Paul Hastings Reviews | Glassdoor

Paul Hastings Reviews

Updated Jul 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 149 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Paul Hastings CEO Seth M. Zachary
Seth M. Zachary
58 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work great people great office(in 10 reviews)

  • "great workshops for interns, some limited exposure to the law firm(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "It's a big firm - you will work long hours(in 10 reviews)

  • "It is not so different from other law firms(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Firm and People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Client Service Specialist in Los Angeles, CA

      I worked at Paul Hastings full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Most of the staff and attorneys are great people. Excellent PTO (4 weeks right off the bat). Pay is good.

      Cons

      Takes several years to move up to the next level of PTO. Health benefit options aren't that great.

      Advice to Management

      Better health benefit options.

      Paul Hastings2019-07-03
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Associate in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Paul Hastings full-time

      Pros

      well managed firm and a great pool of client basis

      Cons

      long hours and can be stressful, but just like every other law firm

      Paul Hastings2019-06-28
    • "Good place, but intense"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Paul Hastings full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good events and perqs, management is accessible

      Cons

      Big law hours, some upper-levels are pretty inconsiderate

      Paul Hastings2019-06-19
    • "Good place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern - Hourly 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Paul Hastings full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Nice office/amenities, easy enough to take days off, taught me a lot

      Cons

      Got yelled at once by my supervising paralegal for frickin nothing and it was v upsetting.

      Paul Hastings2019-06-06
    • "Interesting work, varied workload"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Paul Hastings full-time

        Pros

        Interesting deals and high profile work

        Cons

        Strong personalities - some partners can be very demanding

        Paul Hastings2019-06-11
      • "Excellent management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

        I have been working at Paul Hastings full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        They give me a chance to improve my skills

        Cons

        I have been working here for past three and not a single day goes when I do not feel good about this group. The skilled management gives you every chance to grow, explore and learn. Saturdays are for brainstorming sessions and thoroughly enjoyed by every single worker. I am having a great time working for this company.

        Advice to Management

        Nothing

        Paul Hastings2019-05-27
      • "Summer Intern"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Summer Intern 

          I have been working at Paul Hastings full-time

          Pros

          Great position to learn and grow, fostered a deep interest in attorney recruiting.

          Cons

          No possibility for advancement.

          Paul Hastings2019-04-15
        • Helpful (5)

          "RUN FOR THE HILLS!"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Paul Hastings full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          I unfortunately have nothing positive to say.

          Cons

          Being an employee at Paul Hastings was the single worst experience of my career. While they may be a global leading law firm, the way in which their corporate and staffed employees were managed was quite inefficient and did not foster growth. Having worked in their HR department, one would think they would take care to help create a happy and healthy work environment considering they are a cutting edge law firm. My...

          Show More
          Paul Hastings2019-05-14
        • Helpful (1)

          "Awesome team members / coworkers. Management in Transition"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - IT Department in Los Angeles, CA
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Paul Hastings full-time

          Pros

          Strict hiring requirements results in a high performance team environment. Everyone is smart, capable, and driven.

          Cons

          Lack of top level leadership leads to stagnant focus on unrealistic goals and metrics. No clear leadership direction on managing individual team members.

          Advice to Management

          Develop your internal resources professionally. Set clear goals and metrics. Once achieved, reward your people adequately. Acquire top level leadership with technology experience and vision, to provide clear technology direction.

          Paul Hastings2019-04-23
        • "Process"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I have been working at Paul Hastings full-time

            Pros

            I feel valued Supervisors feel like mentors

            Cons

            I have no con to offer at this times

            Paul Hastings2019-03-21
          Found 149 reviews