Pavone Reviews | Glassdoor

Pavone Reviews

Updated Apr 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
Pavone CEO Michael Pavone
Michael Pavone
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Different View"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Pavone full-time

    Pros

    The atmosphere is relaxed and the dress code is casual. You immediately get a decent amount of vacation days and can work from home 10 days a year. The team is supportive and co-workers are always willing to listen and lend a hand when you need help. While there isn't a lot of verticle movement available, the company is growing which opens up new opportunities. Salaries are comparable to the area. This is the real world, you have to EARN your way up the ladder and to make more money.

    Cons

    The other reviews are correct - there is turnover. However, more than not, this is directly related to performance. Show up, do your job, keep your job.

    Continue reading
    Pavone2017-05-11
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Pavone full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    nice people, some fun clients

    Cons

    agency is changing and this is definitely causing some growing pains - things can feel disorganized

    Pavone2019-04-19
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Dysfunctional yet nice."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Pavone full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There's a lot of nice people and they end up getting good people, even if they leave, quit or are fired.

    Cons

    Very dysfunctional. There are a lot of people in positions of influence who do not know the way things are run outside of the bubble of Harrisburg. They have frequent layoffs due to chasing arbitrary benchmarks.

    Continue reading
    Pavone2018-05-28
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Don't believe these so called "positive" reviews. They're hype and BS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Pavone full-time

    Pros

    There were some, but not many. A few parties, free food, etc.

    Cons

    Overworked staff, micromanagement, favoritism, no work/life balance at ALL.

    Continue reading
    Pavone2018-01-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pavone full-time

    Pros

    The people (best agency staff I have seen in Pennsylvania between talent and work ethic), the experience (you get to work on a wide range of clients from large to small, rivals big city agency rosters) and opportunity to build something that is yours ( most agencies have an approach that they never will change, here I've found a willingness to make adjustments and big ones to get better).

    Cons

    Workload- smaller agency with constant demand on time and money to get the best work done. Salary- if you come from a larger market, salaries are tighter here. Teaching hospital mentality- lots of junior staff, if you like teaching its great, but be prepared for that.

    Continue reading
    Pavone2017-10-26
  6. Helpful (14)

    "Heed the reviews -- the positive ones are flat out lies -- and listen to your gut"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Pavone full-time

    Pros

    1. The ability to learn quickly, but only if you're fresh out of school. If you're a mid-career professional, you most likely have the skills you'd pick up here. 2. Beer and food. It does help, especially for the extra long days, nights, and weekends you'll inevitably have to work. 3. Interesting coworkers. Though the environment sucks, your coworkers will be your family while you're at Pavone. Part of this is because you'll see them more than you'll see your actual family. And, you know, the whole Stockholm Syndrome thing. You're all in it together!!* *Just know, when you do eventually get the axe, they will drop you like a bad habit. If you leave on your own accord, they'll host your going away happy hour and you'll have to live with yourself as you look into the eyes of people who are simultaneously proud that one of their own "got out" and raging with jealousy that it wasn't them. You walk away with your head held high. You can do this.

    Cons

    1. TERRIBLE financials, despite your diverse client base. Pavone is NOT the biggest and best agency between Pittsburgh and Philly. I guess if you count the agencies they count as part of their business they can hold the title, but why does that matter if the career opportunities aren't there? Though the options are scarce in the HLLY market, there are a handful of agencies that not only beat Pavone in terms of strategy, but they outpace Pavone in how the manage their finances and treat their people. Do you really want to work at the "biggest" if there's no other rungs to move up on the ladder? Do you really want to do the same old strategy with a twist? Chase around your clients for bills and try to figure out why you didn't make money, but only broke even? I can distinctly remember forecasting meetings at Pavone where it was the blind leading the blind — and the finance team had no clue why we rarely met the company’s financial goals. Me thinks that’s why there are waves of layoffs every few months... 2. Heavy Workload — all the time. Ridiculously high expectations that change at the drop of a dime. For anyone saying the people that were let go or left on their own just didn’t like “busting their butt,” let’s be honest: it’s a flat out lie. I can’t be sure if those reviewers are being fed the company line or maybe you’re just lying to yourself — maybe it’s a little bit of both? It seems to me that the positive reviews on here say the same exact thing, and are from the handful of regulars who seem to make it through each round of layoffs unscathed. Good for you. It also seems to me that the negative reviewers each have a bit of the same feedback -- we can't all be terrible workers, or lying about what we experiences. People are reading Glassdoor to get a feel for the company and decide if Pavone and its affiliated agencies are a good fit. Many people who worked for Pavone either came from the real business world or immediately left to join it. As one of those people, I can tell you: the real business world may require a 50-60 hour work week once a quarter, but it’s nothing like Pavone, where this is the norm. The real business world may require that you take work hoe once a week or every other week, but it’s nothing like the creep that Pavone allows, where the business takes over your life. If, as a low level creative or suit, you’re not getting a share of the company’s profits, why should your life revolve the business? It shouldn’t. 3. Open door policy? What open door policy? Management does not have an open door policy. The only time the doors are open is when they’re bringing you in to admonish you. God forbid you disagree with Michael or John, you may as well pack your bags and see yourself out.

    Continue reading
    Pavone2017-11-21
  7. Helpful (12)

    "Don't work here. It's for your own health."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pavone full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some fun moments and good times. Free food and drinks often. Young staff makes making friends quick and easy. You learn a lot really quickly.

    Cons

    While job security is sadly no longer a real thing in our society anymore- employees still shouldn't have to live in fear of being fired every time they step into the office. Pavone's upper management and partners create such an element of fear and a level of toxicity that it becomes very unhealthy to work there. The stress of having to worry about being let go day in and day out takes a big toll on your life which makes you strongly question work/life balance. Working with other departments is a chore within itself. One department head is terribly toxic to the whole agency- you're basically not allowed to have human moments. I wish I took these reviews more seriously when I was considering where to accept a job (seriously should've gone with another offer I received).

    Continue reading
    Pavone2017-08-28
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Total Mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Pavone full-time

    Pros

    - Social, laid back and fun working environment - Very modern workspace and technology - Recognizable clients in Central PA - An abundance of free food, drinks and alcohol - Creatively-designed environment - Company-wide meeting every Monday morning; a nice event that allows the CEO's and managers to discuss what tactics, projects and potential business partnerships they are currently working on (nice bit of transparency and allows everyone who works there to be in the loop to an extent) - Laid back dress code - Young workforce

    Cons

    - Most employees are often in a state of confusion (Lack of communication and many other issues seem to re-occur that cause delays on assignments. Seems to be no urgency in resolving these either. Basically, the way they have things set up is unnecessarily complicated and causes delays and for most employees to work overtime with no extra pay. Know your value. If you are working 5-20 additional hours a week you are no longer earning your original salary - You WILL feel uncomfortable leaving at 5 pm, even if you are completely done with your assignments... most stay until 6 pm or later, one employee occasionally sleeps in the basement instead of going home despite recently getting married - Work for free (they have set up an illusory slogan/idea of "going above and beyond" which basically enslaves you on weekends and weeknights if need be. If it does not make dollars, it does not make sense and "salary" is not an excuse to work overtime, sorry but in every single employee's contract it states that you are to work until 5 pm and take an hour lunch, which most do not even take due to thinking they have to stay to complete an assignment. NO! If you have too much work on your hands that is not your fault, it is the fault of the one who is assigning an un-realistic amount of work upon you. Let go of the fear and stand up for yourselves, only a toxic work environment/mind agrees with this company's philosophies. - Very confined and small working areas that have employees crammed for the most part - No diversity - Almost too laid back as far as what is morally accepted - Employees terminated with no explanations as to why - I liked the CEO, but he never went out of his way despite being in the building often to properly introduce himself to new employees. Not even a simple handshake or hello on your first day or week. Personally, if I ran a company I would shake every single employee's hand and speak to them not just to be professional, but to show them that I genuinely cared about them as a human being. If you want others to support and help build your company (dream) then it is best not to treat them as cattle. - My supervisor was a complete ball of stress, which can be contagious and is not healthy especially for a work environment. Also was a hypocrite, disagreeing with a lot of what Management says then turning around pretending to believe in what they were saying. Those are not attributes of "leadership". - Profanity is not only excepted, but borderline encouraged and used by some employee's to feel "cool". Becomes so normal that you may begin cursing more in your personal life. - Some job positions have duties/roles and responsibilities that clearly should be done by an employee of another position

    Continue reading
    Pavone2017-08-15
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Proceed with extreme caution!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Harrisburg, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pavone full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a great agency if you are an entry level Designer or Account Executive wanting to get their feet wet in Advertising.

    Cons

    The client will always come first, you are disposable, monthly client retainer fees are not. Absolutely no work/life balance, unstable internal structure, little to no support from management/partners, below average salary range for the area, office culture and location is less then desirable.

    Continue reading
    Pavone2017-07-17
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Great place to start out, beware if you are mid-career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Pavone full-time

    Pros

    Recent grads or 20-something creatives/brand managers/social/digital/etc looking for experience with some national brands or to cut their teeth in an ad agency will thrive here if they are talented. The agency is growing and aggressively going after business. There is also a work hard play hard vibe that permeates (there are a lot of millennials). There are semi-regular events/outings (a few per year), occasional small bonus payouts, and free snacks and drinks. Including beer, although beware it's mostly Labatt.

    Cons

    Not growing sustainably. There are fits and stops. If you are mid-career, be wary of uprooting yourself for a position here -- particularly if it is to support one specific client, or its description uses language like right-sizing, permalancing, etc.. Benefits and work life balance are geared towards single working professionals, not employees who have families. The other reviews are correct in that there are cyclical layoffs. Usually the layoffs can be tied directly or indirectly to performance, but there have also been clear cases of favoritism where people are let go or leave on their own accord because they're saying the wrong thing (even if its what the partners need to hear). A piece of advice: dog sitting the company dog for the owner helps curry favor.

    Continue reading
    Pavone2017-04-25
Found 16 reviews