Peabody Reviews

Updated Jul 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
45%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Peabody President and CEO Glenn Kellow
Glenn Kellow
61 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, good benefits, flexible work life balance (depending on dept)(in 11 reviews)

  • "Great People, never had any issues with anyone that I've worked with(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Questionable future for the coal industry(in 7 reviews)

  • "Completely unstable with looming bankruptcy(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "They are a great place to work for I work in housekeeping."

    5.0
     

    I have been working at Peabody

    Pros

    They have great people and they keep you busy and they pay well.

    Cons

    They are very aware of their safety programs very in tune to safety

    Continue reading

    Peabody Response

    June 18, 2020

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoy being part of our team.

  2. "Great People"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Human Resources 

    I worked at Peabody full-time

    Pros

    Peabody has a set of values that guide decisions and an unwavering commitment to safety.

    Cons

    It's unfortunate the challenges the industry is facing and the impact that it has on the great people of Peabody globally.

    Peabody Response

    July 27, 2020

    Thank you for your review.


  3. "Accountant"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Peabody full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits, flexible work life balance (depending on dept)

    Cons

    Not a great outlook on the industry.

    Continue reading

    Peabody Response

    July 27, 2020

    We are glad you enjoy the flexibility and compensation package at Peabody. Thank you for your feedback.

  4. "Peabody"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Truck Driver 

    I worked at Peabody full-time

    Pros

    The people that work there are like family.

    Cons

    Management is extremely poor, they don’t conduct business well.

    Peabody Response

    July 8, 2020

    Thank you for your review and feedback. We are glad you enjoy working as part of a team at Peabody.

  5. "Sad it's coming to an end."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Tech in Wright, WY
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Peabody full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Scheduled time off, good pay

    Cons

    Communication with management needs work

    Continue reading

    Peabody Response

    June 18, 2020

    Thank you for your input and advice for management. We are pleased you enjoyed the schedule and pay.

  6. "Disappointing leaders"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peabody full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, summer Fridays, some flexibility if not hourly role, kind people that try to make improvements but when it gets tough revert back to old school ways

    Cons

    Old school attitude in management team Future of coal Leaders believe in improving and advancing people but are often not sufficiently aligned which resulted in mixed messages and lack of timely, forward moving decisions

    Continue reading

    Peabody Response

    June 18, 2020

    Thank you for your input and advice for our management team. We are glad you were pleased with the compensation and flexible work schedule.

  7. "Company's culture was mostly fair. It was an overall pleasant experience."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Procurement Analyst in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Peabody full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, flexible work schedules, and pretty easy going working climate.

    Cons

    The company's culture was mostly fair. I experienced some unfairness towards the end of my tenure with them. I also know a few other people that had bad experiences. The leadership team were knowledgeable and accommodating. The company went through bankruptcy while I was employed there and unfortunately hard workers such as myself were left with no pay increases, nor bonuses.

    Continue reading

    Peabody Response

    June 18, 2020

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your candid observations and input.

  8. "Challenging Environment"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Peabody full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits; people are generally friendly

    Cons

    Industry is in a challenging position with limited job security. The organization is so flat that there are no opportunities for career advancement.

    Continue reading

    Peabody Response

    June 18, 2020

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We appreciate your input.

  9. "Completely Unstable"

    2.0
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Accountant in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Peabody full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pay is fairly good

    Cons

    Completely unstable with looming bankruptcy Layoffs Decline in benefits

    Peabody Response

    June 18, 2020

    Thank you for your review and candid feedback.

  10. "Excellent Place to Work- Great Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peabody full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great People, never had any issues with anyone that I've worked with. Understanding management. Low pressure the majority of the time.

    Cons

    Limited areas to grow. Industry is obviously declining.

    Peabody Response

    June 18, 2020

    We are pleased you enjoy working at Peabody. Thank you for your input.

Found 151 reviews