Peet's "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Peet's Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Jul 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Peet's CEO Casey Keller Jr. (no image)
Casey Keller Jr.
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "Best work environment I've been in so far(in 39 reviews)

  • "flexible schedule, management is orderly, get free coffee and pastries when you are on the clock(in 37 reviews)

Cons
  • "Many times shift leads would ask Barista's to assist their role whilst performing our tasks(in 41 reviews)

  • "The pay was what you would expect for just a barista doing a pretty straightforward job(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Positive and encouraging work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in Stonestown, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Peet's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company and management value the growth & development of their employees. Manager, Assistant Manager & other coworkers are friendly. Best work environment I've been in so far.

    Cons

    Pretty fast-paced, may be hard for newcomers to adapt.

    Peet's2019-06-09
  2. "Barista at Peet's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Peet's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was a relaxed work environment for the most part. Lots of freedom with schedules. Free coffee and pastries.

    Cons

    Management was all over the place. Terribly incompetent.

    Peet's2019-07-02
  3. "Shift Lead/ Barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Lead/Barista in Roseville, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Peet's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great People Flexible Scheduling as long as there are staff Fun work environment

    Cons

    Hourly Pay Poor training sometimes depends on management No Room for growth depending on location

    Advice to Management

    Pay your workers better, especially people in management

    Peet's2018-12-14
  4. "IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Emeryville, CA

    I worked at Peet's for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment and even better coffee!

    Cons

    Not much room for advancement.

    Peet's2018-09-28
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Not for those who won’t work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in Naperville, IL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Peet's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Develop Relationships Extensive coffee knowledge Fun, laid back work environment Acknowledgment for hard work

    Cons

    Some exhausting customers Fight for hours Low pay

    Advice to Management

    Realize that your company would not be successful without your low ranking employees. Stop being stingy with hours for those who want to work, or pay them more. Don’t hire an excessive amount of people who only work a few hours a week. Turnover rate will increase, not to mention its a waste of money in labor to train them when that labor could be given to those who know what they’re doing and want to work full time.

    Peet's2018-08-06
  6. "Barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Barista in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peet's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Flexible Schedule -Fun work environment -Discounted drinks and food -Good Tips

    Cons

    The management was often absent or unengaged. Many times shift leads would ask Barista's to assist their role whilst performing our tasks.

    Peet's2018-08-25
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Fun place, labor model way less than great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Peet's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The product is bar-none, the team is generally amazing. The best customers in the industry. A lot of visibility when it comes to learning a business. Fun and upbeat work environment. Flexible scheduling.

    Cons

    The labor model is seriously flawed. If you need to hire, good luck managing the unrealistic expectation of keeping labor in budget. You have two options: hire and train badly with little labor, hire and train well but lose your monthly cash bonus for missing the mark.

    Advice to Management

    Fix labor. Give managers a budget for the year, not weekly or monthly since we care most about turnover on a yearly annualized basis. Budget each coffee bar with target number of hires per year and have protected training hours given per hire. Anything beyond those budgeted new hire hours should come out of the running cost of the coffee bar.

    Peet's2018-08-14
  8. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Peet's part-time

    Pros

    Good work environment good pay

    Cons

    Can be busy. Managers are hit or miss

    Peet's2018-05-14
  9. "Retail Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Berkeley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peet's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment and over fun space to work in.

    Cons

    Busy shifts and sometimes long closes.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Peet's2018-04-13
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Peet's is what you make of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Emeryville, CA

    I have been working at Peet's full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment, Collaborative team, amazing colleagues and a very good product. Everyone is very supportive of your ideas and if you have a solid business case for what you want to do, the cross-functional teams and your own team are helpful to execute your idea the right way!

    Cons

    Sometimes business units work in silos, but if you speak and ask the right questions you can find out what you need and learn best practices from other units. Better training/on-boarding for new corporate hires.

    Peet's2018-03-20
Found 39 reviews