Cover image for Patterson-UTI Drilling
Logo

Patterson-UTI Drilling

Is this your company?

Patterson-UTI Drilling

Add a Review

Patterson-UTI Drilling Employee Reviews about "rigs"

Updated Oct 18, 2019

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 259 of over 259 reviews
4.2
90% Recommend to a Friend
84% Approve of CEO

Found 3 of over 259 reviews

4.2
90%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Patterson-UTI Drilling CEO Andy Hendricks (no image)
Andy Hendricks
117 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Pay is good(in 32 reviews)
  • "The pay and the time off.(in 13 reviews)
  • "Good company good benefits they try to keep you working(in 12 reviews)
  • "Great people to work with and to be around.(in 7 reviews)
  • "Decent money.(in 6 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Patterson-UTI Drilling and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "rigs"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Floorhand

    Aug 20, 2018 - Floorhand in Midland, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good company process went pretty good

    Cons

    They move you a lot from rigs if you are a rig worm

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Laid off

    Oct 14, 2019 - Driller in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Non to speak of overall

    Cons

    Hard to keep rigs out

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Patterson-UTI Drilling team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Ugh

    Oct 18, 2019 - Derrickhand in Victoria, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are no pros with These people

    Cons

    Stacking rigs out and laying off

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Give back what you've taken

    Oct 3, 2018 - Derrickhand 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The schedule is why I work here

    Cons

    Where do I begin? Been with the company going on 5 years. Currently a derrickhand. Worked before the downturn, then the company started taking things from us. First it was money per hour, then per diem, then bonuses. Made more money as a first year floorhand than I do now 5 years later as a derrickhand. This company claims to care about their employees on the rigs, but that couldn't be further from the truth. Now that things are booming again, they refuse to give us back ANYTHING they took from us before the downturn. Morale on the rigs is at rock bottom. People are just here for a paycheck now. They can't hire enough guys, because they're losing too many people due to frustrated workers. If you truly care about your employees, then give back the things you've taken from us. My God, we can only get one type of coveralls on the website now, which are heavy material and cause you to overheat in the summer. They think we're dumb. We know how many millions you're saving now because of the corporate tax reduction, but you still refuse to give anything back to us. Instead, the company uses that money to purchase stock buybacks to make their shareholders happy. They don't give a damn about the guys on the rigs at all. All they care about is working us to death to make them money. They seem to forget they make that money because of the guys working the rigs, yet we get treated the worst. Here's a hint, if you wanna keep guys happy and stop losing so many people, give us back what you've taken from us, because right now, guys are just going through the motions and don't care at all about doing a good job.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Floorhand

    Sep 10, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Day off and the pay

    Cons

    Lazy hands on some rigs

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    good

    Oct 16, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    employment, money, time off work

    Cons

    a lot of racism at the rigs

    1 person found this review helpful

    Patterson-UTI Drilling Response

    Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback and for your time spent working for Patterson-UTI Drilling. We are committed to providing a safe, welcoming and respectful work environment that is consistent with our core values. We have instituted strong policies, training programs and recruiting initiatives to improve workforce diversity and inclusion and have reinforced our commitment to equal opportunity and respectful treatment for all employees. We would love to hear any and all ideas on how we can improve our hiring and management of employees. Please contact us at recruiting@patenergy.com with "Glassdoor" in the subject line. We look forward to hearing from you!

  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    driller

    Jul 2, 2015 - Driller in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    competitive wage and benefits

    Cons

    switch rigs constantly,inexperienced supervisors,inexperienced employees

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Patterson-UTI Drilling Response

    Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for the feedback! Working at Patterson-UTI Drilling does include competitive pay and benefits, and for high performing employees offers excellent career opportunities. We are always looking to improve our operations, and would truly value any insight you have into creating a better employee environment that addresses your concerns around rig assignments and inexperienced employees as well as improving our training program. Please contact us at recruiting@patenergy.com

  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great while it lasts

    Apr 7, 2015 - Driller in Midland, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits and opportunity for advancement. Continuous training. Good pay. When the price of oil is up, this is hands down the best drilling company I've worked for. I advanced from worm to drill in a little over a year.

    Cons

    Training can feel repetitive after you've been there a while. I didn't want to leave them but we had an unresolvable scheduling issue during a downturn. Work is unreliable during a downturn, as their rigs are some of the first to stack, causing inflexibility for employees.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Patterson-UTI Drilling Response

    Corporate Recruiter

    That is excellent and detailed feedback - thank you! Our company is working every day to become the best drilling contractor in the business, while of course keeping our employee's safety our #1 priority. The opportunities for safe, hardworking, and high performing employees are endless, and it sounds like you advanced up the career track quickly! The market downturn caused many drilling contractors to make very difficult and tough business decisions. Unfortunately with the sharp drop in demand for our drilling rigs our available work schedules became much more limited. We would love to hear more of your feedback on ways to improve our scheduling and anything else we can do to improve any aspect of our business. Please contact us at recruiting@patenergy.com

Viewing 1 - 3 of 3 English Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Patterson-UTI Drilling Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Patterson-UTI Drilling? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Patterson-UTI Drilling Photos

+ Add Photo
Patterson-UTI Drilling photo of: Drilling Rig
Patterson-UTI Drilling photo of: Driller
Patterson-UTI Drilling photo of: APEX Walking Rig
Patterson-UTI Drilling photo of: Career Fair Booth
Patterson-UTI Drilling photo of: Recruiting Career Fair
Patterson-UTI Drilling photo of: Patterson-UTI Drilling Company LLC
Patterson-UTI Drilling photo of: 145 feet up
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Patterson-UTI Energy, Inc.Universal Well Services Inc

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Patterson-UTI Drilling Job Seekers Also Viewed

Patterson-UTI Energy Logo
Patterson-UTI Energy

3.1

72 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 259 Patterson-UTI Drilling reviews submitted anonymously by Patterson-UTI Drilling employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Patterson-UTI Drilling is right for you.