Patreon Reviews | Glassdoor

Patreon Reviews

Updated Jul 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

4.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Patreon CEO Jack Conte
Jack Conte
9 Ratings
  1. "Rewarding to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Director, Digital Marketing in Tallahassee, FL

    I have been working at Patreon for more than 5 years

    Pros

    + Flexible Hours + Work from home

    Cons

    Steadily increasing the customer base can be taxing for everyone at times.

    Patreon2019-01-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Mission Focused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Happiness in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Patreon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Incredibly mission driven, compassionate, and caring work environment. Some of the most dedicated and kind people I've had the pleasure to work with. Their benefits are competitive of other startups.

    Cons

    Structural and organizational issues. Their exec team needs some work. Despite pretty good diversity within the company, many women and POC do not get promoted as often as their white male counterparts.

    Patreon2019-07-26
  3. Helpful (14)

    "Amazing mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Patreon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The mission is absolutely amazing for anyone interested in creative pursuits. There are very few tech companies at which you can feel like you're actually doing good and you consistently hear anecdotes about how what you've built allowed someone to follow their dreams and pursue their passion. Not to mention everyone in the company feels strongly about the mission. A few times that Patreon let down creators, the entire...

    Show More

    Cons

    Many of the executives at Patreon are extremely inexperienced and it shows. For years, Patreon's product vision has been an ambiguous and vague mission statement with no real plan of attack. This lead to a reactive culture; we were never moving in the same direction and didn't know how to prioritize unless there was an emergency. Now there is direction, but personally I don't think it's the right one. Furthermore,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you are not operating at a level that moves us forward and quickly, step down and allow someone else who can step in. At this stage of the game, the team needs opinionated and experienced leadership, not just inspirational pep talks.

    Patreon2018-12-13
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Unbelievable personal growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Patreon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will, find yourself, your ambitions, and begin to create a life for yourself that wakes you up motivated like never before.

    Cons

    You definitely have to push yourself In stressful and testing situations. Bit the outcome is worth it.

    Patreon2018-06-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Super strong mission driven culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer, IOS in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Patreon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Patreon has very unique culture, and everyone is really proud of it. The strong empathy for creators is always the first. We care deeply about maintaining the culture, inclusion and diversity as the company grows very quickly. Because of that the strong mission, a lot of smart people who believes in it joins actively, even though we are still pretty unknown startup company.

    Cons

    There are so many problems to solve because we are one of the pioneers of the industry. Sometimes we are overwhelmed by them and having hard time deciding which is more important and which direction we should head towards.

    Patreon2018-06-11
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Mission I Care About, Working Towards Achieving It With Awesome People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Patreon full-time

    Pros

    - ownership over role - candor, but kindness, across the org - inclusivity

    Cons

    - long hours, but worth it - we're a startup, processes are still in the midst of being built out

    Patreon2018-04-20
  7. Helpful (3)

    "The Real Deal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Patreon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Patreon is incredibly mission-driven and creator first. My colleagues are not only the smartest and most effective group of people I've ever worked with, but they're also the kindest. I'm not a manager, but people at every level of the company (including executives) have welcomed me into conversations, reached out to me directly about how they can help, and continue to reach out to support my professional development....

    Show More

    Cons

    There are some very ambitious goals - the pressure to meet outcomes is high, and sometimes expectations feel unrealistic or unsustainable to accomplish.

    Advice to Management

    Stay focused on D&I and the amazing culture that Patreon has. Try to ensure that high expectations are not burning people out.

    Patreon2018-04-08
  8. Helpful (3)

    "The role is very multi-dimensional, and I feel like I'm learning something new every day!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Patreon full-time

    Pros

    Patreon has a great culture that really cares about the development of its employees.

    Cons

    Part of the pros is that there are no formal processes in place, so there are a lot of opportunities to grow the team and take ownership of your own projects.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Patreon2018-03-06
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Emotional intelligence, respect, strong principles, inclusive values - and great spirits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Patreon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - People grow fast here and get to take on responsibility if they're willing to step in - Great empathy for people from all walks of life, backgrounds, personality types, ages, genders, geographies - a very inclusive culture at its core - People have each other's back and truly care. In difficult moments people pitch in, support each other, and work together - not true of other companies I've been at - Fair salary...

    Show More

    Cons

    - At a fast growing startup, growing pains are always a thing. It's what I came for, though - Candor is a core behavior and I've benefited greatly from it, but it hasn't fully permeated the entire org just yet - We work on hard problems, with fewer resources than you'd normally see - not really a con, more a rapidly scaling company - I came for that

    Advice to Management

    Keep the openness and humility you've shown so far. Pay special attention to culture - as we bring on many new people.

    Patreon2017-12-13
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Best People, Best Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Patreon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are amazing, brilliant and mission driven. We all care deeply about what we're building.

    Cons

    Typical start up cons: a lot of work, late hours, but overall a really positive and balanced work load.

    Advice to Management

    Our culture of recognition could be improved.

    Patreon2017-01-12
Found 17 reviews