Patagonia Reviews

Updated May 3, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
86%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Patagonia President and CEO Rose Marcario
Rose Marcario
154 Ratings
Pros
  • "easy going, decent pay, great benefits(in 26 reviews)

  • "great company with a great cause(in 23 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low pay for the amount of work and hours that are expected of you(in 14 reviews)

  • "long hours on your feet, poverty level salary(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company in every way

      May 2, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in Santa Cruz, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good for the community, good for the environment, good people

      Cons

      I don't have any cons

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Did not live up to expectations

      Apr 28, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Ventura, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's Patagonia, their mission is clear. They build amazing products and do right by our environment.

      Cons

      A bit of smoke and mirrors while going through the lengthy interview process. Once hired it was clear there were folks that were unhappy. My role didn't end up matching the job description or what was told to me while interviewing. I didn't feel very welcomed and could tell that they had a deep rooted culture that I'm sure after many years I may have felt like a part of. It was isolating and the hierarchy's amongst managers and people that have been there a long time is very apparent and got a lot "that's not how we do it here" even though it may be wrong. Super disappointing as I couldn't make it more than a year. No clear career path and ideas and motivation were stifled.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good benefits, cliquey, top-down and rigid culture

      Apr 30, 2021 - Information Technology 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Team is mostly a hipper/younger set. If you don't drink and/or live in Ventura you'll likely miss out on a lot. 9/80 schedule is great (longer days often not enforced), the café is a huge benefit and on site child care is available. Company projects/signals good values, often comes up short living up to them.

      Cons

      Don't expect to change anything unless you're pretty far up the ladder. Standard corporate/rigid way of working despite the relaxed attitude. Your experience will be dictated in large part by your manager and you'll have little option for change as teams are small and turnover is low. Culture is more insular, top down and toxic than relaxed and engaging. Don't expect to learn much or grow, just do what you're told. There's little to no opportunity to move up and you'll likely have to leave in order to do so, with the benefit of having the brand on your resumé.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      This is a company that cares.

      Apr 8, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay Managers understand you are human and want you to learn and grow with the company Amazing opportunities to do environmental internships (yes you get paid to do this) Snacks in the lounge room all year (Trader Joe’s) Fun and thorough training - we spent a week training and shadowing as well as attending clothing workshops to learn more about the product The company makes sure you feel like family. One of the biggest things I respect about Patagonia is they will not force you to be put in a position that makes you feel uncomfortable. If a customer makes you unsafe or is giving you a hard time they will excuse you and have someone else who can handle it. So even though they prioritize their customers they never allow customers to take advantage of their employees. Community and health is more important than a sale. I miss working here!

      Cons

      I literally have no cons. You’re going to love working here.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      if you're going to work retail, this is the place

      Apr 30, 2021 - Sales Assistant in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great coworkers, nice perks, knowing you're working for a company that values environmental protection

      Cons

      the break room was very small

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company culture and people. Slow professional growth and pay.

      Apr 13, 2021 - Customer Experience Representative in Reno, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people and overall company culture are incredible. Leaders put a great deal of trust in employees. The entire company is decentralized- I appreciated this. We were not micromanaged, which made this sort of work so much better to do.

      Cons

      You have to find peace in the fact your work and pay will grow very slowly

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company

      Apr 21, 2021 - Management 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really great benefits and a very caring work environment

      Cons

      There is SO much going on within the company it can be hard to keep up!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company

      Apr 27, 2021 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Walks the walk and is a company to be proud of.

      Cons

      None. Company team works well together.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Overall Great Place

      May 3, 2021 - Illustration Production Manager in Ventura, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Activist company, cares about climate crisis, offers stellar health benefits, fun envrionment.

      Cons

      pay could be better and more competitive, it's hard to be promoted or get pay increases.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Pretty rad

      Apr 22, 2021 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Community, benefits, rad people, they genuinely care

      Cons

      barely any upward mobility especially if your not in corporate.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 307 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Patagonia Job Seekers

    Sales Associate
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Customer Insights Senior Analyst
    Learn About the Job
    Material Development Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Patagonia? Share Your Experiences

    Patagonia logo
    or