Peet's "flexible schedule" Reviews | Glassdoor

Peet's Reviews

Updated Jan 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
Peet's CEO Shawn Conway
Shawn Conway
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Shady..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Peet's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are okay and discounts are okay. They have rolled back on the discounts for employees and customers alike though. The flexible scheduling is okay and overall it's a okay job.

    Cons

    I think what Peet's is forgetting is it's employees. My store has recently been doing everything to fire anyone who does any small thing wrong. This has created a bad environment to work in. Who wants to work somewhere where they think they'll be fired from one customer complaint, or missing 5 dollars from their tills. The discounts are being rolled back for employees and customers alike. Examples include only half a pound of free beans, 30% employee discounts, limited to 3 free drinks. They say their beans are quality. This corporate giant also actually cares about yelp reviews, like they are the most serious thing in the world. So a 5 year old can write about a bad review about you and you might be written up for it also. Peets also tries to make you stay in their company, by saying you will get a promotion and chances are you will not get it. Some people get dragged into this "promotion idea" saying they needed to be "developed" more. Transparency is clearly an issue with this company as they will find any reason to keep you where you are. Turn over at Peet's is also quite high because of all the factors I've said and most of all the pay. Why do a job with a high stress environment if you'll get paid a little over mim. wage.

    Continue reading
    Peet's2018-02-26

    Peet's Response

    April 30, 2018Sr. Manager, People Operations & Systems

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm glad to hear that you are enjoying the flexible hours. Since you are an SL, I encourage you to share your concerns with your manager and work on solutions together. This month we started eNPS pulse surveys in hopes of staying more connected to areas we can improve. We value Mr. Peet's vision and look to continue to encourage tenured employees to stay and thrive with us. I hope you continue to see positive changes and look for ways you can make a positive impact on your store.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great coffee shop to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Peet's full-time

    Pros

    Offer flexible scheduling, which is great for students

    Cons

    No problems for an hourly job

    Peet's2018-01-02
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Barista in San Francisco, CA
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Peet's for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Minimum 20 hours to receive good benefits,flexible schedule, free coffee!

    Cons

    worked at the company for 5 years recived a raise of about 10 cents per year, no incentive for promotion, managers are paid only 1 dollar more then normal retail associates, managers ranging from district to regional managers disagreeable and not personal at all

    Peet's2017-09-29
  4. "Barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tutor in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peet's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free drinks and flexible scheduling

    Cons

    Managers feel entitled with their $18 an hour salary and dont always put the brand before them

    Continue reading
    Peet's2017-09-05
  5. "Coffee shops"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peet's part-time

    Pros

    Networking with local community members, coffee!!, great benefits, semi-flexible schedule

    Cons

    Having to work with others that see the job as just a stepping stone

    Peet's2017-04-09
  6. "Loved it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista in Long Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peet's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, free coffee, great customers and team! I'm an early bird and opening was my favorite shift. You see a lot of the regulars in the morning.

    Cons

    There were so few cons! The pay was what you would expect for just a barista doing a pretty straightforward job. It really depends on your manager and I had a great manager.

    Peet's2017-03-21
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Was not given the proper training and not supported by upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor in Capitola, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peet's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, free coffee and a paycheck.

    Cons

    Unprofessional work ethic. Poor support of lead managers, inappropriate behavior. Ageism.

    Continue reading
    Peet's2017-03-14
  8. "Retail Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Associate in Fair Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Peet's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Awesome people, awesome product. Flexible scheduling.

    Cons

    High turnover, very little upward mobility.

    Continue reading
    Peet's2016-10-19
  9. "Good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Peet's

    Pros

    Good work environment and health benfits, flexible scheduling so you can do other things

    Cons

    Hard to get a raise for the amount of work you do

    Peet's2016-10-04
  10. "Hit or miss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Shift Lead in Ashburn, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peet's for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, relaxed atmosphere, not as busy at Starbucks, free drip coffee any time

    Cons

    Store management leaves a lot to be desired, the disconnect between company ideals and actual store operations needs to be addressed. Store managers can either be amazing or totally incompetent

    Continue reading
    Peet's2016-09-18
Found 40 reviews