Peak Campus Reviews | Glassdoor

Peak Campus Reviews

Updated December 13, 2017
132 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Robert E. Clark
72 Ratings

132 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Great Company with alot of benefits (in 9 reviews)

  • There are many pros for working at one of the best student housing companies in the nation (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • Any Student Housing Management is going to be hard (in 10 reviews)

  • My particular property manager at the location I worked was extremely unprofessional (in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Peak Campus full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Incredible company who truly cares about their people. Their values are spot on and their people truly matter most.

    Cons

    Can't think of any!

    Advice to Management

    Keep looking for ways to recognize part time staff.

    Peak Campus Response

    Apr 28, 2017 – Talent Coordinator

    Thank you for your review and advice. At Peak Campus, people really do matter most and we are glad that hear that you have experienced this first hand. We are always striving to provide recognition... More


  2. "Leasing Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Peak Campus full-time

    Pros

    The residents were great and friendly!

    Cons

    Management was unorganized and I always had to work.

    Advice to Management

    I wish you would have treated your employees better.

  3. "Peak Campus Employment Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager/Bookkeeper in Murfreesboro, TN
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager/Bookkeeper in Murfreesboro, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peak Campus full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Peak Campus provides a lot of opportunities for quick upward movement. They offer a nice benefit package as far as health care and retirement. They extend as many training opportunities as possible.

    Cons

    Due to working for the management company of Peak Campus and the ownership group of your respective complex, sometimes there is an overabundance of oversight and redundancy in reporting. Furthermore, compared to market averages Peak salaries are not quite as substantial as some competitors; however, that could be counteracted by benefits packages and a few other factors.


  4. "Great Culture - Fast Paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peak Campus full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Trending towards more contemporary work environment, great people, fun events, good 401k program, ceiling for growth potential is very high

    Cons

    Sometimes it is difficult to be exonerated for your work, unrealistic expectations at times

    Advice to Management

    Offer more flexible PTO policy, add work from home days

    Peak Campus Response

    Nov 7, 2017 – Director of Talent Management

    Thank you taking the time to leave a review and provide feedback. We are happy to hear you have enjoyed the work environment and people. We are excited about the upcoming office refresh and believe... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Aqua Palms"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leasing Consultant in Tallahassee, FL
    Former Employee - Leasing Consultant in Tallahassee, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peak Campus part-time

    Pros

    Good company values, plenty of overtime during turn, flexible hours

    Cons

    Hourly rate was just above minimum wage, have to deal with a lot of verbal abuse and threats from residents and their guarantors

    Advice to Management

    Don't criticize consultants for defending themselves when attacked by upset residents because you refuse to engage with them

    Peak Campus Response

    Oct 31, 2017 – Director of Talent Management

    Greetings! Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to see your overall experience with Peak Campus was positive. I can certainly understand that customer service in our industry is tough and... More


  6. "Ehh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Peak Campus part-time

    Pros

    Close to home so low travel time. Cheaper rent, but pay was minimum wage. Looks decent on job resume. Not much else I can say

    Cons

    Poor and untrained management. Insensitive to employee needs. Not much of a team environment. Favoritism played a big role at this location. Extremely poor customer service

    Advice to Management

    Train employees with patience and effort. Better upper level management would lead to more efficient employees that actually want to be there.

    Peak Campus Response

    Nov 7, 2017 – Director of Talent Management

    Thank you for your feedback. Overall, we do provide a great platform for people to get great experience that can serve them well no matter what or where they decide to go for a career- though we... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "People Matter Most"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Property Manager
    Current Employee - Property Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peak Campus full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Always areas for advancement and growth. They value hard workers and care about their employees.

    Cons

    They promote Home Office employees more frequently and make new positions for them while sometimes onsite staff are left behind with general positions.

    Peak Campus Response

    Oct 17, 2017 – Director of Talent Management

    Peak Property Manager, Thank you for your review. Your engagement and feedback is very important to us. People is a word that is almost synonymous with Peak and I am happy to see that hear as well... More

  8. "Great company and management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leasing Consultant in Gainesville, FL
    Former Employee - Leasing Consultant in Gainesville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Peak Campus part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    PEAK really cares about its employees and loves to reward for great work. They provide a lot of training and there is room to move up.

    Cons

    Some apartment complexes in different locations are better than others so depending on the location the work may be harder.

    Advice to Management

    Keep encouraging!

    Peak Campus Response

    Oct 11, 2017 – Director of Talent Management

    We truly appreciate your review. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience and felt rewarded for your work. And yes, every... More


  9. "Good property management experience, at a cost."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leasing Consultant
    Former Employee - Leasing Consultant
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peak Campus full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I gained a lot of valuable property management experience with Peak. After leaving my position and posting my resume online, I was contacted within days by another company looking for people with my experience, training and skills that I gained by working with Peak. The company feels really small, and I always felt comfortable reaching out to different properties or corporate on occasion when I reach out, and The Pointe was always a great resource when I needed some ideas or had questions about policies. PTO accumulation is great, 401k matching is top tier. I gained a thick skin and the ability to handle anything thrown my way at Peak Campus.

    Cons

    Unfortunately my experience with Peak was still mostly negative. I lived on site and worked full time. I felt like management did not respect my time, I was always asked to come in and help without compensation, I had 26 on-call lockouts one night and was still required to be in at 9:30AM the next day, I was expected to answer resident complaints and questions even during my time off, and give excellent customer service even when somebody was pounding on my door screaming and threatening me at 2AM. Not once did management have my back on these things. I was even told at one point that if I didn't come in during my final exam for a call bank that I may lose my job. There was always some new project from corporate that required me to drop everything and stay late, or have to chose between getting in trouble for not finishing things on time and staying til 9PM. High turnover had us constantly understaffed and we weren't cut any slack for that. People just didn't matter most at my property. We were never permitted to give great customer service. Often times, due to maintenance turnover, residents would be without showers, working toilets or appliances, and we pretty much had to tell them that was their problem and that our lease didn't guarantee anything would work. Pay and compensation is the lowest out of any property management company I've worked for. I'm making more than double what I was at Peak for the same work, and I'm treated better while doing it. I've never felt worse about myself and my performance than when I was working at Peak Campus, and while I'll always be grateful to them for starting me off in a career I love, I resented almost every day up until the day I left. After working elsewhere and seeing how much better it can be, I don't think I'd consider working for Peak Campus again.

    Advice to Management

    Stop the firestorm projects unless you're willing to lend a hand, respect the need for work-life balance, especially when you're hiring primarily students. School should come first. Re-evaluate how you handle your on-site teams.

    Peak Campus Response

    Oct 23, 2017 – Director of Talent Management

    Thank you for your reply. We truly value feedback from all of our associates. We strive to provide a culture and environment where people love to come to work. I am happy to hear you have found a... More


  10. "Room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leasing Consultant in Indianapolis, IN
    Current Employee - Leasing Consultant in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Peak Campus full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Peaks core beliefs are excellent at a corporate level but they are not executed at a property level. The potential to make good money is there when generous commission is approved. Great place to begin a career in property management/real estate/sales to get a feel for what it’s about.

    Cons

    Quite a few...see below. Please please please do something more about promoting from within and check in on all employees development/Interest with the company not just leasing and property managers who are assigned a “coach”. To further their development with Peak and don’t necessarily deserve it. You are missing out on major talent by not doing so and your committed employees will take what they learned at Peak elsewhere.

    Advice to Management

    It is critical that Peak get Managment to stress professionalism towards ALL employees. Favoritism in the work place should be prohibited as well as cliques. Property Managers need to be monitored more closely and have a more thorough hiring process to weed out immature individuals who are not really team leaders but actually driving the office apart rather than bringing it together as a team. Supposedly the hiring process for property managers is rigorous but these certain individuals are fooling you in HR. Property managers should also be prohibited from sitting in their office all day with the door closed while leasing consultants run the show and have no support especially when their is no leasing manager at the property. You need to have some type of survey given to employees to anonymously rate their management and let you know what’s really going on. Maintenance is undervalued and nothing is ever for them to celebrate all they do for the property. Also, Peak wants us to market and run events with zero dollars and zero concessions and get tenants to renew with rent going up for the renewal lease term when they are already unhappy with so many different things at the property such as outrageous conservice bills when their is a faulty HVAC system. We have people who never use their air condition and pay ridiculous overages. Full time leasing consultants need more rights in one site since property managers delegate so many tasks to them and since People matter most and we are supposed to always do the right thing give us more rights for the work we do and the excellent service we would like to follow through with here rather than having to wait on approval for every ridiculous little thing from property mgmt or Regionals (who aren’t ever there or don’t know the residents like we do) it’s common sense also embarrassing when you have the ability to make a better customer service decision than your PM and cannot do so. Also, $25 commission per lease is a joke. It wouldn’t kill Peak to pay at least $50. I loved when it was $100 but that was under a different PM and I can understand how that cant last all year but if you have a property that is behind, up the commission from that measly $25 bucks. Lastly, commission should not be based off first point of contact bc someone answered the phone, it should be paid to who gets them to sign and tours them. Any one can get a prospect in for a tour if they ask, it’s not fair when you have a phone hog in the office who then leaves for the day because they are part time and I tour and close the sale as well as follow up on them and get them ready for move in. That’s totally unfair. Homework should be prohibited in the workplace. If that’s the case I want to be able to bring my other job to work with me, my kid. Who gets paid to do homework ? Unacceptable. More community involvement, philanthropy work would be nice to show how “Peak Cares.” Promote from within & preferably within the same property because I am tired of training new people who make more than me to run the show for them. Instead someone from out of state comes in or someone off the street with zero knowledge and is less competent then people who are there and want to be promoted, not to mention do the work without the title and the pay.

    Peak Campus Response

    Oct 23, 2017 – Director of Talent Management

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. First, I want to apologize for my tardy reply. I am sorry it has taken me a bit longer to respond and I hope you see this is not typical.

    I... More


Showing 132 of 134 reviews
Reset Filters