Paylocity Reviews | Glassdoor

Paylocity Reviews

Updated May 19, 2017
28 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Paylocity President & CEO Steve Beauchamp
Steve Beauchamp
16 Ratings

28 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • The opportunity to work from home provides for the great work/life balance that Paylocity always encourages and promotes (in 65 reviews)

  • A lot of positions give you the opportunity to work from home so the work/life balance is great (in 35 reviews)

Cons
  • Sometimes Feels Like the Company is Growing Faster Than it Can Support (in 14 reviews)

  • Growing pains, company's growth causes clients to get shuffled (in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (3)

    "It's a Job"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington Heights, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington Heights, IL
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Paylocity full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    decent people, decent pay. Lots of WFH opportunities. Cutting edge technology

    Cons

    Upper Management has lost focus on what the folks on the ground floor want/need to succeed. When this company went public just over 3 years ago, all the top level people said "the culture wont change". As expected, that was a lie. The bureaucrats have taken over and the culture has changed. Those who do a good job playing the corporate politics game prosper, and everyone else "just works there", regardless of your actual skill level.

    Advice to Management

    This used to be a fun place to work. The "Fun" has slowly been chipped away as manager positions get filled with a bunch of "Yes" men who don't want to create waves. 4 years ago when asked, I would tell people "I love my job". Now, when asked, my answer is "Eh, I just work there. I guess it doesn't suck"

    Paylocity Response

    May 4, 2017 – Senior Manager Human Resources

    Thank you for sticking by Paylocity’s side during our success and growth. We are sorry to hear that you haven’t had the best experience. We've grown exponentially since going public, and maintaining ... More


  2. Helpful (6)

    "Great company, horrible boss"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sof in Arlington Heights, IL
    Current Employee - Sof in Arlington Heights, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paylocity (More than a year)

    Pros

    There is excellent work/life balance. I was able to work with a great team of people and learned a lot. Although I worked remotely, I found myself working directly with people more than I have in office settings. Paylocity has an excellent product and it was great to be a part of it. Senior Management (VP and CEO) were great. Mid management, not so much.

    Cons

    The statement about people not leaving a company but leaving a boss has never been so true for me. I am sure other managers were better, but within the technology development side, management was quite bad. There was little discussion of true career development nor what the future really had in store.

    Advice to Management

    Be managers and not bosses. Groom your employees and help them grow with the company- And trust them. Promote from within more rather than hiring outside candidates to 'manage' teams that have previously been 'self managed' or have individuals capable of taking that position. Work with employees to get to the positions they want to have and don't respond with "We only hire people that have previously done that job"-Which really says"If you want this position, you will need to leave our company, find this same position at another company and then try to come back". Groom your employees to be able to do that job so they don't have to leave. I have seen some really good employees leave because of this.

    Paylocity Response

    Apr 28, 2017 – SVP, Product and Technology

    Feedback is a gift and we appreciate you taking the time to provide us with yours. I am sorry to hear you didn’t have the best experience with your manager. We are committed to helping employees ... More


  3. Helpful (5)

    "Rapid Growth Causing Organizational Issues"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Implementation Consultant in Boise, ID
    Current Employee - Implementation Consultant in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Paylocity full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Many options to work remotely.

    Cons

    Managers are not trained in 'management'
    Issues are fixed with Band-aids rather than solutions
    People are promoted based on likability rather than ability
    If you disagree with management, you are seen as a problem rather than trying to make things better.

    Advice to Management

    Train the managers to develop employees rather than just having the managers fix issues. Hold managers accountable for poor performance.

    Paylocity Response

    Mar 21, 2017 – Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Your suggestion is timely as we are currently working on a management training program for the company. Please continue to provide ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Not the best, not the worst"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington Heights, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington Heights, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Paylocity full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good culture, great people to work with. Opportunities for remote work

    Cons

    The culture doesn't help your wallet, the company is guilty of some exaggeration on its "employee-centric" atmosphere

    Advice to Management

    Don't consider yourself a top workplace if you can't offer maternity leave

    Paylocity Response

    Mar 21, 2017 – Senior Manager Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We are consistently reviewing our benefits as the company continues to grow. Please feel free to reach out to your HR Business Partner as an avenue to provide ... More


  6. "Data Entry Specialist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Entry Specialist in Arlington Heights, Cook, IL
    Current Employee - Data Entry Specialist in Arlington Heights, Cook, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paylocity full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours. Little micro-managing with leads many to spend half the day on the phone, internet, chatting.

    Cons

    Low pay. People on team do not pull their weight. Last minute overtime.

    Advice to Management

    Watch what is going on in department. Save Paylocity money by getting rid of the dead weight and paying the "workers" more.

    Paylocity Response

    Mar 28, 2017 – Director, Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am sorry that your experience at Paylocity has not been as positive as it could be. We do appreciate your feedback and will review it with ... More


  7. "pros vs cons"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - National Sales Support in Arlington Heights, IL
    Former Employee - National Sales Support in Arlington Heights, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Paylocity (Less than a year)

    Pros

    good company culture, paid training, great benefits, easy new-hire process

    Cons

    conflicting guidance, noisy/distracting work environment at times, difficult to attain production expectations

    Advice to Management

    none


  8. Helpful (3)

    "Enterprise Executive Account Manage"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Executive Account Manager in Arlington Heights, IL
    Current Employee - Enterprise Executive Account Manager in Arlington Heights, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Paylocity full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    My co-workers, my boss, and the people in general are amazing.

    Cons

    Overwhelmed, understaffed and underpaid.

    Advice to Management

    If "Happy employees means happy clients", treat/compensate the face of the company better.


  9. Helpful (8)

    "Used to be better"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Arlington Heights, IL
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Arlington Heights, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Paylocity full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Work with a lot of smart, experienced people.
    Work remotely.
    The pay is decent.

    Cons

    * Management hierarchy is too vertical.
    * Permissions-restricted Lenovo computers for developers, (under-powered and restricted access to system resources and functionality).
    * Core product code-base is a house of cards: fragile, difficult to maintain, scales poorly.
    * Teams are highly silo-ed, resulting in redundant code.
    * I think Paylocity is poorly positioned to compete in the human capital management market in the near term. Their software offerings aren't cohesive and the inertia of technical-debt makes it hard to make meaningful additions or changes quickly.

    Advice to Management

    The dev side of Paylocity had a culture that was developer-centric, focused on working hard to craft excellent products. There was a lot of enthusiasm for adopting new technology and communicating best practices. Project Team Leaders used to seem more like firsts among equals, tasked with facilitating the work of developers by removing impediments and coordinating their efforts within the team as well as between teams.

    As management has become increasingly vertical, the culture seems to be shifting away from the developers that compose the majority of the development organization to a management culture. The amount of top-down direction is increasing along with rules and procedures.

    Some PTLs are now more like dictators than facilitators. Performance reviews have switched from annual to quarterly, salaries have become more opaque with the elimination of levels in titles. Overall the culture has seemed to shift its emphasis from innovation and craftsmanship to accountability and bureaucracy.

    My advice to management is to check the middle-tier of management and back off the developers. Give them the tools they say they need to succeed and stop looking over their shoulders. Include PTLs in the quarterly review process by allowing their fellow team members to evaluate their PTL's performance. Also, provide an easy mechanism for anonymous feedback so people can be honest without fear of retaliation from management.

    Paylocity Response

    Dec 18, 2015 – Director of Marketing

    We appreciate your contributions while a part of Paylocity and hope that you have landed somewhere great. Thank you for the feedback.


  10. "Account Manager Review"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Arlington Heights, IL
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Arlington Heights, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Paylocity (More than a year)

    Pros

    The company has a friendly atmosphere and a casual dress code that contributes to a positive work environment, overall it helps reduce stress. Everyone is nice and approachable as well so it is a bright place to work

    There are food days for lunch lots of times and everyone really likes to decorate the office and have fun when there is time

    Cons

    As an Account Manager the transition to the role is often described as rough and tough to get the hang of

    After really the transition things can get easier but it is definitely a struggle at first

    Training tries its best to prepare you and in that they do a good job, it can just be a lot if information to absorb and to get yourself in the mind set you need to be in for the job

    Advice to Management

    I think that training can be made a little more in depth regarding some of the areas that the job involves but I think that is already beginning to be addressed at the time I am writing this review.

    I think that overall it might makes things to make the phone system/client assignment organization more organized to make the client side experience better as well as the service side


  11. "Good company culture, poor management"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Specialist in Lake Mary, FL
    Former Employee - Technical Support Specialist in Lake Mary, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Paylocity full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Benefits, casual work environment and lots of reasons to party. Free coffee and hot beverages.

    Cons

    Management is based on favoritism and not experience, which leads to poor decisions and high turnover of employees

    Advice to Management

    Get some training or credentials for the job you accept.


Showing 28 of 452 reviews
Reset Filters