Paxata Reviews

Updated Jan 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
70%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Paxata Co-Founder & CEO Prakash Nanduri (no image)
Prakash Nanduri
23 Ratings
  1. "Great company with great people"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paxata full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company is made up of extremely intelligent individuals that have years of experience in data and analytics. The product has a clear differentiator and delivers a huge impact to customers.

    Cons

    Commute to HQ can be rough, but they are flexible on remote days.

    Continue reading
    Paxata2020-01-28
  2. "Great place to learn about big data technology"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Paxata full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to learn about big data technology. Management is OK, communication is broken.

    Cons

    Sales deals are poor. great engineering PM, and CS teams.

    Continue reading
    Paxata2019-11-23
  3. Helpful (16)

    "Prepare for crash landing"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Paxata full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Really awesome people to work with (super smart, funny and fulfilling) --- the only reason the company gets 2 stars, otherwise, it would've been 1 - Catered lunches (2 days/ week) and stocked kitchen (drinks, snacks and fruit) - HQ is in a great business park with great perks (cafeteria, fully loaded gym, pool, sauna, etc) - Flexible time off - Work remote 1-day/ week

    Cons

    - Lack of career advancement/growth/opportunity - Product challenges - Vision varies by executive/ department - No female leadership (not a single female above the Director-level) - People are dropping like flies (just check out LinkedIn - ) - Company is REactive (reactive to employees, customers, prospects, vendors) ... not capable of getting ahead of the 'ball' or being proactive, places blame on the 'little guy' and lacks accountability across the board. Leadership Team doesn't even practice the values the company supports but holds other peoples' feet to the fire

    Continue reading
    Paxata2018-09-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty exciting but also pretty tough"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Paxata full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's really exciting to be part of creating something new! The market definitely is there for data prep and continues to get hotter. We have many customers who are getting real value from us and are paying a lot (millions) for our system. We have some new partnerships with Microsoft and Accenture that are providing us a lot of opportunities. The product continues to get better in terms of capabilities and also quality with every release. A lot of great people at the company.

    Cons

    We've had our share of ups and downs, like any startup. We're always trying to do too many things instead of focusing on a couple. We've lost some good people who have moved on to other opportunities. We are really understaffed for our ambitions. We've had product quality challenges although they have gotten better recently.

    Continue reading
    Paxata2018-03-12
  5. Helpful (13)

    "Account Executive"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Newport Coast, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Paxata full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hot space with an innovative approach to preparing data for enterprises. Could be a goldmine if executed right and at speed of market.

    Cons

    CEO is over is head and is a nasty attacker. His refusal to acknowledge the product issues has cost the company many high profile accounts and they jumped ship. The cofounding team is full of it and checked out. It’s amazing they are still in business.

    Continue reading
    Paxata2018-03-07
  6. "Great"

    5.0
     

    I worked at Paxata

    Pros

    It was a great place to work. Excellent company culture and great product.

    Cons

    There was really not much to complain about. The company as a whole a joy to work for.

    Paxata2017-09-07
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paxata full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Collaboration across all teams, open environment that fosters productive communication and feedback, opportunity to grow, benefits and work/life balance

    Cons

    Nothing at this time!

    Paxata2017-04-12
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Excellent Company, Great Opportunity"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paxata full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company is backed by top tier Investors and appears to be in the midst of an exploding opportunity. Employees are treated like adults and the culture is well balanced between a professional company but still has the feel and perks of working for a start-up. Management is completely transparent with how the company is being run and performing. Work life balance is good and it feels like things are still getting accomplished.

    Cons

    Not too much here, just the typical items that come with growing fast, new people being added, things break sometimes but they seem to get fixed quickly.

    Continue reading
    Paxata2017-03-01
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great company to work at!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paxata full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Promising company with strong funding (Intel, Microsoft Venture, Deutche Telecom, etc.) and great leadership team. The product leads the market space, which this company created. Extremely transparent about everything happening at the company. Face-paced work, but great work / life balance. Over about a year I have only worked overtime one weekend, and even that might not have been necessary. Technical leadership would cut scope first before making people work longer. Two catered lunches a week. Great medical benefits. Smart people. Employees are treated as adults who can manage their own schedule. I usually do over 2 hours of work on my commutes.

    Cons

    Sometimes some people have very strong opinions, and some head butting happens during design meetings. But then I don't think anyone takes it personally.

    Continue reading
    Paxata2017-01-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great friendly company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paxata full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Catered lunches Friendly people Everyone is extremely smart Management actually tries to connect and listen to employees My well-being seems like a priority to the managers

    Cons

    Startup growing pains mostly Couple people have really big egos and think everyone should work 'for' them instead of 'with' them. Luckily they're not in management Employee reviews are often late

    Continue reading
    Paxata2016-11-29
Found 26 reviews