KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

PayScale

Is this your company?

PayScale

Add a Review

PayScale Employee Reviews about "unlimited pto"

Updated Dec 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 of over 236 reviews

3.0
46%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
PayScale CEO Scott Torrey (no image)
Scott Torrey
65 Ratings
Pros
  • "My experience at Payscale has been fantastic(in 60 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance is exceptional(in 41 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "They moved to quarterly payouts without giving their sales team a heads up so now people aren't able to pay their bills(in 9 reviews)

  • "Unlimited PTO is a recruiting tactic that doesn't necessarily apply to the sales team(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on
    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "unlimited pto"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Transparent culture, supportive boss, interesting work

      Aug 14, 2018 - Software Engineer-II in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I am one of those people that talks about how I love where I work a lot. I am a woman and I work in the engineering department at PayScale. I have so many good things to say about this company that I'll just list them below. - Transparency at all levels - Supportive boss (also female) that is constantly looking to help me grow my career - Interesting problems to solve at work - Intelligent coworkers who are willing to drop whatever they're doing to help if you ask for it - Fun culture - the usual tech things like happy hours, fido fridays, and decorating contests for Halloween, and then the more unusual things like unlimited PTO (which they really mean!) - Great benefits package - Not many meetings, people respect each other's time, and 'work from home wednesdays' - Open discussion about being a female in tech, how to recruit more females, how to support each other, etc. - No one works long hours (unless they're just really excited about what they're working on) I could keep going, but I'll stop here to keep it short.

      Cons

      Trying to rack my brain to think of some... lower salary than some of the other big tech companies in the area (*cough* amazon) but when you consider that pay is a whole package, it can really compete. This would include the unlimited PTO, the good benefits package, the freedom to work from home, the good work hours, the variable bonuses... so even when I got a competing offer from that other tech company, it was really no question for me when PayScale's offer came in too.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      PayScale Response

      Chief Engineering Officer

      Thank you for the thoughtful comments. We work hard to find a good mix of competing approaches and investments as a leadership team and frankly I often struggle with those choices. Your affirmation helps a lot. However, is that a typo about the silly videos? Didn't you mean to say we need more ;-)

    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Merge struggle

      Dec 5, 2021 - Customer Success Manager in Quincy, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Legacy Payfactors - role was manageable, unlimited PTO, excellent client support model.

      Cons

      Post merge with Payscale - clients are no longer#1..their pocket books are. Not enough hiring after legacy support staff resignation. Brought teams together too quickly - not enough cross communication from leadership to managers and back to employees. Lack of knowledge and time to learn each side of the house. Not a great job bringing these two companies together.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      They do not care about clients or employees

      Apr 26, 2021 - Revenue 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great coworkers, brilliant, funny and hard working.

      Cons

      Where to begin? Unlimited PTO is a lie. They do not care about personal performance, they care about who can help them go public. This is not the same company it was a couple years ago- they have pushed out every single woman who was brilliant, cared about the company, and what it stood for, and replaced them with people who are GREEDY. It is disgusting what they will manipulate and do to line their own pockets. PayScale does NOT care about its clients or it’s employees. Their revenue team is a joke- they don’t even have any kind of leveling so NO career path, no quotas to speak of, it is a DISASTER, constant moving and zero transparency. The pay is low and dropping (hence the Nashville hires)- they are constantly putting us on “new comp plans” that significantly drop your OTE by tens of thousands. You read that right- tens of thousands. They don’t care about performance or talent. They don’t care one OUNCE for the clients. That’s probably the worst part- they make you sell your soul to hit quotas they make up 3 weeks before EOQ, and THEN you look like a liar to clients when we can’t deliver because PayScale changed the packaging/pricing/ project again. They are bleeding out clients because the customer service is horrible, upper management has no idea about compensation or the products, and they are running around like chickens with their heads cut off due to so much turnover and industry knowledge being lost. Every week they take away dedicated client reps and transition them yet again, and every week we get yelled at by angry clients who can see what a disaster it is and they haven’t even had the same point of contact for the past 3 months. One week the revenue teams handle renewals, the next week it’s the CSMs, and then the upsells now go to AE’s who have no idea how to sell to existing clients, but WAIT now we are no longer giving service to clients who spend less than 5k... it’s enough to give you whiplash. Avoid this place like the plague. Trust me

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great opportunity! As long as you can accept change.

      Nov 18, 2020 - Customer Service in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Going on my third year with PayScale. Great place for opportunity! A very transparent culture with some amazing employees.

      Cons

      LOTS of change. Sometimes hard to understand why the change is happening. Also hard to believe there is thought put into the change because a few months later, another big change happens to make things "even better". (Also unlimited PTO is not a thing! New leadership has changed this to 3 weeks)

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Unsure of Business Outlook

      Apr 14, 2020 - Client Success Manager in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Unlimited PTO, overall benefits, Happy Hours (lots of team bonding opportunities) Great Humans and for the most party kind hearted and well intended, product and data that can bring value to businesses. You will definitely have a work life balance and flexibility with your schedule. Low pressure actually zero pressure job, the only person pushing you to improve will be yourself. Many people that have left PayScale over the past year have left with sentiments of, “there’s a lot of potential but a lack of drive and discipline.”

      Cons

      No Accountability, lack of structure, no metrics to track performance, variable pay structure, leadership expertise especially in middle management and sr. management. If you were to dig deeper for results and accomplishments I’m not sure what you’d find? I found myself question whether or not fraudulent behavior was happening when it came to reporting results and any type of performance management. As a new employee you really rely on your peers for training and support, not sure what managers are doing but they are not hands on, strategic and focused on helping their teams achieve success. During my time at PS my team and the majority of individuals did not hit their goals, not even close.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      What's Transparency?

      Apr 13, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoyed my team, I enjoyed the perks (happy hours, Fido Friday, WFH and unlimited PTO).

      Cons

      I was given a lot of responsibility and was told to run with it. Using my expertise, I established some programs and implemented a few things. Getting feedback/support from my “business partners” was really hard and tracking was almost impossible. I encountered roadblocks every day and wound up very, very frustrated. On top of it all, the accomplishments that I made were overlooked and people were getting rewarded for silly things like "planning" and "restructuring". Many people have said this but if you aren’t in with the right people, you don’t stand a chance. Transparency is a word used far too much for a Company that operates the way that PayScale does.

      Continue reading
      24 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      chaos and toxicity

      May 20, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Unlimited PTO was the best thing about PayScale, it showed respect for employees' time, work/life balance, and judgement. But they eliminated it.

      Cons

      Boys' club mentality -After the acquisition last year, there was a mass exodus of women from the tech org, and no acknowledgement of that reality or plans to address it. -Women routinely spoken over, ignored, blown off, or belittled. -Women are 'managed out' and negatively judged for feminine-coded behaviors--or if they use masculine-coded behaviors! -Poor performing male employees are kept on even after their incompetence has been repeatedly shown, even if they are highly paid senior employees delivering zero or negative value, because C-level execs like them. -Lots of "father of daughters" rhetoric around gender diversity with no real progress. -Lots of diversity lip service but not much delivery. In the past, execs and HR have been actively hostile and retaliatory to people trying to push diversity initatives. -Seems like CEO is just hiring people he knows. Women and POC in particular consistently report having issues with coworkers, conversations, and the overall company culture. -Very alcohol-fueled culture. Happy hours are basically the only social activity offered, which isn't great for the many people who don't drink and/or aren't super extroverted. Low comp -PS tends to take people with little or no experience, as well as people who believe in their mission. This is great in theory but in reality it gives them leverage to drastically underpay them. -PS talks a lot about the market rate for comp, but makes sure to never give specific recommendations (in marketing, etc.) to pay the market median. This is likely because they pay significantly below the market rate for most positions. I was told that PS targets somewhere in the 30th percentile range, but have heard of managers trying to get away with as little as 10th. -Anecdote: My current salary is 50% more than I was making at PayScale. No accountability -What are the company's KPIs? No one really knows! -BI initiatives have repeatedly failed due to lack of resources and interest. -Company all-hands meetings are scheduled last minute or pushed back and then canceled so results are hidden. -Tech org management isn't held accountable for setting and meeting specific, measurable goals, which allows bad managers to hide their failures. No more experts -Most of the people with deep comp expertise have been pushed out or left because of the poor conditions. -Longtime employees have been almost entirely wiped out, leaving huge gaps in institutional knowledge. -The research team had a mass exodus of people and has not been sufficiently restaffed, and has been grossly mismanaged. No transparency -Lots of hush-hush around company equity since it is not available for most employees, even against market trends. -Again, what are the company KPIs we are being judged against? -No one really knows what is going on in the crowdsourced data model -After the FP acquisition most people had no idea what was going on for months because there were no plans shared with the company. Hirings/firings were always a surprise, and paranoia was rampant. -The recent layoffs are a textbook example of what NOT to do if you want to treat people with respect. Managers were not given advanced notice of who they were losing, and outgoing employees had all their access cut off before they were told they were being laid off and weren't given time to tie up loose ends. Remaining employees are now left with multiples of work when everyone was already stretched thin. Most of the lost employees were long term and/or senior people, so you now have juniors trying to fill roles they aren't equipped for. Bad management -Little or no management training -Bad managers everywhere -Since the focus has shifted to profitability, the business has actually become less successful -Products are rushed out before they're ready, frustrating customers and employees and basically tanking the products -Constant re-orgs

      Continue reading
      26 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Poorly run company in general. But great co-workers

      Nov 8, 2019 - CSM in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love my coworkers and team. They make coming in worth it. Happy hours and fun events.

      Cons

      Managers are promoted in the “in” group. Managers show favoritism and speak poorly openly about others. You don’t get unlimited Pto. The managers only allow for four weeks. Pay is low compared to others. The cso is very unaware of what’s going on and is not the leader we need. Support is messy, no budget to bring in people we need but then we get in trouble for our renewal numbers being so crappy year after year.

      Continue reading
      20 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      No career growth, lackluster culture, borderline hostile work environment

      Oct 24, 2019 - Data Analyst in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      "Unlimited" pto, but it's capped, work from home opportunities

      Cons

      Culture, training, career growth, lack of investment in employees, overworked and consistently underpaid. This is a compensation company and they don't pay at market rate. Barely any 401(k) match. Ego is more important than anything. Lack of accountability across the board.

      Continue reading
      20 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Bright Future!

      Jun 30, 2015 -  in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      work - life balance, real work - life balance, if you come into the office at 5:00 pm there might be a few people...but everyone else goes home! The leadership team has great tenure and truly cares about the employees. Casual office environment. Everyone on the same team, working towards the same goals. FIDO Fridays! Very generous benefits package, unlimited PTO. Moving into a new office in the next few weeks. Huge opportunity for growth, company is doing great and all signs are pointing up and to the right.

      Cons

      The company moves fast, if you are interested in sitting in a corner and doing the same thing for the next several years PayScale isn't the right place for you. We move quick, things change all the time, have to be flexible and open to new things.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews

    Popular Careers with PayScale Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at PayScale? Share Your Experiences

    or