Peet's Sales Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Peet's Sales Associate Reviews

Updated Apr 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
Peet's CEO Shawn Conway
Shawn Conway
0 Rating
  1. "Retail Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Berkeley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peet's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment and over fun space to work in.

    Cons

    Busy shifts and sometimes long closes.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Peet's2018-04-13
  2. "awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peet's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    free coffee and pastries

    Cons

    dealing with really rude customers and the managers play favorites

    Peet's2019-04-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Peet's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, manageable work load

    Cons

    Lack of strong management and poor communication

    Peet's2018-08-13
  4. "Peet's Coffee & Tea Retail Associate 2015-2016"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Peet's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good food, good drinks, good people; work isn't too bad and you get to learn a lot about the coffee industry and acquire brewing skills not many people have. This is a great student part-time job.

    Cons

    Hours can be a drag. If you aren't a service oriented person definitely not the job for you. Be prepared for stressful shifts.

    Peet's2018-02-04
  5. "Working as a Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Menlo Park, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Peet's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are good benefits such as pastries during the shift, and a total of 5 free drinks every shift, and tips

    Cons

    Since it is a coffee shop, it is very busy and you must work quickly. The customers are also often very rude and disrespectful, and leave the bathrooms dirty.

    Advice to Management

    Have management be more present, in my time working at Peet's, I have not seen the manager since I was hired. I have also emailed management and not received any response.

    Peet's2018-02-14
  6. "I've had worse jobs, but this is overall a very decent one."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista/Sales Associate in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Peet's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Low qualifications, experienced and caring coworkers, and a manager who listens. Also, due to some very generous regulars, tips can boost your hourly wage between 2 and 4 dollars weekly.

    Cons

    It is very difficult to plan around this job. You get your schedule at a maximum of 2 weeks in advance, some times as little as 1. Middle management is fine, but the DM can be a bit demanding. And what always comes with customer service, the occasional unruly customer (but rarely).

    Advice to Management

    To the store manager, excellent job on cooperating with your employees; but it would be much appreciate if you were just a tad bit more organized. To the DM, you worked your way from the bottom up, and I respect that. On that note, lighten up just a little bit on what you expect from individual stores. A single customer complaint is not worth completely changing store policies (not a sensitive issue).

    Peet's2017-01-09
  7. "Peet's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista/Sales Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Peet's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good tips, good managements, if you have good coworkers and customers it is pretty fan

    Cons

    wish there was more hours available, sometimes cleaning and closing the store can be overwhelming.

    Peet's2016-11-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Sexist.. Shift leaders hit on you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista/Sales Associate in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peet's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Tips , free drinks . Meet friendly people. Co workers r nice, learn new recipes. The LAG on teaching latte art. Just want you for the money

    Cons

    Everyone is sexist. Customer threw money at me . Cleaning is so over assigned to one person. Everyone struggles in the end.

    Peet's2016-11-16
  9. "An Enjoyable Learning Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista/Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peet's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and fast paced work environment, great employees and good benefits

    Cons

    understaffed so sometimes overwhelming and low pay.

    Advice to Management

    hire more people where people are needed!

    Peet's2016-10-14
  10. "cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Peet's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free coffee. tea, and pastries.

    Cons

    Morning hour shifts and cleaning/ chore duties

    Peet's2016-09-27
Found 22 reviews