Payara Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Payara Services Reviews

Updated 7 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.9
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Payara Services CEO Steve Millidge (no image)
Steve Millidge
12 Ratings
  1. "Best company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Senior Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Payara Services for more than a year

    Pros

    Management really knows what they are doing, and somehow making a balance of management and actual useful work. Have no idea how that balance is achieved but keep it up!

    Cons

    Not sure I can name any

    Continue reading
    Payara Services2018-02-27
  2. "Fantastic Team and an Enjoyable Working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Graphic Designer in Malvern, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Payara Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You're treated like a part of a team from the start, making sure you know how to do everything before you're allowed to work at your own speed. Great team that communicates well that is also good at friendly chats. No need to feel like you're walking on eggshells. Everything is organised, the company policies, documents, work tasks, or guidance pages are set up so that they can be accessed easily and easy to track. Weekly fruit and cake! Asking for help isn't frowned upon - the opposite it's well accepted. If you feel like you want to grow within a specific field the company lets you undergo a training of your choice for you to learn from - I have taken 2 training courses already and am now implementing my new skills into my everyday tasks. You're not being told what to do. You get to work independently working up to your deadlines. You're not left alone either - you still get to work with the team on a regular basis.

    Cons

    If you don't come from a tech-y field it might be difficult to understand what the company does at first.

    Payara Services2019-11-07
  3. "Freelancer Friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Software Developer in Přehýsov
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Payara Services for less than a year

    Pros

    Stable and perspective company using and creating modern technologies Friendly team of experts Everyone is interested in doing the best You have friends all around the world You can work on future standards Collaborative management

    Cons

    Hard to know everything around the project

    Payara Services2019-09-25
  4. "Growing company with a great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Great Malvern, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Payara Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It has been massively refreshing to join an organisation who, despite its size, clearly sees the value in establishing and maintaining a really positive culture. Everyone at Payara is genuinely positive and helpful, and it took no time at all to feel like I was one of the team. The company has big plans for growth and there is a real passion for success. Management works hard to empower the entire team and ensure that there is transparency across everything they do. There is a hugely collaborative approach in meeting every challenge and I have been blown away by the sheer level of communication from everyone. Really a great place to work!

    Cons

    I genuinely cannot think of anything negative to say!

    Payara Services2019-04-01
  5. "Fast growing open-source Software company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Partner Manager in Great Malvern, England
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Payara Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company has experienced tremendous growth as its platform gets adopted by more and more companies worldwide. Great place to be under those circumstances.

    Cons

    I cannot think of any at this point in time.

    Payara Services2019-01-21
  6. "Best place to work at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Malvern, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Payara Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast growing forward looking company with many opportunities for personal growth. Friendly, professional team.

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of!

    Payara Services2018-12-07
  7. "Friendly team, broad managment structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Apprentice Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Payara Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is friendly, offers great support and really invests (and cares) in your developtment in becoming an excellent software engineer.

    Cons

    The café across the road opens at weird hours.

    Payara Services2018-11-26
  8. "Great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Mechelen
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Payara Services for less than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoy working for Payara Services since they are such a great team. There is a wonderful collaboration of everyone so that you can do perform your tasks at best. Everyone is helping you as much as they can, there is an open communication and they are all very nice people.

    Cons

    Since most of the people work remotely, you miss a bit the "colleagues feeling"

    Payara Services2018-11-12
  9. "Exciting impact and strong support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - (Administrative) 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Payara Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been at Payara for several months now and am over the "honeymoon stage", but I can still say I've never had a better work environment: it's relaxed but also exciting, with rapid growth and the opportunity to make innovative impact in the field with a cutting-edge team. To its workers, Payara is flexible, will push professional development, and there's an ideal balance of having substantial influence and both a strong support system and solid brand. (This probably sounds like a prepared marketing spiel, but it isn't: this is my sincere impression of the company.)

    Cons

    I can't think of any at the moment.

    Payara Services2018-06-12
  10. "Vibrant growing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Engineer in Malvern, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Payara Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Payara is still relatively small, so it's easy to have a big impact. There is an annual get-together where most of the worldwide team can meet face-to-face. The company is highly distributed which can be a challenge if you're not used to it, but the team are very used to it now which makes things much easier.

    Cons

    I can't think of any major cons - I was always very happy at Payara. There are occasions where you may need to step out of your comfort zone into something you're unfamiliar with, but I always enjoyed the challenge of that. Being a small company there isn't a lot of "red tape" like there can be with big companies so if you do have any problems it's pretty straightforward to raise the problem and get it dealt with.

    Continue reading
    Payara Services2018-05-17

    Payara Services Response

    May 17, 2018Marketing and Sales Assistant

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review!

    Continue reading
Found 13 reviews