Pearson Scorer Reviews | Glassdoor

Pearson Scorer Reviews

Updated Aug 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Pearson CEO John Fallon
John Fallon
16 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Scorer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Test Scorer in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pearson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive environment, interesting work, loved student essays, good bonuses

    Cons

    Assignments were too brief. Would love more work

    Advice to Management

    I'd send me some work.

    Pearson2017-08-27
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Scorer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Test Scorer in Carolina, PR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pearson for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home and have a good pay. Good training online. It's for someone looking for extra money because it's only one and half weeks of work in a year.

    Cons

    There's no cons. They are very concise giving instructions and are always available. The only cons as a scorer it's only a week and a half of scoring in a year.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up the great work.

    Pearson2017-06-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Was 5 stars, no longer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Professional Scorer in Bowling Green, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pearson for more than 5 years

    Pros

    1. Work from home. 2. Extreme flexibility when it comes to scheduling hours. 3. Adequate training and good resources to help score accurately. 4. Decent pay and incentives.

    Cons

    1. "Projects" as Pearson calls them only come up a few times a year. 2. A project lasts about a month, so there isn't a lot of money to be made. 3. You can't count on being hired or even qualifying for a project. AND WORST OF ALL... 4. They are apparently hiring too many people. I was on a project that ended today. BUT, it was not supposed to end until June 23. There are too many people working on... it. I guess they love finishing 2 weeks early, but I do not love losing out on 2 weeks pay.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You really need to pare down the workforce and use your most qualified scorers. I am very disappointed that this project ended early.

    Pearson2017-06-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Scoring Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Professional Scorer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pearson for more than a year

    Pros

    Being out of there is the only pro I can think of at this time. A miserable place to work.

    Cons

    Management, salary, dishonesty, hostile work environment.

    Pearson2017-05-12
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Lack of organization and management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Scorer in Mesa, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pearson

    Pros

    Scoring jobs are easy to get and it's easy work, hired online, only requirement is a college degree. There can be a lot of downtime, you can bring reading material.

    Cons

    The work is very boring. There's too much training and everything is redundantly over-explained. There are many office rules and restrictions, you're not allowed to use your phone or internet, not enough bathrooms with lines at break and lunch time, office is stuffy and A/C inadequate, not enough employee parking. There's no HR or anyone to talk to about issues like scheduling or payroll errors, sometimes there are... conflicting answers about these things depending on who you ask.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Where is the management? Be available for employee concerns.

    Pearson2017-05-07
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Can't get their (tech) act together!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Test Scorer in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Pearson for less than a year

    Pros

    If you are desperate for money , I guess that $ 75 isn't bad for three hours of (pressure filled) work.

    Cons

    Let's start with the training. Although you potentially *could* have looked up everything on-line, it is impossible to try to toggle back and forth between portfolios and scoring rubrics. I had to print out about 100 pages of information, much of it in color. That was on my own dime. In addition, when I was scoring a portfolio, a video would get hung up, and I would have to call tech support. I would be on the... phone with them for literally 45 minutes to an hour--unpaid. If I *did* want to get paid for it, (they would pay for up to 1 hour a week) you had to go into their payroll system, which was also messed up. I had to call the payroll support people, who would always give me a temporary password (Welcome1). I'd re-set my password, and the next week the same exact thing would happen again. In addition, you only have 3 hours to score a portfolio. If you are trying to do a thorough job reviewing the plethora of information students send it to review, it might take you a bit longer, but they only want you to take three hours so that you don't "over-think it". (What?) The final straw was when I began one portfolio (you have 36 hours to complete it once you start) and went to log in the next day to finish it. It wasn't there. What? After spending forever on the phone with tech support, (same song--different verse), I was told that this particular portfolio had accidentally been downloaded to "MANY" scorers that last evening, and that only the person who finished it first would get paid for it. SO...I spent two hours working on a portfolio when I am not going to get paid for it? Last straw! I have a Doctorate in Education, taught for 19 years, and have worked at the university level with many student interns and teachers. I am the exact kind of person that they want scoring EdTPA....but no more. I was born at night but not last night. Forget it!.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get the technical issues cleared up! Allow scorers to take more than 3 hours if need be.

    Pearson2017-02-04
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great temp position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Test Scorer in Centennial, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pearson for less than a year

    Pros

    As a temporary scorer at a regional site, I got to meet a lot of like-minded people. No one took their job too seriously (although everyone was professional) because they knew it wasn't a career position. Pay was pretty decent for a temp gig and incentives helped.

    Cons

    If you don't like the temporary aspect of scoring, probably not the right move. The scoring system broke daily resulting in uncertain work loads.

    Advice to Management

    Morale was pretty low at the regional site. Maybe longer than 30 minutes for lunch? And a real allowance for smaller perks like coffee?

    Pearson2016-12-16
  8. Helpful (4)

    "decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Scorer in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends

    I worked at Pearson for less than a year

    Pros

    guaranteed hours, good pay, break room, nice people

    Cons

    temp position, not a lot of direction, if you dont understand the work you never will,

    Pearson2016-12-16
  9. Helpful (2)

    "A Good Work Environment but Few Contracts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Professional Scorer in Owatonna, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pearson for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People are nice, management is helpful, the work is not difficult, and there can be some flexibility in scheduling.

    Cons

    There are not many contracts that are available. At best, this job offers occasional extra money, nit no future.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. The employees seem to be happy with everything except for the fact that there is not enough work for full time.

    Pearson2016-10-17
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Professional Scorer in Dallas, TX

    I worked at Pearson

    Pros

    I enjoy reading and scoring students essays.

    Cons

    It's seasional -about 3 months per year.

    Pearson2016-09-03
Found 124 reviews