Peet's Shift Leader Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Peet's Shift Leader Reviews

Updated Jun 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
Peet's CEO Shawn Conway
Shawn Conway
0 Rating
  1. "Amazing Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in El Dorado Hills, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Peet's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing coworkers, great environment, great product, great commitment from the company to its employees

    Cons

    Variable hours, though that’s pretty much the grind for food service jobs and store environment can be drastically different from location to location

    Peet's2019-06-25
  2. "Decent job, still service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Leader in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peet's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast paced, good coworkers and culture, cool customers (depending n the location)

    Cons

    Low pay (industry comparable, though). Tips are nice, but not insane.

    Peet's2019-01-25
  3. "Shift Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Leader in Corona del Mar, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peet's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent product, great colleagues, loyal customers, and good benefits.

    Cons

    Peers has been purchased, and I am not sure of current management. The morning is fast paced, and might not be for everyone as the drinks have to be produced in under three minutes.

    Advice to Management

    Stay true to the original mission statement.

    Peet's2018-08-24
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Peet's Coffee and Tea needs new management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Peet's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free coffee and a pastry a day. Paid training.

    Cons

    Uppet management is close to useless in cases of sexual harrassment of minors, store emergencies, and giving out raises. Stores will go without store managers gor months at a time, being run by shift leaders who recieve no extra pay or promotion for acting as SM. Very high turn-over rate due to applicants recieving false information corcerning hourly rate, amount of hours employees will recieve and positions availible.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your shift leaders amd Assistant SMs. They are the ones actually running the stores while SMs 'work from home'

    Peet's2018-06-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Insulting slave drivers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Leader in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Peet's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Making coffee, free coffee all day.

    Cons

    Pay is low, raises are a slap in the face especially when you go above and beyond for customers. Management does not care for long term employees, some managers are sexist and out right cruel in the way they speak to employees especially female staff.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your people better, give better raises and listen to your lower level employees. They now the truth in what happens on a daily basis.

    Peet's2017-09-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Working for this company has been great in a variety of ways."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Peet's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The atmosphere is very welcoming to people of all backgrounds. Everything from gender transitions to tattoo sleeves are welcomed. Above minimum wage pay that increases every 6 months. Paid vacation hours, paid sick hours. Free drinks while working with one free pastry. Half pound of free whole bean or ground coffee a week. Half off everything when off duty.

    Cons

    This depends on the store entirely and the management. My store is fantastic from top to bottom (Torrey Highlands) which is why our employee turnover rate is low and employment is high. I've been here 2 years so far.

    Advice to Management

    Peet's Corporate: allow for more in-store innovative freedom so that each location can adjust and adapt to the customer base surrounding them. This can include special deals or different music choice for younger audiences. Even an open mike night for certain locations could be helpful.

    Peet's2017-06-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Peets is my favorite job so far."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Shift Leader 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Peet's

    Pros

    The atmosphere is very chill. The staff and management are great. The coffee is really good quality, the training is fun,easy, and very informative.

    Cons

    They pay isn't that great, the benefits are alright, and (at least at my store ) scheduling around your availability doesn't always work in your favor. Also they ask you to really push items, like the coffee of the month, but there's no incentive for you only for them.

    Advice to Management

    Paying your people the bare minimum and expecting to work hard for your bonus doesn't improve teams moral.

    Peet's2017-01-23
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Coming from Starbucks, I couldn't ask for a better work environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peet's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No dress code, more relaxed job, lack of micromanagement, allows the shift team more insight into operations and empowers the team to make decisions that will help the team. As long as you average 21 hours a week then you get medical, dental, and vision, as well as 401(k) which is matched at 6%.

    Cons

    Lack of job growth. We are a new market, so this probably isn't relevant in California or other markets, but here we are growing too slowly almost and I may become an old man before any of us have the chance to move up. Also tuition reimbursement would be a god send.

    Advice to Management

    Better hours for baristas. I am perfectly fine with mine, but too often managers will hire more baristas than needed and the pool of hours is greatly diluted. This happens even though most of our baristas have fairly open availability.

    Peet's2014-07-30
Found 8 reviews