Parx Casino "full time" Reviews | Glassdoor

Parx Casino Employee Reviews about "full time"

Updated May 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 87 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Anthony Ricci
44 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "They eventually took away many of my shifts so that I would not get full-time hours and they wouldn't have to give me benefits(in 6 reviews)

  • "suggestions aren't considered much by upper management(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "full time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Just a cog"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Poker Dealer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Parx Casino part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There were always many games running and it was relatively easy to make consistent cash.

    Cons

    They eventually took away many of my shifts so that I would not get full-time hours and they wouldn't have to give me benefits. The high-limit players treated us like garbage, and we simply had to deal with it.

    Parx Casino2019-03-27
  2. "Parkette"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Parx Casino

      Pros

      Tips. Regular customers. Has good ventilation so its not that smoky compared to other casinos.

      Cons

      Dont think about getting benefits if your new. It’s basically impossible to get full time as a parkette.

      Advice to Management

      Try to consider on hiring more full time parkettes. Dont be stingy with benefits, some of us actually need it. What kind of system is having a “list” to become full time. Extremely unprofessional.

      Parx Casino2019-01-06
    • "Poker Dealer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Poker Dealer in Bensalem, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Parx Casino part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The money is there with base wage and tips. The 8 hour shift flies by with atlas one to two 30-minute breaks paid for. Can become full-time if work there for more than 6 months and ask management about open positions.

      Cons

      The customers/patrons can get annoying to deal with but the money is worth it. Some overnight hours can get old but it's not bad at all.

      Parx Casino2018-03-13
    • Helpful (2)

      "Difficult job but living wage if fulltime"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Parx Casino full-time

        Pros

        Although tips vary day to day, they generate a living wage salary if you're a full time employee. Easy access from I-95 and pa turnpike.

        Cons

        Difficult to achieve fulltime status. Any promotion or departmental move requires a transfer to night shift-which is no trouble for some folks but can present problems for others. Difficult to take time off as a dealer (vacation and sick time are paid at base rate, so $35-$45/day is not an option for many dealers. We simply can't afford the loss of pay). Gamblers are often angry and cruel-understandable, because most...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Please be more supportive of employees' efforts. Please be more open and fair in evaluations.

        Parx Casino2015-09-09
      • "Such a great experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous in Bensalem, PA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Parx Casino part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        I love my job. Great co-workers in every department. It's such a great feeling to walk down the hall and comfortably say Hello to everyone. I've made many friends working at Parx and continue to do so each day. The employee cafeteria is beautiful. The pay is fabulous. Fun company wide events and contests with awesome prizes.

        Cons

        My main dislike of working @ Parx is the fact that we have to work every holiday. I am part-time and work a few days a week but they will always schedule us on holidays. I would love to spend time with my family on an upcoming Chrostmas, Thanksgiving or Easter soon. It almost breaks my heart. Parx gives scholarship money to full-time employees. I am a part time employee but...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Maybe get to know the employees more... Possibly offer some type of scholarship money to Part-time employees as well.

        Parx Casino2014-04-29
      • Helpful (3)

        "This is the most stressful, tiring job I have ever had."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Table Dealer in Bensalem, PA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Parx Casino part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good money. Nice employee lunchroom. Awesome co-workers. If you need extra money, it is a good 2nd job. Very diverse people.

        Cons

        Full of nepotism. You rarely get promoted if you are a dealer. Most dealers are PT and are treated like trash. No benefits unless you are full-time, even if you are a part-time employee who works 40 hours. Management eats for free, dealers must pay for food, which is pricey. Base pay is 4.25, so if people do not tip, expect to have a lousy paycheck. Most people who work here...

        Show More
        Parx Casino2014-02-12
      • Helpful (2)

        "made a lot of friends, but upper management doesn't care about the employees at all and it isn't just my opinion."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Table Games Dealer in Bensalem, PA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Parx Casino full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        tips were good, a lot of good people work there, it's a fun environment, dealers stuck together.

        Cons

        no respect for employees, hired employees at part time status but scheduled full time hrs so they didn't have to pay health insurance

        Advice to Management

        start caring about your employees. There were good people employeed for you, VERY good people that you just let go without any warning. You hire people for part time, have them work full time hours so you don't have to pay medical benefits. Sure it may be a good casino to put money in your pockets, and the employees but no one sees what it's like behind the surface. This company is the worst I have EVER worked for.

        Parx Casino2014-01-26
      • Helpful (2)

        "No consistency in management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Table Dealer in Bensalem, PA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Parx Casino full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Full time, benefits, co workers, parking,

        Cons

        No consistency with rules with management, all chiefs no Indians, management never speaks to most of us, too many rules, selective promotions

        Advice to Management

        Smile, be friendly, say hello, and make one rule for the casino instead of everyone having their own.

        Parx Casino2013-12-24
      • "Fine company, but stuck at part time."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Parx Casino

        Pros

        Parx has a lot of great co-workers and supervisors.

        Cons

        They rarely give full time, and its done bureaucratic rather than logical or even seniority.

        Parx Casino2013-11-19
      Found 87 reviews