Paycom Reviews | Glassdoor

Paycom Reviews

Updated April 15, 2017
59 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Paycom President Chad Richison
Chad Richison
46 Ratings

59 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Work-life balance is a struggle (in 47 reviews)

  • This job involves hard work - especially while you are in training (in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (15)

    "Voted Top Place To Work In OKC"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Paycom full-time

    Pros

    Overall a great place to work.
    $1 health insurance
    $4 catered lunches
    solid company culture
    "gym" onsite

    I won't go into a lot of detail here because it really is a good company.

    Cons

    HUGE CON: 5 days PTO your first year. They will sugar coat it and say that you also get a couple personal days and a handful of sick days and that is true. But 5 days PTO is ridiculously low and you have to accrue them. So when you finally finish out that first year, congrats you just completed your 5th day of PTO!

    They forget that they are a large companies and don't take time to revamp processes that were in place when they only had a few hundred employees.

    Advice to Management

    Seriously, bump up the PTO to at least 10 days. Start appreciating your employees financially, not just the sale people. Yes, they sell the product but maybe you should show some love to the people that keep it running. Especially since a lot of them stay late and come in on weekends to make sure the ship stays afloat and receive no extra benefit for it.

    Paycom Response

    Mar 20, 2017 – Paycom Representative

    Thank you for your review. We’re happy to read that you believe that Paycom is a good company. Regarding PTO, as with many organizations this increases with tenure at the company. As we’re a dynamic ... More


  2. "HCM"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Paycom full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Health insurance is cheap. 4 dollar lunches are great.

    Cons

    The parking was bad when I was there. Bonus structures are lacking for HCM department.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees more for input.

    Paycom Response

    Mar 30, 2017 – Paycom Representative

    We’re happy to share we recently opened our new parking garage. Thank you for the review and feedback!


  3. "Great First Job"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - New Client Specialist in Oklahoma City, OK
    Former Employee - New Client Specialist in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Paycom full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Given Opportunity to grow. Also provided training that I still use today!

    Cons

    Mid-level managers tend to micro manage (not entirely their fault). Their goals set by leadership are ambitious

    Advice to Management

    They are actively pursuing solutions to this problem. However, they could allow more flexibility for talented/productive employees

    Paycom Response

    Mar 27, 2017 – Paycom Representative

    Thank you for the review! We’re happy we helped develop your career skills while at Paycom. We appreciate you recognizing our commitment to continuous improvement and wish you the best.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paycom full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    It's a good company to start your career as a software developer. Teams as efficiently managed by skilled managers and people really have great subject knowledge here.

    Cons

    Work hours are strict, would appreciate if they were flexible.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Paycom Response

    Mar 8, 2017 – Paycom Representative

    Thank you for sharing your review and the feedback!


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great company, long work days"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ACA Coordinator in Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - ACA Coordinator in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paycom full-time

    Pros

    Fun environment, great people, TONS of opportunity to grow

    Cons

    Very corporate environment, you can get fired at the drop of a hat with no reprimand first, high stress environment

    Paycom Response

    Jan 23, 2017 – Paycom Representative

    Thank you for the review! We would like to clarify that while the circumstances around an employee termination may vary, Paycom believes in working with employees who may be struggling. Employee ... More


  7. Helpful (3)

    "The Truth About Paycom"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paycom full-time

    Pros

    You won't find a workplace that does more to keep it's people happy: prizes, dress up days, gifts, parties, food...Paycom works very hard to be a fun place to work.

    The opportunities for growth are endless, both in terms of moving up to new positions and for developing in your own role. There are very clear and reasonable promotions (including pay increases) within your position based on your performance.

    The average person at Paycom is very smart, hardworking and most of all, genuinely cares about their fellow workers. I've seen countless examples of folks going above and beyond to have their coworkers backs, take opportunities to show kindness and generosity, and be encouraging when people are stressed.

    The work itself is rarely dull. I am always learning new things and working on new problems.

    The benefits are great: $1 healthcare, onsite gym, catered lunch in a nice cafeteria (though most employees work through lunch at their desks), stock options, lots of promotional swag

    There is a lot of confidence that we are headed in the right direction, have strong leadership and are getting a lot of the top talent.

    Diverse workforce including many women in leadership roles.

    Paycom hires for culture fit most of all. There are many people here who don't come from a technology or banking background, and the robust training we receive is aware of that.

    Cons

    Explosive growth is exciting, but that does mean an enormous workload. And even though Paycom hires roughly 20 people a week, the workload is still unreasonable at times and many employees work large amounts of overtime and are stressed to an unhealthy degree.

    Traffic getting off campus is quite the bottleneck. Just leaving the parking lot adds 15 minutes to your commute.

    Starting pay is reasonable, but not in line with the usual Paycom values of beating out the competition and spoiling employees.

    Advice to Management

    Keep hiring, raise starting pay; access road to Council or 150th; Qdoba day every day.

    Paycom Response

    Dec 27, 2016 – Paycom Representative

    Thank you for your review! We appreciate the feedback and ideas regarding improving the company.


  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good department"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance Analyst in Oklahoma City, OK
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance Analyst in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Paycom full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Liked the people, fun environment

    Cons

    Expected to work long hours without additional compensation.

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring more people just to get more bodies through the door and instead focus on improving the standards of the workplace and department. Too many people sit around bored.

    Paycom Response

    Oct 27, 2016 – Paycom Representative

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate your feedback as we're ALWAYS looking to improve our processes.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great first job."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - New Client Setup Specialist in Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - New Client Setup Specialist in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paycom full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    A lot of younger people and is a great job right out of college. Some cool benefits like $1 healthcare, catered meals, nice gym. Raises are marked by clearly defined goals and you can make good money once you become a senior specialist. They seem to understand that there is more work to do for the job than you can get done in 40 hours so they don't get on to you when you work overtime. It is a good job and I really like all the people I work with.

    Cons

    Starting pay is pretty low and it takes about a year before you really know what you are doing. If you want to have a chance to stay on top of your projects then you will be working at least 5-10 hours of OT a week. This is good for people without families but I don't see how people with children do it.

    Advice to Management

    Raise the starting pay scale.

    Paycom Response

    Oct 24, 2016 – Paycom Representative

    Thank you for your review and feedback!


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Specialist in Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - Tax Specialist in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paycom full-time

    Pros

    Friendly environment. $4 lunches. Growth. Opportunities. Paycom really takes good care of you!

    Cons

    It's my first full-time position since I just graduated college. I can't think of any but some overtime for the position that I have. There's busy periods, but that was notified to me several times before I accepted the position.

    Advice to Management

    Training for New Employees

    Paycom Response

    Jun 29, 2016 – Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!


  11. Helpful (4)

    "High Quality sort of work..."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - B2B Sales Consultant in Oklahoma City, OK
    Former Employee - B2B Sales Consultant in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Paycom full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The training is extensive..and within the first year, expect to have more applied business knowledge than most MBA Grads

    Cons

    work life balance lacking, but it isn't for everyone.

    Paycom Response

    May 9, 2016 – Representative

    Thank you for your time and service! We pride ourselves on our extensive sales training program and are glad you agree! Ensuring our employees strike a good work-life balance is important. Those who ... More


Showing 59 of 478 reviews
Reset Filters