Peet's Barista Reviews | Glassdoor

Peet's Barista Reviews

Updated Jan 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
81%
Recommend to a Friend
Peet's CEO Shawn Conway
Shawn Conway
0 Rating
  1. "Amazing job with great flexibility!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in Berkeley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peet's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Flexible schedule -Good pay of $16 -Sick paid leave -Amazing coworkers

    Cons

    -Your clothes will always have the stench of coffee but it's not that bad

    Advice to Management

    Be sure to check in with employees more!

    Peet's2020-01-18
  2. "Great company for part time work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Barista in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Peet's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Encouraging culture, happy people to work with, fast-paced attitude, room for growth if wanted

    Cons

    Extensive trainings that lasted a little long, especially for employees not intending to stay long term

    Peet's2020-01-14
  3. "Pretty great first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Peet's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    ~ Nice management ~ They do support you in training and such ~ Free food & coffee ~ Overall, it's alright.

    Cons

    ~ Very dependent on who you get, some people are great some, no so much ~ Drama seems to be a part of every store I've been too ~ Some stores have terrible management and are all over the place

    Peet's2020-01-07
  4. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Cafe Barista 

    I have been working at Peet's part-time

    Pros

    Adjustable schedule, very helpful if you're a student.

    Cons

    I don't think there are any.

    Peet's2020-01-06
  5. "Ok part-time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peet's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get discounts: free coffee and take homes

    Cons

    Disorganized management: shift leads constantly have a need to ask for covers

    Peet's2020-01-15
  6. "Felt like I was taken advantage of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peet's part-time

    Pros

    Coworkers and my manager were awesome people, free drink and pastry on shift, discounts

    Cons

    They have you work just under full time to avoid giving health benefits, they reduced the employee discount shortly after I started, online ordering

    Peet's2020-01-07
  7. "Good Part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista 
    Recommends

    I worked at Peet's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free coffee, free pastries, free tea

    Cons

    Hard to get time off

    Peet's2019-12-18
  8. "Work here to feel like a robot!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Peet's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good discounts (3 free drinks per shift, 1 free pastry per shift, unlimited free drip coffee/tea, 1 free 1/2 lb of coffee or tea tin per week, 30% off of everything) - Fellow coworkers tend to be younger, liberal - Good training program - Easy to transfer locations - Credit card tips allow for more tip opportunity - The customers that are awesome are VERY awesome

    Cons

    - Very little pay for how much you as an employee have to go through (often dirty work conditions, standing on your feet for up to 4 hours straight, ridiculously rude/entitled/aggressive customers) - Always understaffed, somehow - Too many expectations for a glorified fast food job - As a barista, I'm often put on bar by myself (expected to make anywhere from 30-100 drinks in an hour) due to lack of available employees to be scheduled, up to 3 hours-- this is incredibly tiring and physically painful for a minimum wage job - Awful tips - Managers will often harass you off the clock to get you to come in & cover/pick up shifts

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Think about your employees and not ONLY the customers or money for once-- they're human too! They're what keeps your store running, and what keeps customers to come back

    Peet's2019-12-30
  9. "Fun but rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Barista 

    I worked at Peet's part-time

    Pros

    fun, fast paced, cool relations with customers

    Cons

    its a part time job, so don't expect everything to be perfect

    Peet's2019-12-14
  10. "Overall good job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Peet's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Coffee is really good. Free half pound of coffee or tin of tea. You see the same people everyday.

    Cons

    You see the same people everyday.

    Advice to Management

    Schedule more people in the morning.

    Peet's2019-12-10
Found 220 reviews