Peet's Retail Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Peet's Retail Associate Reviews

Updated Mar 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
Peet's CEO Shawn Conway
Shawn Conway
0 Rating
  1. "Great part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Associate 

    I worked at Peet's part-time

    Pros

    Free coffee and flexible work hours

    Cons

    I don’t have any cons

    Peet's2019-03-20
  2. "Retail Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Berkeley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peet's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment and over fun space to work in.

    Cons

    Busy shifts and sometimes long closes.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Peet's2018-04-13
  3. "Peet's Coffee & Tea Retail Associate 2015-2016"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Peet's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good food, good drinks, good people; work isn't too bad and you get to learn a lot about the coffee industry and acquire brewing skills not many people have. This is a great student part-time job.

    Cons

    Hours can be a drag. If you aren't a service oriented person definitely not the job for you. Be prepared for stressful shifts.

    Peet's2018-02-04
  4. "Retail Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Associate in Belmont, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peet's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free drinks while working, free food, free coffee and tea, great health benefits (including dental insurance), good base pay.

    Cons

    Inconsistent hours, schedules come out extremely late, high-stress environment, a lot of accountability, high expectations.

    Advice to Management

    Participate in profit sharing, increase wages past just above minimum wage, participate in more sales contests to incentivize employees.

    Peet's2017-01-01
  5. "Retail Salesperson and Barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Associate in Mill Valley, CA
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Peet's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People always wanted to teach me more. Peet's did a good job with training so that I felt prepared.

    Cons

    It felt hard to move up from my position. Managers didn't seem satisfied with the company and that rubbed off.

    Peet's2016-12-17
  6. "Retail Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Associate in Fair Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Peet's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Awesome people, awesome product. Flexible scheduling.

    Cons

    High turnover, very little upward mobility.

    Advice to Management

    Don't hire people who do not like coffee!

    Peet's2016-10-19
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Low wages and hours, great coworkers and customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Barista/Retail Associate in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Peet's

    Pros

    Peet's is a great place to meet long-term friends, network and be socially and physically active while working. Of course, that goes for lots of coffee shops and retail positions...

    Cons

    Reviews with raises occur once a year. My highest raise for "exceeds expectations" was $.31/hour - I was training to become a shift supervisor at the time. I've never heard of a higher raise that wasn't attached to a promotion. Hours are hard to come by until you make shift supervisor, which offers just a dollar raise for a huge increase in responsibility and months of rigmarole.

    Advice to Management

    When you see talent, promote. Enough with the carrot and stick. I made shift lead within 4 months at your competitor's. Do that. Recognize talent and reward effort. That's all.

    Peet's2016-09-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Retail Associate in Emeryville, CA

    I have been working at Peet's for more than a year

    Pros

    10 min breaks come in handy. Learning bar skills. Vacation and sick days.

    Cons

    No promoting within the company. Management only care about the numbers. No training system basically have to fend for yourself

    Peet's2016-09-16
  9. "Great company, great coffee, great coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista/Retail Associate in Vienna, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Peet's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great coffee Amazing focus on teaching their employees about coffee and tea Very easy environment to work

    Cons

    Not everyone always pulls their weight all the time, but that's to be expected. Some inconsistencies between upper management style of dealing with problems, but also to be expected sometimes.

    Peet's2016-08-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good times, good coffee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista/Retail Associate in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Peet's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone I worked with was very friendly. Being on bar was pretty fun. You get free coffee and a free pastry during your shift. Our managers were always trying to make improvements to the store, and occasionally had competitions for us to win free stuff. You get tips every week. The regular customers were fun to talk to.

    Cons

    Some people weren't getting the hours they wanted. We were short-staffed at times. Your schedule doesn't really stay consistent. A lot of people come and go. You'll probably burn yourself at some point.

    Advice to Management

    Be aware of people asking for more hours. At my store there were plenty of people complaining they weren't getting enough hours, and then they just hired more people.

    Peet's2016-08-26
Found 33 reviews