Patelco Credit Union Reviews | Glassdoor

Patelco Credit Union Reviews

Updated Aug 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 100 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Erin Mendez
57 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Focused on Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Patelco Credit Union full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, moving the culture in the right direction, and great leaders that recognize talent are just some of the great reasons to work here.

    Cons

    Getting better at reducing projects and focused on priorities that bring value to our members.

    Advice to Management

    Continue the work with development and engagement.

    Patelco Credit Union2019-03-07

    Patelco Credit Union Response

    March 11, 2019Communications Specialist

    Thank you for your review! Change is constant at Patelco and we are committed to a culture that focuses on people first. And thank you for your advice to management - we will share and continue to work on this.

  2. Helpful (2)

    "A mission-oriented, legitimate 'do-good' place with fantastic people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Portfolio Manager in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Patelco Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The organization is growing, evolving, and genuinely doing good for humanity while being fiscally responsible to continue doing good for the long-run. Overall a fantastic place to work with a meaningful mission and real people. I highly recommend this place to work!

    Cons

    As with any growing organization, there is way too much to do with too little resources and conflicting priorities. Some would call this 'growing pains.' Totally manageable, if you're up for the challenge.

    Advice to Management

    Consider relaxing the dress code (as Goldman Sachs just did). Otherwise, keep up the great work and keeping it real!

    Patelco Credit Union2019-03-12

    Patelco Credit Union Response

    March 25, 2019Communications Specialist

    Thank you for being a part of the Patelco team. As a credit union, we do pride ourselves on being fiscally responsible with our member's money and sometimes that means that we have to be resourceful and innovative in our resources and approach. Thank you for understanding!

  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Member Service Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Patelco Credit Union part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great benefits even for part timer's decent pay, student tuition help, loan discounts

    Cons

    management can be hit/miss. scheduling time off can be hard.

    Advice to Management

    empower and reward your star performers.

    Patelco Credit Union2019-08-02
  4. "Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teller in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Patelco Credit Union part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Checking out Benefits with company

    Cons

    Don't like working weekends unless compensating day off.

    Patelco Credit Union2019-05-29
  5. Helpful (2)

    "lacks quality in HR and Management Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Patelco Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    - Benefits - Vacation time - People

    Cons

    Management No Personal Development Horrible HR Business Partner

    Advice to Management

    Recruit right people. Horrible hiring process, please fix the process.

    Patelco Credit Union2019-05-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "closer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Loan Closer in Pleasanton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Patelco Credit Union full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    system is friendly and easy to use

    Cons

    not easy to work with the process manager that is so noisy everyday

    Advice to Management

    managers must be fair to everybody

    Patelco Credit Union2019-04-18
  7. "Ethical company to work for, but very hard to get promoted."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Member Solutions Specialist 

    I have been working at Patelco Credit Union full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They strongly live up to their mission of putting the needs of members first. They have great benefits for team members.

    Cons

    Very challenging to advance yourself within the company. Very little opportunity to gain new skills.

    Patelco Credit Union2019-03-23

    Patelco Credit Union Response

    March 25, 2019Communications Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your experience at Patelco and thank you for your service. We are continuing to enhance our learning and development options, most recently adding LinkedIn Learning to our program, which we hope you'll take some time to explore. There are some resources on our ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (4)

    "CEO & CFO are heartless and cruel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Patelco Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Good 401K, average wages, some nice co-workers

    Cons

    Want to get laid off? Work here. No caring about the employees, its all about personal gain for the executive leaders, especially the ego's of the CEO/CFO. Quick to layoff employees, consolidate to small desks, limit resources, and watch over your shoulder

    Advice to Management

    Start showing heart, stop being rude, there is a 3rd floor, although the leadership team can't find it (with rare exception). Don't pretend you like the employee's, we can see through that

    Patelco Credit Union2019-01-08
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Good company to work and bank with but good luck getting promoted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Solutions Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Patelco Credit Union part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great employees relationships Outstanding customer service Amazing products Employee ongoing training CEO has great vision

    Cons

    They rarely promote from within Pay is below average They expect too many job responsibilities from staff without compensation

    Advice to Management

    I suggest separating the job responsibilities more instead of requiring tellers (MSRs) to also do loans (without pay increase), and MSS to do teller, accounts, notary, consumer loans, and mortgage loan origination without significantly more pay.

    Patelco Credit Union2018-11-14

    Patelco Credit Union Response

    November 21, 2018Communications Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Patelco. We do pride ourselves on the service and products we can provide to our members. We are proud to share that we have promoted more than 150 team members internally this year and offer robust training so that our team ...

    Show More
  10. "patelco"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Patelco Credit Union part-time

    Pros

    401k. position movement. health benefits.

    Cons

    policy changes often. unnecessary excessive compliance tests.

    Patelco Credit Union2018-08-14

    Patelco Credit Union Response

    August 21, 2018Internal Communications Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We appreciate your contributions to our valued team and members.

Found 100 reviews