Patterson Dental Reviews | Glassdoor

Patterson Dental Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 205 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Mark Walchirk
18 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Have asked for better raises in the past only to have the branch manager tell me he's happy with what he makes why aren't I happy with mine(in 14 reviews)

  • "Newer sales reps tend to get less desirable territories(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Patterson Dental full-time

    Pros

    No micromanagement-great leadership, quality of life focus, measurable steps taken to improve service levels

    Cons

    none-just have to work hard and do your thing

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Patterson Dental2018-09-06
  2. "Lots of opportunity to grow your income"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Patterson Dental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    autonomy, income opportunity, work/life balance

    Cons

    scratch-territory required to build from ground-up

    Patterson Dental2019-07-19
  3. "Great Company!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Patterson Dental full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    cares for employees, cares for the customer, passionate about customer service and high ethical standards. Family atmosphere where people care for each other. Engaged in social causes that help those in need. Regularly polls employees to gauge organizational health and uses those results to continue to improve.

    Cons

    Some of the benefits aren't on par with other industries, but that is changing with new leadership

    Patterson Dental2019-07-12
  4. "So so place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Coordinator 

    I worked at Patterson Dental full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Enjoying working with my team . Benefits were great

    Cons

    Needed better pay Works hours were not negotiable

    Patterson Dental2019-06-25
  5. "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AR Supervisor in Eagan, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Patterson Dental full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Casual, fun work environment

    Cons

    we’ve made amazing progress in the last three years

    Patterson Dental2019-06-13
  6. "Good company with a long history in the Dental market."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Technician II 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Patterson Dental full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work with a great group of other technicians. Team atmosphere. They invest in their employees. Training, tools, etc... Decent benefits. Stock purchase program and bonuses.

    Cons

    No match on 401k. Medical benefits can get costly depending on options you choose. There has been some turnover management/sales wise but it has seemed to settle down. Maybe? I guess we will see. Some positions can get you locked in and will keep you from advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Keep us a little more informed on whats going on...

    Patterson Dental2019-04-30
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great job but local management is horrid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Service Technician in Portland, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Patterson Dental full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Job freedom, no two days are the same.

    Cons

    No training, constantly set up for failure, preach about team but there really isn’t one. Never given kudos for a good job or going above and beyond. Good thing we get it from our docs.

    Advice to Management

    Get a clue, local talent is leaving in droves to the big leagues

    Patterson Dental2019-05-03
  8. "Interesting Work - No Room For Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Designer in Mendota Heights, MN

    I have been working at Patterson Dental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun work, open work environment, flexible schedule

    Cons

    Poor management, slow to changes, lacking in design growth.

    Patterson Dental2019-05-03
  9. "All good things must come to and end"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Technician III in Saint Paul, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Patterson Dental full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great health benefits, but getting too expensive. If you are a technician, work here a couple of years , work hard and get the training and then the competitor will seek you out and give you a 30 percent or more raise, better working conditions and more respect. They are dental tech boot camp.

    Cons

    I am a near 20 employee that has chosen to move on. Patterson is great at lipservice but horrible at execution, at least when it comes to service. Sales has far too much influence and service revenue is largely ignored. Unless of course a service tech is needed to save a sale. Techs in reality are largely viewed as a necessary evil. Not my words, the words of our last branch manager. He told us in a meeting we were...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Sales sells the first one, service sells the rest. Hold sales accountable, value your techs, leverage your expertise and soon you will see 50 bucks a share with frequent splits again. Uncle Pete is spinning in his grave.

    Patterson Dental2019-05-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Varies by Branch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CAD/CAM Specialist in Kansas City, MO

    I worked at Patterson Dental full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Team members at my local branch and customers were great.

    Cons

    Company is in a free fall and might have hit bottom, still not sure. Each branch will vary when it comes to culture so get to know your team before you sign on.

    Patterson Dental2019-03-12
Found 205 reviews