KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Pearson

Engaged Employer

Pearson

Add a Review

Pearson Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated Jan 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Pearson CEO Andy Bird
Andy Bird
194 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work - life balance(depends on the team)(in 403 reviews)

  • "Work from home, great coworkers, Growing fast(in 359 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Disorganized structure, lack of communication with upper management(in 150 reviews)

  • "Senior Management had favourites that received more accolades(in 99 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Pearson and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "senior management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Overall, it's a great company

      Nov 21, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company is growing by leaps and bounds, flexibility with work at home privileges, bonus structure and 401k match. Great coworkers and closed the week between Christmas and New Years.

      Cons

      Work/life balance can be tricky at times, and some senior management can act a bit back stabbing/childish. Once acquired by Pearson, a lot of the enjoyment and personal touch of the company started lacking.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Contractor, more than 1 year

      Pearson specializes in hypocrisy

      Dec 8, 2020 - Technical Project Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There really aren't any, but, if you're desperate enough to tolerate very bad treatment, you may consider it better than being unemployed.

      Cons

      When I worked at Pearson they forced contractors to work *a lot* of unpaid overtime. They told us that if we entered any more than 8 hours/day in our time sheets our time sheets wouldn't be approved, but my team had to work lots of night/weekend/holiday hours. It wasn't uncommon for people on my team to work 20 hour days, yet they were only paid for 8 hours. My former co-workers tell me that conditions there have only gotten worse since I've left. While they were treating their workers this way, senior management loved to talk about how we were "helping learners". The teachers buying their products have no idea what a sweatshop environment those products are produced in.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Turmoil

      Feb 20, 2020 - Finance 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company has good benefits and flexible working schedule. Also have great coworkers

      Cons

      Company is in a constant state of change, regular layoffs and reorgs. Senior management needs to be overhauled.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Just don't

      Jul 23, 2019 - Online Enrollment Advisor in Chandler, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of vacation time, nice facilities.

      Cons

      I thought for a long time about whether I wanted to post any reviews of this company, because I am honestly so much happier now that they're in my rearview mirror and am hesitant to relive things. But I really want to caution potential applicants. They are good at making their employees very jaded while stringing them along with broken promises about how things are going to get better. The job descriptions on their website do not match what is actually needed for the roles. Training is a joke, you learn most of what you need to know from your peers once you get to the floor. The systems are outdated and not built to handle the volume of leads coming in for each school so everything breaks constantly and none of the systems are linked to each other. They legally aren't allowed to fire you over not meeting enrollment goals or write about it in your yearly review but they'll always find a way to punish you or fire you because of it. Senior management puts it on ground level employees to influence culture and middle management are not bought in to company values. This is also a for-profit company and they run all their non-profit college enrollment departments like for profit schools. You aren't there to help students, you're there to sell to them. The departments are filled with ex-University of Phoenix employees and culture is really passive aggressive and toxic. Managers are useless for the most part and are just there to micromanage. Goals are unattainable with how leads are managed and the for profit culture really comes through when you express concerns about how students are being handled or how employees are being set up to fail. All the employees are forced to become arrogant and anti-collaborative in order to get anywhere and move up. The pay is also not consistent and some new hires make more than tenured employees in the same role. Pay is not competitive based on other industry positions and has less benefits, no commission or work from home perks. This is a good job to have for a year if you have no experience in enrollment and want to get some before applying to a real school, because they pretty much hire anyone with a bachelor's degree. They are good at trapping employees and gaslighting though so dont stay too long or believe any of their promises.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Pearson Education - could be great.

      Jun 11, 2008 - Program Director in Newark, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The location to the leafy northern suburbs is great. There are some terrific people. The company has got a very diversified business with lot's of different opportunities for young people. Working in the education sphere can be a rewarding, special work. If you are associated with product development or management, you are always talking with very educated, learned people. Consequently, you have a very literate workplace and colleagues. There are numerous locations at Pearson and some opportunity to move around. It's nice to work for a company that includes well known brands like The Economist, The Financial Times and Penguin.

      Cons

      The CEO of North America is an ogre. Marjorie is either clueless or like that she doesn't have to be...no one seems to know. Luckily, he has some good people working for him. Unfortunately, he tried to micromanage the business. The education business is getting smacked around in the popular press due to textbook prices. While not all of the criticisms are valid, senior management appears lackluster in its ability to respond with innovative solutions. Publishing is a very old business and retains an old culture that is feeling the weight of the Web on it's business model. The business will either transform away from print or become much smaller in the future.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      No room for advancement

      Sep 13, 2018 - Test Center Manager in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You have a job and paycheck.

      Cons

      As a Test Center Manager there is no room for advancement. Pay is just enough to keep you there, but not really live off of. Very questionable senior management/decision making

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      The Beginning of the End..

      Jun 19, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some divisions have bonuses, summer Fridays, and other perks. Overall, I've always worked with nice people and have had opportunities to relocate and advance in the company.

      Cons

      I've grown disappointed in what I see around me over the years I've been at Pearson. - I find that Senior Management keeps its head in the sand and does nothing to correct bad behavior of their direct reports. (i.e., bad management, treating people poorly, wasting company funds, etc.). - I've noticed that many people are in roles that they have no business being in and yet get promoted up the ranks. (Example: I've seen people who've never had anyone report to them become Directors with full teams -- and treat them horribly because they don't know how to mentor people). - There are a number of employees who take advantage of the "work from home" policy -- which is a perk, but one employee in particular does absolutely nothing. She doesn't attend meetings, cancels or doesn't show up to her own, and is never reachable by phone when I try to call her. Several people have complained to her manager and nothing has been done. It is even rumored that she actually has another job and is collecting a Pearson paycheck at the same time. Yet, does absolutely nothing for Pearson.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Enormous media company with a strong mission, but nearly impossible to get anything done

      Mar 1, 2012 -  in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pearson opens a lot of doors to partners and has a ton of influence in the market. The benefits are great, you have a lot of autonomy and flexibility. It is a great place to work if you are a parent-- they seem to be sensitive to different schedules and lifestyles. The overall mission is good and Margorie Scardino, the CEO is a rock star.

      Cons

      This company is enormous and depending on your role you can be totally isolated. Senior management talks about change but it moves at a snails pace. There are some brilliant people here but a ton of mediocrity and a ton of people who have been here their entire professional lives-- making change that much more difficult.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Going through some growing (or shrinking) pains

      Oct 24, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fantastic life/work flexibility, not micro-managed, ability and freedom to create my own programs. Very happy with my specific group.

      Cons

      Ever since Fallon took over, it has started to feel like we're a bunch of used car salesmen. There's so much talk of efficacy, but the reality feels like it's more about lining the pockets of senior management, being in bed with the government and gaining power.

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee

      The left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing

      Aug 20, 2008 - Marketing Manager in Upper Saddle River, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great flexibility in terms of being allowed to work from home, flexible hours, etc. They publish great products and are very well respected in the marketplace by both customers and competitors alike. They really do want to be innovate with new products and technology. My coworkers are great people who are passionate about what they do.

      Cons

      It takes forever to get anything done -- too much bureaucracy and too many priorities. No one seems to know who does what any more. I have coworkers all over the country and communication is very poor across groups in all areas. Senior management is very out of touch with morale issues and very focused on "the bottom line". We are short-staffed in all areas but the workload and expectations have increased exponentially. It's not a fun place to work any more.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 99 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Pearson Job Seekers

    Educational Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Pearson? Share Your Experiences

    or