Peabody Reviews | Glassdoor

Peabody Reviews

Updated April 13, 2018
111 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Peabody President and CEO Glenn Kellow
Glenn Kellow
42 Ratings

111 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • The work is challenging and my colleagues work hard, but there is also support for work-life balance (in 6 reviews)

  • Your peers will be great people to talk with (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • Questionable future for the coal industry (in 8 reviews)

  • Tends to be bureaucratic and centralized decision making (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Challenging work, fun atmosphere, good people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Vice President in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peabody full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The work is challenging and my colleagues work hard, but there is also support for work-life balance. Diversity is welcome (including diversity in viewpoints).

    Cons

    A lack of growth can limit the number of growth opportunities, although the company does work to provide opportunities.

    Peabody Response

    Mar 5, 2018 – Communications Specialist

    We are pleased to hear you are being challenged with your work. We take pride in the diversity of our workforce and encourage employees to share their unique perspectives.


  2. "Nooo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mst
    Current Employee - Mst
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Peabody full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Time off ,benefits bonuses also the tool discount we get at industrial supply. I can’t say much more on pros

    Cons

    Top heavy on supervisors, teamwork applies only to the crew you work on! Lube trucks broke down most of the time!

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees have to say once in awhile!

  3. "It's Coal Mining"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director
    Former Employee - Director
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Peabody full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Decent benefits and compensation for industry.

    Cons

    Limited recognition. Corporate Management is out of touch with operations.

    Advice to Management

    Let the Regional VPs/GMs manage their regions with more autonomy. Be more honest and transparent in your communications to employees.


  4. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Director in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peabody full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Peabody has been a wonderful place to work for me for nearly 20 years! When I first hired on I had several other offers and chose Peabody because of the people. I've worked for several employers, including other Fortune 500 companies, and Peabody's employee base is the best!

    Cons

    It has been disappointing how hard some groups fight our entire industry

    Advice to Management

    Continue track record of promoting from within

    Peabody Response

    Mar 5, 2018 – Communications Specialist

    We appreciate the kind words and are glad you chose us!


  5. "Strong company in a tough industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Director in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peabody full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits, strong position in the industry

    Cons

    Future prospects of coal industry are negative

    Advice to Management

    Continue to pursue continuous improvement initiatives to maintain competitive advantages

    Peabody Response

    Mar 5, 2018 – Communications Specialist

    Thank you for the response. We agree that continuous improvement is critical to our company’s success, as is demonstrated through our value of Excellence.


  6. "Rating of Peabody"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting Manager
    Current Employee - Accounting Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peabody full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Benefits & Paid Time Off are outstanding

    Cons

    Industry is cyclical and has downturns in the market

    Peabody Response

    Mar 5, 2018 – Communications Specialist

    Thank you for comments. We appreciate the recommendation!


  7. "Operations Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peabody full-time

    Pros

    There are some of the finest people in the company. Respect.

    Cons

    Only produces coal, no diversity.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in people.

    Peabody Response

    Jan 26, 2018 – Communications Specialist

    Thank you for the feedback. People is one of our core values and we offer an inclusive work environment and engage, recognize and develop employees.

  8. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Gillette, WY
    Former Employee - Engineer in Gillette, WY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peabody full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great Company, Great Benefits, and an opportunity to grow

    Cons

    Long distance from town to worksite (Wyoming)

    Peabody Response

    Jan 26, 2018 – Communications Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to comment. We appreciate the kind words and are pleased to hear you would recommend us to prospective employees.


  9. "From A Technology Standpoint"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Technician
    Current Employee - Field Technician
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Peabody full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great pay
    Paid time off
    Ability to advance if you apply yourself

    Cons

    Very few understand the importance of field technology and big data. As much as I do enjoy mining, the deck is stacked against it; any competitive edge that can be gained from leveraging field data and translating that into efficiency seeems largely overlooked due to initial cost.

    There seems to also be very cliquish attitudes within the mines. Qualifications, attitude, and proven performance dont necessarily translate into a leadership role should one come open.

    Higher management also rarely comes out to the mine sites. This really gives employees the impression that we, a mining company, are not being led by people deeply involved in the culture.

    Advice to Management

    Look forward further than short term paybacks. While initial capital cost may be large, long term savings brought forth by higher accountability and higher efficiency will almost always win out. Also, be more open minded to the new mining technologies of today; while some claims may seem outlandish I believe that proper education is needed at a higher level on some options that exist.

    Interact with employees more often to help build rapport that is needed for employees to feel like more than just a number. Company wide emails and fliers arent the same as face to face encounters.

    Peabody Response

    Jan 29, 2018 – Communications Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We agree that embracing technology is an important component of being an industry leader, and we also agree that personal conversations are the best approach to company... More


  10. "Hopeful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Peabody full-time

    Pros

    Peabody was once at the top of their game and provided excellent salary and benefits. Hopefully they will return to that some day soon.

    Cons

    Too many people related in some way.

    Peabody Response

    Dec 5, 2017 – Communications Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.


Showing 111 of 115 reviews
Reset Filters