a teaching facility I have been able to grow from an oncology nurse to an ICU nurse quickly with the support from my coworkers and doctors. There are also plenty of committees to join to get involved, but be careful you don't get over your head and find yourself working 5 day/week due to committee meetings. Compensation is adequate but you would have to leave and come back to really see any significant pay increase.

    Cons

    Just about every ICU management team has some kind of trouble. Almost all managers don't know how to be leaders and they are young. Although they might have the RN experience of 20+ bedsides years that does not equate to being a good manager/leader. My experience has been rough on my unit. Staff turnover rates are high due to lack of support from managers and floating rates are high. It is a one-way street for managers. They ask ask ask but never give. Our unit currently did interviews with the Director expressing out concerns, yet NOTHING was done regarding the manager. If anything was done it was evident that the management team did not like the comments. And when you think about quitting, don't tell a sole. Retaliation is the worst. Managers will threaten saying you will not be re-hirable, I won't give you a reference, or will be shady and condescending your final 2 weeks. I only stay at this hospital because of the patient population and the coworkers. If I could replace the management team with supportive leaders who want to strengthen their staff then I would have a perfect work environment.

    Continue reading
    Parkland Health & Hospital System2020-04-16
  5. "Excellent job due to wide range of patients"

    3.0
    Former Employee - United States in Dallas, TX
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Parkland Health & Hospital System part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Was able to apply clinical knowledge due to the fact it is a learning institution

    Cons

    Move to New Parkland lost almost all physician/RN interactions, only by phone due to size of hospital

    Parkland Health & Hospital System2020-04-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Badly Managed Pandemic"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Parkland Health & Hospital System full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pension that you can enjoy after several years of miserable work

    Cons

    Parkland's actions to prevent COVID-19 were a full two weeks behind other major hospital systems in DFW. Leadership did not take this pandemic seriously.

    Parkland Health & Hospital System2020-04-14
  7. "Interesting place to work..."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    RN Staff Nurse in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Parkland Health & Hospital System

    Pros

    You get to learn about different patient populations

    Cons

    The pay isn't all that great.

    Parkland Health & Hospital System2020-04-13
  8. "Overall"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Revenue Cycle Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Parkland Health & Hospital System full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great mission, vision and development opportunities.

    Cons

    The culture can be very one sided.

    Continue reading
    Parkland Health & Hospital System2020-04-02
  9. "Job"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 

    I have been working at Parkland Health & Hospital System full-time

    Pros

    pay as okay and good

    Cons

    management at top level is strange

    Parkland Health & Hospital System2020-04-02
  10. "Great place...to start"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - LVN in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Parkland Health & Hospital System full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Recently restructured they pay for LVN changing the base and max

    Cons

    not flexible with school but pushes further education

    Parkland Health & Hospital System2020-03-18
Found 401 reviews