Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison Reviews

Updated May 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
70%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison Chairman Brad S. Karp
Brad S. Karp
80 Ratings
  1. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good job

    Sep 14, 2020 - Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Skilled litigators and a top-notch practice

    Cons

    Long hours and big case teams

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Nah

    Nov 20, 2020 - Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Don't do it, really don't. It's barely worth the money.

    Cons

    Same as above, frankly, truly.

    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Finance department needs work

    Aug 21, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very talented legal attorneys. I truly believe we have some of the best attorneys in the field. Some managers are truly inspirational and are great teachers. Good work-life balance most of the time. Benefits are very good as well. Eric Sekler is one of the nicest and most amazing leaders I’ve ever worked for.

    Cons

    For such a big law firm, I am surprised how behind PW is compared to other firms. They do not offer a work from home program to ANYONE, and are losing talent because of this. Most of the employees in the finance dept have been there for over 10 or 20 years, so they always fall back on the crutch of “well, that’s how we’ve always done it and it’s not changing”, which is a mistake. There needs to be change to have progress, and they will keep losing talent if they don’t realize this soon. Also, some of the veteran staff are, frankly, not good. They’re extremely rude to others, don’t care about their job (and have voiced it several times), and yet they’re still here, while the new employees are leaving in quick numbers. It almost feels like PW values seniority over talent. This past year, the finance employees rated the dept extremely low compared to other depts., and management still doesn’t understand what is wrong???

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Weis

    Oct 24, 2020 - Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There were some really good days

    Cons

    There were some really bad days

    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good People, Terrible Pay

    May 8, 2020 - Litigation Paralegal in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Most of the associates are really nice, great support staff

    Cons

    They underpay paralegals terribly. Sure it's technically "hourly" pay, but some weeks you may work 90+ hours and they don't really care, claim that's "just the job". The associates must not realize how little we make compared to them, because they make comments about how we work a lot but the pay makes up for it. Often times in prep for trial I was working more than any other associate, because they took turns working and I could not, yet they still make 5x more money than I do. Definitely makes you feel unappreciated.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Management needs some work

    Mar 13, 2020 - Conflict Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    PW is very intense, but the pay and the facilities are very nice. Staff in the cafeteria are very kind.

    Cons

    I was not motivated to work because I was yelled at and chastised for any mistake that I made. This is usually because upper management yells down the chain to the people they work under, and the cycle keeps going. That is how you learn at Paul Weiss (at least in my department). If you can drink the koolaid and fit in, it's great. You'll need to be intense and able to take criticism well. I don't think I was ever praised by my boss the nine months I was there. This particular position was never designed as a "fun" position, so keep that in mind before seeking a job here.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Some good people/teams, others not so much

    Jun 1, 2020 - Paralegal 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Not many besides some people/teams that had brains and were decent people.

    Cons

    Lunch started going down hill, no work from home policy, associates and partners were 50/50 on decent vs terrible to work with.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Poor Management can destroy an entire team.

    Feb 6, 2020 - Client Service Representative in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Looks good on a resume.

    Cons

    TOXIC ENVIRONMENT. There are individuals in supervisory positions that they have no business being in. For example, the manager of the concierge division encourages divisiveness amongst her reports and often engages in bullying tactics. Has a one-size-fits-all approach to m anagement. Doesn't lead by example. Focuses on blame, rather than solutions and support. Uses her team as pawns for her own success. Lacks Focus. Takes credit for others' work. Has absolutely no respect for her employees. Rules are inconsistent and reports in said division are often misrepresented on their annual reviews and nitpicked at in order to justify giving out poor bonuses

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great firm

    Dec 22, 2019 - Staff Attorney in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great firm with a great reputation.

    Cons

    Staff attorneys can never become associates. They're treated as the "B-List" of attorneys.

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Know what you're getting yourself into

    Mar 17, 2019 - Associate in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get to work on huge headline-making public M&A deals, among other interesting and sophisticated transactional work, together with really smart senior folks. Decent exit options generally. Prestige of Paul Weiss name. Top-of-market pay.

    Cons

    Very demanding and stressful job, long hours, some really impatient and unpleasant clients (internal and external), so most people won't last long, which is a core part of the firm's general business model that has made them so successful, so they probably won't make real structural changes to make things better. Culture has been changing for the worse since Scott Barshay came onboard. Really smart and competent associates are getting really burnt out.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
Viewing 31 - 40 of 173 Reviews

Popular Careers with Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison Job Seekers

Litigation Paralegal
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Business Development Assistant
Learn About the Job

Work at Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison? Share Your Experiences

Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison logo
or