Paul Mitchell Reviews | Glassdoor

Paul Mitchell Reviews

Updated May 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
J. P. DeJoria
37 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "A little hard to create friendships with learning leaders, training are those rainbow-sunshine-we-are-all-dreamers kind of training, drama(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Paul Mitchell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Set hours with advance training

    Cons

    none that I know of

    Advice to Management

    get input from teachers and staff monthly

    Paul Mitchell2019-05-23
  2. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Paul Mitchell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work for. They care for their employees and students.

    Cons

    Pay is okay but was there because I believed in making a difference in helping out those who wanted to work in the industry of esthetics and cosmetology.

    Paul Mitchell2019-04-26
  3. "Admissions Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Paul Mitchell full-time

    Pros

    The staff were nice. Kinda “fake nice” for some.

    Cons

    For a creative school, you surprisingly are not allowed to be creative. You have to stick to the strategy. No coloring outside of the lines! Lots of micromanaging. Very “Stepford Wives”...everything is sunshine and rainbows even though the roof may be on fire and if you point out that the roof is on fire while offering a solution...you’re the bad guy! Lots of time is wasted analyzing how people work instead of actually...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Let your employees do their job and please stop treating them like children that require constant hand holding. It’s insulting.

    Paul Mitchell2019-05-11
  4. "I wish I could say positive things about the location I worked at, but the management destroys the culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff in Modesto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Paul Mitchell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I loved helping students achieve their goals. Great staff.

    Cons

    Hostile management team, verbally abusive.

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees. Stop the verbal abuse

    Paul Mitchell2019-03-27
  5. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Paul Mitchell full-time

      Pros

      Everything! One of the best jobs I have.

      Cons

      Not at the moment.

      Paul Mitchell2019-01-24
    • "Admissions Leader"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Paul Mitchell full-time

        Pros

        Great company! Loved working here.

        Cons

        none! This is a really good company to work for

        Paul Mitchell2018-12-05
      • "great, best, better"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Newark, DE

        I worked at Paul Mitchell full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        friendly, family, homie, value,

        Cons

        so afr nothing everything was great

        Advice to Management

        so far not

        Paul Mitchell2018-10-28
      • "Education Leader"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Education Leader 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Paul Mitchell full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        They truly lived by the motto when people come first success will follow. I always felt valued when I was working at Paul Mitchell.

        Cons

        A lot of extra duties without any planning time. Had to prepare most of my work at home off the clock for free just to fell prepared for the next day.

        Advice to Management

        Add more planning time in the day for the teachers to succeed in the classroom with their future professionals..

        Paul Mitchell2018-08-17
      • Helpful (1)

        "New ownership tanked the place"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Manager in Sacramento, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Paul Mitchell full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Advanced curriculum, great location.

        Cons

        Long hours, low pay. The turn over is insane because the new owners fired a bunch of people so they could hire others at a lower wage. With that came a wave of new employees who weren’t trained and lacked any experience. They hire cheap instructors to keep their costs down and it shows in the quality of education. People are just unhappy and sad there.

        Advice to Management

        Sell the school to someone who cares enough to hire competent and experienced people to run it. The fact that there’s been 3 directors since the new take over last year is a bad sign for staff and students. Paul Mitchell corporate really needs to step in soon.

        Paul Mitchell2018-08-24
      • "Operations"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Paul Mitchell full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Amazing Culture, Awesome Leadership and great company.

        Cons

        Need more room for growth.

        Advice to Management

        Stop losing the great people and letting the wrong people stay.

        Paul Mitchell2018-07-10
      Found 64 reviews