Parkside Lending Reviews | Glassdoor

Parkside Lending Reviews

Updated Mar 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 87 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
30%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Matthew J. Ostrander
55 Ratings
Pros
  • "No place is perfect, but Parkside continues to work towards a healthy work-life balance as well as truly following their core values(in 7 reviews)

  • "They allow you to work remote or at one of their 8 offices located all of the USA(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper Management in general is out of touch with the greater employee base(in 6 reviews)

  • "Little room for growth, promotions rare, come with little to no pay increase(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Parkside Lending full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stellar Management, Great Benefits, Friendly Staff

    Cons

    N/A None come to mind.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Parkside Lending2018-11-19
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Lacking direction, clear focus and loyalty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Parkside Lending full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some co workers were very well respected and industry savvy.

    Cons

    Most of the true leaders and successful partners have moved on.

    Advice to Management

    Honesty and clarity from ownership is mediocre at best. Try to create some tenured employees. The over staffing and layoff model is toxic.

    Parkside Lending2019-03-05
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Was good at first"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Senior Underwriter in Remote, OR
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Parkside Lending full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good salary, great people to work with

      Cons

      Frequent layoffs, spend money on summits not people, system awful

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your employees

      Parkside Lending2019-02-24
    • Helpful (5)

      "Don't Work Here"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Parkside Lending full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      I worked at Parkside for over 7 years. It used to be a really fun company to work for. I actually loved it. Now the only positive thing is surviving the layoffs that happen every few months.

      Cons

      There haven't been raises for 3 years. Employees are actually experiencing a 10% pay cut. There are 3-4 layoffs a year. Severance has been cut so you are lucky if you receive anything. There is absolutely no room for growth. They recently implemented mandatory PTO and they choose which day you have to take off. They can also decide you have to come in if its busy enough for you to work. The financials of the company are...

      Show More
      Parkside Lending2019-03-09
    • Helpful (5)

      "DON’T DO IT"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Parkside Lending full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      You wish there were any

      Cons

      No respect for its employees. Announce someone’s leaving for some but not all. Fire people who have the knowledge but expect other people who don’t have the knowledge to train their replacement. Bad management. Can’t understand how to be open with their employees. Constant lay offs but saying everything is okay after every layoff. These layoffs occur frequently by the way.

      Advice to Management

      You toot the company values yet you don’t even know what they truly are. If you actually do know what they are then your actions are showing the company that you don’t even care about them. Stop letting go of the people who know the job and replacing them for unknowledgable people just so you can save a couple bucks. You’re causing bigger issues that are costly down the road.

      Parkside Lending2019-03-02
    • Helpful (3)

      "Production Operation staff"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Production in San Francisco, CA
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Parkside Lending full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Solid folks in certain departments

        Cons

        Executive management out of touch System / technology needs work With the grassroots employees

        Advice to Management

        Leadership Value employees Folks leave for a reason

        Parkside Lending2019-02-24
      • Helpful (4)

        "Company Is On the Decline...Run!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Production 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Parkside Lending full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Great co-workers Ability to work remotely Vacation and PTO

        Cons

        Don't know where to start. Never really received a raised in the years that I worked there. This company has been on a steady decline for the past 2 years with multiple layoffs. It's like the company is being run by it's sales force - if they like you, you get to stay. If they don't, you get let go. Releasing a new system when it wasn't ready was a huge downfall. The company lost dozens of clients/brokers and employees...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Close your doors. The word is out about Parkside. There's really no coming back from where you are now.

        Parkside Lending2018-12-27
      • Helpful (3)

        "Underwriter IV"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Parkside Lending full-time

        Pros

        Working remote is the best benefit to working with this company.

        Cons

        High turnover rate. Lack of direction and transparency from management. Expensive medical and dental benefits

        Advice to Management

        Improve communication with the employees. Work to provide better benefit packages.

        Parkside Lending2019-01-11
      • "Proud to be a Parksidian"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Vice President Operations 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Parkside Lending full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        The culture of this organization is like no other. Having a family like atmosphere at an organization that is this large is very difficult thing to find. After 14 years of being in existence they have it mastered. The executive staff demonstrates great leadership along with the ability to adapt in any situation.

        Cons

        None that I have encountered

        Parkside Lending2018-11-16
      • "Keep It Up Parkside!! I Appreciate Your Attention To Details!!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Loan Advisor in Concord, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Parkside Lending full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        The people have been extremely attentive to all of my needs and always get me what I need. In the mortgage world you have to move with a sense of urgency and everyone does just that.

        Cons

        The grass is never greener and anything that has come up has been dealt with efficiently and without extra follow up.

        Advice to Management

        Keep empowering your team to do what is right for the customer at every moment. It is easy to make decisions if we think about what is best for our customers which include our employees.

        Parkside Lending2018-11-10
      Found 87 reviews