Patterson Companies Reviews

Updated May 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
56%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Patterson Companies President and CEO Mark Walchirk
Mark Walchirk
25 Ratings
Pros
  • "Depending on management but there is often flexibility and good work/life balance(in 12 reviews)

  • "The branch inside team are made up of great people(in 9 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Proud to work here!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Mendota Heights, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Patterson Companies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a company that walks their talk and truly cares about people. I have been nothing but impressed, especially during the current pandemic, with the efforts Patterson has taken to keep it's employees safe and secure (financially and otherwise)! Not often will you see executive leadership directly address employees concerns or stand side by side with front line employees as we face a crisis like the present. Moreover, the company also takes care of its customers. Never before have worked for a company that prides itself so much on its trust, integrity, and relationship with its customers.

    Cons

    As Patterson is always advancing, there are still a number of processes and tools and resources that we rely on everyday that could be improved, but what is important is that the company knows where these opportunities are and is investing in improvements in the future.

    Continue reading
    Patterson Companies2020-05-18

    Patterson Companies Response

    May 20, 2020Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write!

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Incredible Executive Leadership Team"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Mendota Heights, Dakota, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Patterson Companies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Executive Leadership Team is the most genuine, transparent, and people-first that I've ever experienced at a company. They've handled the COVID crisis phenomenally and, in part, because of the trust and good decisions that were made before the crisis ever began. This has been a true test of leadership and they have shined throughout. Patterson is in great hands with this team.

    Cons

    There are still growing pains like operational efficiencies, processes, procedures, documentation that are lacking in some areas but for the most part are known and being worked on.

    Continue reading
    Patterson Companies2020-04-19

    Patterson Companies Response

    April 23, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience.

  3. "Strong Company - Keep It Up!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Individual Contributor At Corporate Office in Mendota Heights, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Patterson Companies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong communication from executive leadership Executives are approachable and friendly Employees are passionate about their work Flexible work environment - remote work widely accepted TakeFIVE Committee brings fun to the work day and Executive Team widely participates Company recently launched a Green initiative in an effort to reduce waste. 3 weeks of PTO when you start Great dental benefits including orthodontic for adults

    Cons

    Poor leadership in some areas More investment in training/career development needed

    Continue reading
    Patterson Companies2020-03-26

    Patterson Companies Response

    March 27, 2020Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. So glad you are happy at Patterson!

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not a Long Term Career"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Service Desk Specialist in Effingham, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Patterson Companies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *The People *Independence/Autonomy *Able to Voice Your Opinion

    Cons

    *Low Pay *No Room for Growth *Micromanagement/Poor Management

    Patterson Companies2020-03-17

    Patterson Companies Response

    March 19, 2020Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

  5. "Avoid Patterson Like The Plague!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Saint Paul, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Patterson Companies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    On-site cafeteria with nice personnel (who don't work for the company).

    Cons

    Complete lack of: -- Leadership -- Accountability -- Quality -- Ownership -- Control -- Communication -- Discipline -- Decorum -- Progress -- Advancement -- Management -- Follow-through -- Interest in Improvement -- Reward for Hardwork etc. Simply completing items -- to get it off one's desk -- is a much higher priority versus obtaining any sense of quality. Sad.

    Continue reading
    Patterson Companies2020-04-02

    Patterson Companies Response

    April 6, 2020Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’d love to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email us at talentacquisition@pattersoncompanies.com.

  6. "Patterson companies then and now"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Sourcing Specialist in Eagan, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Patterson Companies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good benefits, descent wages, flex schedule

    Cons

    Lack of leadership, unknown future

    Continue reading
    Patterson Companies2020-02-08

    Patterson Companies Response

    March 3, 2020Recruiter

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write. We appreciate the feedback.

  7. "Giant company, for better or worse"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Art Director in Vancouver, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Patterson Companies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Huge company is pretty stable

    Cons

    Huge Company. A common statement when our company was acquired was "The company is so large it's like a giant ship, it takes forever to turn, but once it does it can't be stopped!" Another way of looking at that is "Not Nimble"... a very troubling way of looking at it.

    Continue reading
    Patterson Companies2020-02-04

    Patterson Companies Response

    March 3, 2020Recruiter

    Thank you for your review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

  8. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology Trainer in Effingham, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Patterson Companies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Pay Great Benefits Great People

    Cons

    No cons to mention at all.

    Continue reading
    Patterson Companies2019-12-08

    Patterson Companies Response

    March 3, 2020Recruiter

    Thank you for the great review! We are so pleased you are happy here!

  9. "Not For Everyone"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support Specialist in Effingham, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Patterson Companies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Insurance, PTO, Good employees has it's own cafe for lunch

    Cons

    401k not a matching one, Micromanagement, Low Compensation

    Continue reading
    Patterson Companies2019-10-14
  10. "Love the job and people I work with"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology Advisor II in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Patterson Companies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Best people I have ever worked with!

    Cons

    No advancement path within the position - only if you decide to then move into sales.

    Continue reading
    Patterson Companies2019-08-13
Found 154 reviews