Peabody Reviews | Glassdoor

Peabody Reviews

Updated November 27, 2018
123 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Peabody President and CEO Glenn Kellow
Glenn Kellow
50 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "The work is challenging and my colleagues work hard, but there is also support for work-life balance" (in 7 reviews)

  • "Your peers will be great people to talk with" (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Questionable future for the coal industry" (in 8 reviews)

  • "Long hours coupled with forced overtime" (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Best company I've worked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peabody full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    What I love most about Peabody are the people. I look forward to coming to work each day to work with my team and work on exciting projects. the business has also come a long way in the last 12 months with the introduction of great employee benefits.

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    Peabody Response

    Sep 18, 2018 – Communications Specialist

    We appreciate your passion! We pride ourselves on the quality of our people and offer all our employees the chance to be challenged, live safety and team up with the best.


  2. "Operations Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peabody full-time

    Pros

    There are some of the finest people in the company. Respect.

    Cons

    Only produces coal, no diversity.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in people.

    Peabody Response

    Jan 26, 2018 – Communications Specialist

    Thank you for the feedback. People is one of our core values and we offer an inclusive work environment and engage, recognize and develop employees.

  3. "Overall a good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peabody full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    - Professional work environment
    - Good benefits

    Cons

    - total dependence on coal market
    - recent layoffs

    Advice to Management

    Implement formal project management methodology for whole company

    Peabody Response

    Oct 2, 2018 – Communications Specialist

    We are glad your experience with Peabody was a positive one. Thank you for taking the time to provide your thoughts.


  4. "Procurement Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Procurement Analyst in Saint Louis, MO
    Former Employee - Procurement Analyst in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Peabody full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good Benefits, vacation time, work schedule was flexible, jeans on Friday

    Cons

    Way too political. Be prepared to pledge your allegiance to Trump.

    Advice to Management

    Stay out of the politics and continue to make strides towards a more relaxed environment that is inclusive of everyone.

    Peabody Response

    Oct 2, 2018 – Communications Specialist

    Through our People value, our focus is to provide an inclusive work environment that engages, recognizes and develops employees. Your feedback in this area is valued.


  5. "HR Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Peabody part-time

    Pros

    Great and supportive coworkers, benefits

    Cons

    I have no complaints so far

    Peabody Response

    Sep 18, 2018 – Communications Specialist

    We are glad you’ve enjoyed your experience working at Peabody. Thank you for the feedback!


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peabody full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great team environment- knowledgeable group who really have integrity and the "what is the right thing to do" mentality

    Cons

    More work flexibility and better medical benefits

    Advice to Management

    We have to work on our conservative culture and know that to attract top talent, we have to start working on policies that are competitive with other Fortune 500 Companies.

    Peabody Response

    Aug 13, 2018 – Communications Specialist

    We provide our employees the opportunity to “team up with the best” and we’re happy to hear about your experience. Thank you for your response and input.


  7. "Discriminatory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gillette, WY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gillette, WY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Peabody full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    coal market is turning around

    Cons

    Upper Management doesn't care about the abuses hourly help puts up with by middle management!

    Advice to Management

    Get out of St. Louis! You have people that work for peabody that are being severely miss treated! And upper management either turns a blind eye to it is okaying it flat out docent care about it or all the above! I am going to say all the above!

    Peabody Response

    Jul 24, 2018 – Communications Specialist

    Thank you for your honest review. We encourage you to reach out to your HR representative or contact Tell Peabody to discuss your concerns.

  8. "Nooo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mst
    Current Employee - Mst
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Peabody full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Time off ,benefits bonuses also the tool discount we get at industrial supply. I can’t say much more on pros

    Cons

    Top heavy on supervisors, teamwork applies only to the crew you work on! Lube trucks broke down most of the time!

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees have to say once in awhile!

    Peabody Response

    Apr 26, 2018 – Communications Specialist

    We value your feedback and appreciate your comments as we drive toward continuous improvement in all areas of the business.


  9. "It's Coal Mining"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director
    Former Employee - Director
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Peabody full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Decent benefits and compensation for industry.

    Cons

    Limited recognition. Corporate Management is out of touch with operations.

    Advice to Management

    Let the Regional VPs/GMs manage their regions with more autonomy. Be more honest and transparent in your communications to employees.

    Peabody Response

    Apr 26, 2018 – Communications Specialist

    Thank you for your valued comments. We believe two-way communication with employees is important to our business and we are always evaluating how to communicate effectively throughout the... More


  10. "Challenging work, fun atmosphere, good people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Vice President in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peabody full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The work is challenging and my colleagues work hard, but there is also support for work-life balance. Diversity is welcome (including diversity in viewpoints).

    Cons

    A lack of growth can limit the number of growth opportunities, although the company does work to provide opportunities.

    Peabody Response

    Mar 5, 2018 – Communications Specialist

    We are pleased to hear you are being challenged with your work. We take pride in the diversity of our workforce and encourage employees to share their unique perspectives.