Peet's Retail Sales and Barista Reviews | Glassdoor

Peet's Retail Sales and Barista Reviews

Updated May 22, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
61%
Recommend to a Friend
Peet's CEO Shawn Conway
Shawn Conway
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales and Barista in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peet's part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -great training -great people, you will build lifelong friendships hear -great coffee

    Cons

    -the company took a turn for the worst when they started trying to follow in Starbucks footsteps

    Advice to Management

    Go back to what Alfred Peet wanted, Just great coffee! Stick to your niche.

    Peet's2016-08-29
  2. "Good pay. terrible managment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales and Barista in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Peet's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The other baristas are very nice to work, nice getting cash tips at the end of every week. training.

    Cons

    Management doesnt really care, your schedule will radically change each week, and you will not get as many hours as you want.

    Advice to Management

    Stop overhiring at each store so you can give your employees the hours they need.

    Peet's2017-05-22
  3. "barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Retail Sales and Barista in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Peet's

    Pros

    meet new people and create amazing drinks

    Cons

    A lot of cleaning and little time to finish

    Advice to Management

    give more informative instructions onto making drinks

    Peet's2017-01-12
  4. "Good Entry to Retail and Coffee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales and Barista in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Peet's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coffee and Tea knowledge, Barista skills and regulars

    Cons

    Hard to get promoted and short breaks

    Advice to Management

    Better Pay and/or longer breaks

    Peet's2016-12-07
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Hit or miss!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Retail Sales and Barista in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Peet's

    Pros

    Great coffee and products to offer, the beautiful aroma of coffee beans as we grind them for customers or for bar coffee. We have wonderful regulars who we cater to in order to make them feel appreciated and valued, and they appreciate us in return. Depending on your regular team members, shift leads, and management, it can be a fun job. There may be opportunities to grow from within, but not guaranteed. Definitely speak up if you truly want to move up, or else they're just going to hire from the outside.

    Show More

    Cons

    As I've stated earlier about team members/shift leads/management, it takes harmonious team members to make this job smooth and fun. When personalities and styles of leadership clash, it becomes super annoying very quick and makes team members seek other employment. Also, I've noticed at least from my store, they promote from outside a lot.

    Advice to Management

    Authoritarian attitudes don't make great leadership. Talking down to others wears down on team members. I've dealt with great leadership at Peet's before that believed in our capabilities, but the moment we have a particular shift lead/assistant manager/manager that talks down to us and makes us feel incapable of our abilities, it spoils the mood on the floor, resulting in disgruntled team members.

    Peet's2016-09-05
  6. "Retail Associate/Barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Retail Sales and Barista in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Peet's

    Pros

    Valuable and information to learn

    Cons

    Opening shifts can be as early as 5am

    Advice to Management

    Training process makes sense to management but training never follows through as it should. This applies to almost everything else at Peet's. Management says one thing, the store does another. When management team visits, the store adjusts itself to satisfy management..

    Peet's2016-06-26
  7. "Peets Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Retail Sales and Barista 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peet's

    Pros

    Free coffee and tea and pastries!

    Cons

    Minimum wage customer service job

    Peet's2016-06-10
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Retail Sales and Barista in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Peet's

    Pros

    flexible schedule and understanding of students just trying to finish college

    Cons

    crappy customers that get angry over little things

    Advice to Management

    none

    Peet's2016-03-01
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Retail Sales and Barista 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Peet's

    Pros

    I like my team members. I also enjoy the free coffee we get each week as well as the employee discounts.

    Cons

    They do not take care of their store employees. They pay minimum wage with a 20CENT pay increase after a YEAR. I have had many pay increases and was making over minimum wage but now that minimum wage went up, I am now back to making minimum wage again. Peets refused to increase our wages. They also cut hours constantly forcing you to be understaffed, yet expect you to be friendly and have speedy service. Not sure how thats possible with 3 employees on at a time and 200+ customers in five hour period.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees a decent wage, and give them decent hours each week. If your employees are happy, your customers will be happy. If you don't believe me, look then do the research yourself. Take Trader Joe's for instance.

    Peet's2016-03-07
  10. "Pretty good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales and Barista 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peet's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free Coffee on the clock

    Cons

    You need to be able to read "in between the lines"

    Peet's2016-02-23
Found 31 reviews