Peace Corps "isolation" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Peace Corps Employee Reviews about "isolation"

Updated Nov 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
84%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Peace Corps Acting Director Carrie Hessler-Radelet
Carrie Hessler-Radelet
525 Ratings
Pros
  • "New Language and Culture Appreciation(in 87 reviews)

  • "Opportunity to learn a new language and culture(in 50 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some volunteers struggle more than others due to the lack of language or exposure to other cultures(in 184 reviews)

  • "distance from family, feelings of isolation(in 66 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "isolation"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "A wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Volunteer 

    I worked at Peace Corps full-time

    Pros

    learned a ton, great support

    Cons

    the experience can be isolating

    Peace Corps2019-11-21
  2. "Rewarding, Fair, Difficult Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Education Volunteer 

    I worked at Peace Corps for more than a year

    Pros

    -Language Acquisition -Cross-Cultural Experience -Build skills in non-profit, development sector and skills in specific volunteer field -Create many lasting relationships, personal and professional

    Cons

    -Isolation -Health and Saftey Concerns -Peace Corps bureaucracy is incredibly frustrating -Lack of transparency about Peace Corps policy and status within countries, volunteers feel out of the loop

    Peace Corps2019-11-19
  3. "The Toughest Job You'll Ever Love is so true"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Volunteer 

    I have been working at Peace Corps full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Make your our schedule/ and work

    Cons

    Can be isolating and emotionally tough at times

    Peace Corps2019-09-13
  4. "You get more than you give, better experience than any classroom I’ve ever sat in."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peace Corps full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meaning, purpose, world-class training, get paid to develop fluency in a new language, stepping stone to become a diplomat, understand first-hand for two years what living in poverty means, diversity champions, truly the best ambassadorship program America has.

    Cons

    It can get lonely, feel isolating, people might think you’re a spy. Medical can be jaded and overlook serious medical issues. There is a small but very real frat/basic culture in each Peace Corps class that loves to party on the weekends.

    Advice to Management

    Know that you run the world’s best language training program. Keep it up! Be vigilant about volunteers’ health. If someone is sick, bring them in. If you don’t have the resources to see everyone, send them to a doctor you trust. You can’t skimp on health!

    Peace Corps2019-07-13
  5. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Peace Corps part-time

    Pros

    I loved my experience, my site, and everything about it. Yes, it was challenging, as many new experiences are. I felt supported at site by PC staff and I was able to do any projects I desired.

    Cons

    Isolation is a real thing. Be sure to connect with locals and make friends early.

    Peace Corps2018-12-22
  6. "Wonderful work environment and mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Peace Corps Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peace Corps full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a RPCV, working for Peace Corps has been an amazing opportunity to be able to share my stories from service, and to also engage with the new and upcoming generation of Peace Corps volunteers. Peace Corps is a wonderful agency and organization!

    Cons

    As a field-based recruiter, there are perks of being able to work from home with the flexibility, but for some it could be a bit of a challenge to not have an office to go to to check in. It can be a bit isolating at times, but that's when you can reach out to your mentor or your team as well.

    Peace Corps2018-11-05
  7. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Lawyer in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peace Corps for less than a year

    Pros

    -friendly people -good post-job benefits -free living expenses

    Cons

    -Isolation -heightened scrutiny from locals

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on diversity when hiring

    Peace Corps2018-09-23
  8. "Volunteer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Peace Corps full-time

    Pros

    Skill building, language learning, leadership opportunities

    Cons

    Isolation, medical care sub-par, no guarantees for productive work

    Peace Corps2018-09-25
  9. "PCV review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - PCV 

    I worked at Peace Corps full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Living abroad, cultural exchange, freedom in projects, healthcare, looks great on a resume, very rewarding work

    Cons

    policies, regulations, staff-volunteer dissonance, isolation in site placements

    Peace Corps2018-08-26
  10. "SCD Volunteer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Peace Corps full-time

    Pros

    -takes great care of its volunteers/great support -amazing and life changing experience and opportunity -health and dental insurance

    Cons

    -challenging (weather, illnesses, loneliness/isolation, food)

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Peace Corps2017-12-14
Found 66 reviews